Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars318
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£3.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 20 July 2005
i thought this book was the best i ever read. i enjoyed it because it is a fantasy and it is very exiting all the way through.
it is about a 12 year old anti hero who sets out with evil intetions and ends up a better person. thanks to the help of captain holly short and his body gaurd butler.
i would recomend this book to anyone who can read as it is fantastic.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 August 2013
have only just started reading these more fantasy style novels (started with Ben Aaronovitch) and heard the author on the radio who was very amusing so thought Id try it even though its aimed at teenagers!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 April 2014
I really like this book. It's well written and I love the detail that has been put into creating this world. The first time I heard of this story was as an audio book for a long journey on a family holiday. It kept the whole family entertained. Adults and children. Boys and girls.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 August 2003
As a Harry Potter grown-up reader, I've grown used to criticism in the lines of the recent Byatt review. But I do think that there is a lot of comfort and interest in reading children's books in adulthood. It was lovely reading Artemis Fowl. The ingenuity of the literal and technological inventions of the writer was refreshing. The main characters enjoyable and believeable, though a bit Hollywood-streotyped. Self-humour and well-built suspense add to the fun. It was nice to see a children's author choosing characters that are different shades of grey, as in real life, and not all black and white. All in all, for a bit of good, soul-cleansing escapism, a very recommended read!
22 comments|45 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 September 2008
Another highly successful collection of books that give a new twist to faeries and all things mythical. Except unlike so many others of its kind, this book focuses upon the rather unlikely and unsavoury young aristocrat criminal mastermind, Artemis Fowl. On a quest to steal leprechaun gold, he holds a young faery to ransom but gets more than he bargains for as the winged equivalent of the SAS storm his plush mansion.

Eoin Colfer's genius in this series of books is injecting a somewhat tired premise with a new twist. Particularly with this first novel of the long-running series, the reader is given plenty to think about as faeries have jet-propelled wings and mythical creatures are given a gritty and very tangible edge.

There is no doubt that many more readers of various ages will enjoy Artemis Fowl, and like the other modern heavyweights such as Harry Potter, Colfer's books can quite easily be enjoyed by readers of all ages. However, in a school setting the book is most likely aimed for a gifted Year 4 reader and up. Regarding curriculum links, there is potential for some extravagant and rather ambitious science and maths lessons that can link with events in the book.
0Comment|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 August 2013
Artemis Fowl was an amazing book. It had adventure, fantasy, love, action, comedy and was very unexpected at times. It was easy to get into and I soon couldn't put the book down. Though it was confusing at the start, it got more understandable throughout the middle and the end. Every young teen should read this book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 June 2014
Very well written, a very original story putting a twist on the way fairies are usually depicted, quite a cheap buy and will leave you wanting the next book straight after you've finished.
Suitable for all ages.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 November 2003
If you already own a copy of Artemis Fowl don't be fooled into think this is a different book - its a reprint.
On the other hand if you don't own a copy its a must have. A clever story with enough twists to keep anyone entertained. Artemis uses his intelligence to outwit a legion of fairies but manages to capture something more precious than fairy gold in the end.
0Comment|200 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 December 2003
This is not a new Artemis Fowl title but a new hardback edition by a different publisher - if you already have the first Artemis Fowl then this book is not for you
0Comment|124 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 July 2014
This book (and the rest in the series) is about a teen genius who finds a lot of stuff about fairies. These are high-tec fairies whoes technology is 100+ years ahead of ours. Artemis fowl gets a copy of their bible and deciphers their language. From their he kidnaps a fairy and holds it captive in his basement. He then trades the fairy for a tonne of fairy gold. My last sentence in this review is this book is amazing please give it 5 star and hope you enjoyed my review.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.