Customer Reviews


89 Reviews
5 star:
 (58)
4 star:
 (27)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yet another brilliant instalment in the Artemis Fowl series
This novel, the third in the series about the 14-year old Irish boy genius, is just as inventive, funny and exhilarating as its two predecessors. This time round Artemis has stolen fairy technology and turned into something of his own creation; the C-Cube. The Cube can hack into and control any existing human technology - for example military satellites - and is...
Published on 9 Dec 2003 by Will Lockwood

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Is this book better than the rest?
When i heard Eoin Colfer was to release another book from the Artemis Fowl series i jmped at the chance to pre-order it. But one thought was niggling in my mind, could it be as good as the magnificent pair before it?
I recieved it and read intensely overthe nigh, by the morning i had finished it, it was so good i did not putit down once, however it began with a...
Published on 21 May 2003 by luke_jones2001


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yet another brilliant instalment in the Artemis Fowl series, 9 Dec 2003
This novel, the third in the series about the 14-year old Irish boy genius, is just as inventive, funny and exhilarating as its two predecessors. This time round Artemis has stolen fairy technology and turned into something of his own creation; the C-Cube. The Cube can hack into and control any existing human technology - for example military satellites - and is light-years ahead of anything that we have now. Artemis tries to sell it to unscrupulous American businessman Jon Spiro, though things inevitably go awry and Artemis calls on his old friend, Holly Short from the fairy LEPRecon unit. At the same time, Artemis' father is awaking from a coma and begins spouting to his son about how the Fowl family should "go straight" - yet another thing that Artemis has to contend with.
Artemis Fowl and the Eternity Code re-unites all of the characters from the first two novels, such as the hulking Butler, genius centaur Foaly, flatulent dwarf Mulch and the exasperated police chief Julius Root. ...Eternity Code is also written in the same vein as the other books; at face value it is funny and gloriously inventive, yet it also tells a very powerful message about the importance of conservation, and looking after our planet. The 'People' (fairies) are constantly amazed and disgusted at the antics of the surface-dwelling 'Mud Men' (humans).
Though one might have expected that the formula might have grown old by the time that this series became a trilogy, the quality and wry humour of Eoin Colfer's writing really sets it apart from the competition. It is consistently hilarious and exciting, and the ending really leaves the series open for more instalments, in a genuinely original way that could see the next book written from a very different angle. Exciting stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars More high tech, forthright fairy fun, 2 May 2003
By A Customer
If you've read Artemis Fowl books 1 and 2, then you'll recognise the format, but that's no bad thing. Why change a winning formula? This book has all the elements which made the first two books so good, without being predictable. As before, the book combines a little magic with a lot of very hi-tech wizardry. This story features a super computer, cryogenic treatment, a sound bomb, an unbreakable code, and lots more techno trickery. Fans will be pleased to hear that all the best characters are back; Butler, Juliet, wise-cracking Foaly, short-tempered Commander Root, Mulch Diggums, and of course, our heroes, Holly and Artemis. In short, the Eternity Code is a very good book, with an exciting plot full of interesting invention. The complex nature of the technology means you can never be sure of what to expect. Artemis is a wonderful hero - he's not goody-goody by any means, but he's beginning to show twitchings of conscience and vulnerability which make him irrestistably likeable. Not to mention that he's very intelligent, not interested in sport, drinks Earl Grey tea, is yet still cool! That's probably the greatest achievement of all!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Eoin Colfer has done it again!, 11 July 2006
Artemis Fowl and the Eternity Code is one extra-exciting book. Once you start reading you can't take your eyes off the page. Once you read that very first page your hooked! it's a very enjoyable read for everyone of all ages.

Eoin(pronounced 'Owen') Colfer is a fantastic author, and my message to him is that i don't want him to stop writing about Artemis Fowl...ever,his other books are just as good, don't get me wrong about that, but Artemis Fowl is probably his best books ever and i love reading them and im sure his other fans will agree too, that you can't replace Artemis just as you can't replace Eoin...he is one of the best if not THE best.

anyway back to the book. can i just say that these books can be read stand alone, but i would suggest (for the younger readers) having a fair knowledge of the other books just to help, and it does generally make the books more enjoyable too, the books are not confusing if you havn't read the previous ones, just like for example a TV series,eg.Doctor Who, you watch an episode but havn't watched the previous episodes, its like that with the books really. (i'm not comparing these books to Doctor Who) you don't have to but it does help.

so about the book. i don't want to give any spoilers so im gonna type what it says:

Artemis Fowl has constructed a powerful new supercomputer using stolen fairy technology, and the last thing he needs is for it to fall into the wrong hands. So, when it does fall inot the wrong hands - those of ruthless tycoon Jon Spiro - Artemis knows he must recover the device or the consequences will be dire, for humans and fairies alike.

With danger all around and his bodyguard indisposed, Artemis turns to Captain Holly Short of the Lower Elements Police(LEP) for help. But can Holly trust Artemis Fowl, fairy public enemy No.1?

Take it from me, Holly. The answer is No.

So, if you enjoy Fantasy, or you enjoy Crime or you enjoy anytyhing his book is for everyone, including you! so just buy the book, and take my word for it, it will be worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Eternity and Ethical code, 15 May 2003
Brilliant, fast paced and outrageously funny! Colfer is back on form with the best Artemis fowl instalment to date.
As a 23 year old fowl reader ( I am sure most would be too embarrassed to admit to this ) I must confess I almost peed my pants! This book is electric! I voraciously, systematically and obsessively flew through the pages in one sitting. I believe it to be one of the best works of fiction, for children…
EVER
It is a shame Colfer is so often hidden in the shadows of the “Harry Potter” phenomenon. Artemis is truly a new way of approaching children’s literature. Goblins and Elves being a common ground for both authors in no way suggests that they are any more alike than Chalk and cheese. Both are story telling Gods but nothing beats that Irish wit. This is praise indeed as I am often found with my nose in the Potter pages.
Artemis is a criminal with the IQ similar to that last seen in Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart. He is a couple of years older and that ruthlessness has been put aside by lady conscience. However: fairy magic, Butler family woes and some dubious negotiating could change all this forever…
Enter the ‘C Cube’. A revolutionary piece of fairy/human hybrid technology and the stakes are higher for the pale faced mudboy than they have ever been before. Juliet reminds me of a high kicking Bruce Lee with great hair and accessories to boot. This is not a book to miss.
But did the fairies make a mistake? I believe psych evaluation compiled by J. Argon for the L.E.P. will identify some sort of conclusion in time. Colfer get writing we all want to know!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The genius returns!, 6 May 2006
When I first saw this book I thought it would be too hard for my eight-year-old brother, but he read right through it. So did I and so did my parents. It was a great read for all of the family and it was suprer-exciting. The plot had lots of fun twists but not enough to make it confusing. A two thums up read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Boy criminal genius, fairies, centaurs and flatulent dwarves, 31 Oct 2003
By 
Timothy Hay (Mold, Flintshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Adults can enjoy this highly entertaining and imaginative kids' stuff, well thought out and fast paced. Better still have the elastic voiced Adrian Dunbar read it to you and bring it to life. So much better too for being read in the Irish accent in which it was written.
Don't be put off by the fairy content - these are not the wand waving, flowery, Tinkerbell variety that live at the bottom of your garden. Watch out too for the revolting Mulch Diggums - 'a lorra gas in clay'.
I would have bought this for a child of 9 or above but my own 4 and 6 year olds enjoy listening to it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Third Book Of The Artemis Fowl Series is Good!, 7 Mar 2005
By 
Jasper Wong "jbywong" (Canterbury, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This is the third installment in the Artemis Fowl Series and it still is funny, and it still is full of action. The Artemis Fowl books follow the adventures of Artemis Fowl, the youngest ever criminal mastermind, as he meets fairies (very high-tech fairies with Neutrinos, laser stun-guns) and steals their gold. The second book is a good story too. THe Eternity Code, however, is good. This time Artemis has to recover the C-Cube (a Very modern piece of technology made of supposedly confiscated fairy technology)from the clutches of Mr. Spiro.
This book is for people who are tired of stories when fairies are good flying creatures, giving wishes to everyone and waving a little wand. It is also for children/early teenagers who want a funny read about plots, mesmerizing and hidden creatures.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Eternity and Ethical code., 15 May 2003
Brilliant, fast paced and outrageously funny! Colfer is back on form with the best Artemis fowl instalment to date.
As a 23 year old fowl reader ( I am sure most would be too embarrassed to admit to this ) I must confess I almost peed my pants! This book is electric! I voraciously, systematically and obsessively flew through the pages in one sitting. I believe it to be one of the best works of fiction, for children…
EVER
It is a shame Colfer is so often hidden in the shadows of the “Harry Potter” phenomenon. Artemis is truly a new way of approaching children’s literature. Goblins and Elves being a common ground for both authors in no way suggests that they are any more alike than Chalk and cheese. Both are story telling Gods but nothing beats that Irish wit. This is praise indeed as I am often found with my nose in the Potter pages.
Artemis is a criminal with the IQ similar to that last seen in Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart. He is a couple of years older and that ruthlessness has been put aside by lady conscience. However: fairy magic, Butler family woes and some dubious negotiating could change all this forever…
Enter the ‘C Cube’. A revolutionary piece of fairy/human hybrid technology and the stakes are higher for the pale faced mudboy than they have ever been before. Juliet reminds me of a high kicking Bruce Lee with great hair and accessories to boot. This is not a book to miss
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth a read!, 4 May 2003
I hadn't heard of Artemis Fowl until a couple of week ago. Interested, I asked my niece if I could borrow the first two. Needless to say, as soon as the third was out, I picked up a copy and read it that day.
All of the books are a light read and they keep your interest right through without becoming tiresome. The Eternity Code, in my opinion, was the best so far. The characters have developed and the plot lines are maturing alongside them. The brilliance of Artemis is astounding and the opening scene is gripping and draws the reader right in to the story.
I love crime stories and this is the children's alternative. The plot of each book makes you think whilst reading, trying to guess what Artemis is actually planning, as this is explained gradually throughout the book, instead of straight away. Even though Artemis is the brilliant criminal mastermind, he manages to avoid most of the usual stereotypes - you can't help wanting Artemis to win in the end.
A great read, worth a look just to see if you can decode the messages printed at the bottom of the pages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Artemis Fowl Strikes Again!, 4 Jun 2003
By A Customer
I suggest you read the first 2 books (Artemis Fowl & Artemis Fowl: The Arctic Incident) before starting the Eternity Code.
This book is highly amusing & is easy to get into. People of all ages enjoy reading about Artemis who is a rich criminal genius, (some could call him evil). He never makes jokes & rarely smiles, it is easy to dislike him - he has few weak spots. He has a faithful body guard, Butler, and part of the book's interest lies in how 13 year old Artemis relates to this giant employee.
Artemis, after discovering the People (fairy folk), continues to exploit them & their highly advanced technology, with which he creates the C cube: small & wireless, practically priceless super computer, but in the wrong hands this precious little object could reveal the fairy peoples whereabouts...
The pace is fast-moving and the wide variety of characters makes for some highly entertaining action and Raymond Chandler-like dialogue. I read the book aloud to my family and there were times when we chorused 'oh no, not another flashback!'.
I enjoyed the book a lot, though I have to say that the first in the trilogy is still my favourite.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Artemis Fowl and the Eternity Code
Artemis Fowl and the Eternity Code by Eoin Colfer (Paperback - 7 April 2011)
£5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews