Customer Reviews


89 Reviews
5 star:
 (58)
4 star:
 (27)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yet another brilliant instalment in the Artemis Fowl series
This novel, the third in the series about the 14-year old Irish boy genius, is just as inventive, funny and exhilarating as its two predecessors. This time round Artemis has stolen fairy technology and turned into something of his own creation; the C-Cube. The Cube can hack into and control any existing human technology - for example military satellites - and is...
Published on 9 Dec 2003 by Will Lockwood

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Is this book better than the rest?
When i heard Eoin Colfer was to release another book from the Artemis Fowl series i jmped at the chance to pre-order it. But one thought was niggling in my mind, could it be as good as the magnificent pair before it?
I recieved it and read intensely overthe nigh, by the morning i had finished it, it was so good i did not putit down once, however it began with a...
Published on 21 May 2003 by luke_jones2001


‹ Previous | 1 2 39 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars artimis foul the eternity code:a epic edventure.(maxwell finney), 9 Jun 2006
By 
Am Tattersall (Meersbrook bank) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
in this 3rd instalment of the artimis foul series the young mastermind criminle inbarks on what he suspects is his last adventer so to maxsimise the foul fortune he dicides to sell the secrets of the c-cube to the bigest mobster connected compernie on the planit, nothing could go wrong.

this is 1 of the best books ever for fantisie fans with this farie involved action.

best book of the year.

a must read for 9 to 12s+
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magic at it's best, 10 Jan 2004
Eoin Colfer hasn't disappointed with this third book following the adventures of Artemis Fowl. It is just as witty and clever as the first and second books and like the others impossible to put down. In this book, after the return of his father, Artemis has to make up his mind about how he really wants to act his life. Mastarmind criminal, or a 'hero' as his father now intends. Whilst trying to get back the C Cube an incredibal box created from fairy technology, stolen by businessman Jon Spiro.
The story has magic, humour and all the clever scemes you would expect from it and more. It's not your average fairy tale and real enough to believe it's true. It's suitable for young and old alike but i think it best suits teenagers, who will understand the plot and still have a slight childlike belief in magic and fairies. It is a fun book to read and full of magic and the magic of technology and gadgets.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not just another kids' book!, 21 May 2003
I've become a huge fan of the Artemis Fowl books. Eoin Colfer has done it again with this 3rd installment of the Fowl saga. Artemis is now 13 & after the Artic Incident (2nd book) his criminal career must come to an end (or so he judges), but he's just got time for one last spree - and he's not finished with the Fairies yet!
With Butler in tow, he launches himself into what he says will be his last escapade - we can only hope it will NOT be! - and drags us all along on this roller-coaster ride of fun & fantasy. Artemis has grown up a little since the last time we saw him, & the return of his father has left him with a growing concience, but can, or WILL, this stop Artemis?
Colfer's writing style is also growing, along with Artemis, & this book is a gripping read - I couldn't put it down! I can only wait & pray for the next installment - surely this can't be the end???
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Slightly disappointing, but still worth a read., 24 May 2003
By 
C. Goodall - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Etertnity Code, on it's own, would stand as a good, if slightly confusing, book. But it is not the best in the Artemis Fowl series.
The action is as good as ever, with the heist written to perfection, and many new and breathtaking pieces of technology at Artemis', and the People's, disposal. There is also a lot of fantastic black humour, with plenty of amusing one liners. All our favourite characters are back including Foaly and Diggums, but unfortunately Butler (my favourite character) and Root have little to do, with Juliet and Holly taking centre stage. I also found the first chapter quite slow and a little confusing, and needed to read it through several times to understand it thoroughly.
I don't think it is as good as the previous installment of Artemis's adventures, The Arctic Incident, but I would recommend this book to any fan of the Artemis Fowl series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Boy criminal, fairies, centaurs and flatulent dwarves, 14 Nov 2003
By 
Timothy Hay (Mold, Flintshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
The sinister 12 year old Artemis Fowl is no Harry Potter, all naivity and bewilderment. No. Young Arty is manipulative, snide, selfish and far too clever for his own good. I am sure he would benefit from a good thrashing but you would have to get past his formidable manservant and bodyguard, Butler, first.
Don't be put off by the fairy content - these are not the wand waving, flowery, Tinkerbell variety that live at the bottom of your garden. Watch out too for the revolting Mulch Diggums - 'a lorra gas in clay'.
Have the elastic voiced Adrian Dunbar read this to you and bring it to life. So much better too for being read in the Irish accent in which it was written.
I would have bought this for a child of 9 or above but my own 4 and 6 year olds enjoy listening to it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Courtesy of Teens Read Too, 25 Jun 2009
By 
TeensReadToo "Eat. Drink. Read. Be Merrier." (All Over the US & Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Artemis Fowl the Second has a brilliant plan--one last scheme to make his family some money, then he'll leave the crime life behind him and turn over a new leaf. Everything starts out fine, with Artemis meeting with billionaire businessman Jon Spiro to discuss a mutually agreeable arrangement. Artemis, you see, has developed the C Cube, a mini-supercomputer that can do almost anything. For the right price, Artemis will withhold releasing the Cube to the public to allow Spiro's company to catch up in the technology world. All seems well, until Spiro steals the Cube, his bodyguard, Blunt, fatally wounds Butler, and Artemis is left wondering how it all went wrong.

What follows is Artemis's desperate plea to the fairies to help heal Butler and rescue the C Cube from evil Spiro, before he becomes aware of the Fairy World and wreaks havoc on the creatures living below ground. As Captain Holly Short is once again drawn into one of Artemis's dangerous schemes, she does so, along with Commander Root, with one condition--when the C Cube is recovered, Artemis, Butler, and Butler's sister Juliet will all submit to mind wipes, erasing every trace of the fairies from their memories. Artemis agrees, desperate to save Butler's life, but already he has plans to avoid the erasure of a mind wipe.

THE ETERNITY CODE contains a lot more action-adventure than the two previous books, and a lot less of the world of Fairy. It is, though, still a very fast-paced, enjoyable read, and I'm left wanting to know what will happen next. Thoroughly entertaining, and highly recommended.

Reviewed by: Jennifer Wardrip, aka "The Genius"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars "Your little schemes have a tendency to get people hurt", 2 Sep 2007
By 
Sebastian Fernandez (Tampa, Florida United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
First of all let me say that this book saved me from a painfully long wait at the dealership where I took my wife's minivan for service. I expected this to take about an hour or so, and that is what I was told when I got there. I should know by now not to trust these estimates, since I ended up being there for three hours. It was the perfect amount of time to finish this book though, which I had started that morning at home. Colfer helped me feel as if the three hours were only one, and that is really something to applaud!

Artemis' father is recovering in a hospital in Helsinki, from his shipwreck in the Arctic and further kidnapping by the Russian mafia. More important, he is a changed man, that has stopped considering gold to be the ultimate goal and wants to focus on his family instead. This means that Artemis will have to lead a normal life, go back to school and forget about criminal activities. But there is still time for one more run around the block, and Artemis goes for broke. He has created, with the help of fairy technology, an impressive artifact he named the C Cube. This cube can perform an extensive list of unbelievable tasks, such as track satellite activity and crack security systems. And that is just the beginning.

Artemis' plan is fairly simple, he set up a meeting with the powerful Spiro and he will offer to keep the cube of the market in exchange for a vast amount of gold. This will allow Spiro to make a killing in the stock market and sell his company at a much higher rate than he could if a competitor had the cube. However, in an uncommon turn of events, Artemis is fooled, Spiro steals the prized possession and his bodyguard injures Butler with a fatal wound. Now Artemis will need, once more, the help of the fairies, in order to perform a miracle, or he will end up losing his bodyguard and best friend.

That is not the only complication, since the cube can among its many wonders detect fairy technology. Thus, all the sensors in the underground world went off when Artemis demonstrated the cube to Spiro. Foaly, the centaur that is master and commander of the fairy technology, has decided on a lockdown. With the help of Captain Short, he is trying to figure out how to prevent the humans from discovering the People. The situations with Butler and the cube will once again throw together the characters that readers of this series cherish: Artemis, Foaly, Holly Short, and even the dwarf Mulch Diggums. We will also get to see an almost unexplored side of Juliet Butler.

Colfer has done it again, with a fast-paced and enthralling book that can be read in one sitting. There is the usual humor to go along with the captivating story and keep it fresh. But also, the author introduces another element in this book, Artemis' diary. This is an important tool to allow the reader to peek into the psyche of the criminal genius, and understand that behind the Machiavellian mind there is a boy that seeks his father approval. I do not think I can wait long before reading the next book in this series, I hope the quality remains at this level.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Eoin Colfer is brilliant!, 12 May 2003
By 
Naomi Porter "naomipomi" (good old Birmingham!) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Ever since I recieved 'Artemis Fowl' for my birthday last year I have become a fan of the world of Artemis and pals, and Eternity Code is no different. Eoin Colfer uses excellent techniques in this book making it an absorbing and exciting adventure!! The book is funny, sad, full of wit and hilarious at times. The characters are well thought out I really identified with them, even Mulch Diggums the clay-eating dwarf!! I HIGHLY recommend this to all you people who love fantasy stories with a twist out there - you will not be dissappointed. This book is wicked!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Not quite as good as the others, but still awesome!, 19 May 2003
By 
M Farrar - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
As Artemis Fowl returned for his third outing, many people were suspecting that the material for this character had run out, and that they were about to witness him becoming a self-parody. I must admit that this was what I was expecting to see, but Eoin Colfer has proved me wrong.
The first few pages felt a little dry, like he was trying to get into it again, but after that it turned into another exciting Fowl fiasco. As Artemis Fowl Junior embarks upon one final operation before, true to the wishes of his parents, calling it a day and going straight, he decides to once again draw upon the the power of the faries that saved the life of his father. Using stolen fairy technology and his own creative genius he designs and makes the awesome C-Cube, something that will make all modern electronics worthless. He takes it to show to crime master Jon Spiro, in the hope of making a fortune, but it all goes wrong. He must then try and get it back with the help of the faries and the Butlers.
This, as stated earlier, is not the best of the three. Artemis does seem a trifle dim sometimes, and there are some small holes in the plot, but it really does fare very well against its counterparts. I particularly liked the way Colfer has progressed the situation regarding the Butlers. Also, the ending is to die for.
Don't wait to buy the softback. Get it now, in all its glittering glory. You won't regret it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Honest - I don't believe it!, 4 Sep 2003
How could Artemis Fowl be an honest citizen. I was never going to believe it, but thats his intentions after one last criminal act.
If you have read the other books in the series you will be desperate to pick this one up - unputdownable!!!
Many have compared these books to Harry Potter - why???? Artemis and Harry are totally separate. I have read all of each set and love both characters - I cannot wait for the next 'Fowl' book to appear in the shops - I hope Artemis constructs another plan soon!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 39 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Artemis Fowl and the Eternity Code
Artemis Fowl and the Eternity Code by Eoin Colfer (Paperback - 7 April 2011)
£5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews