Customer Reviews


262 Reviews
5 star:
 (144)
4 star:
 (55)
3 star:
 (28)
2 star:
 (18)
1 star:
 (17)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


38 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable and Original
As a Harry Potter grown-up reader, I've grown used to criticism in the lines of the recent Byatt review. But I do think that there is a lot of comfort and interest in reading children's books in adulthood. It was lovely reading Artemis Fowl. The ingenuity of the literal and technological inventions of the writer was refreshing. The main characters enjoyable and...
Published on 12 Aug 2003 by Adi Shtamberger

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Numerous typographic errors in the Kindle edition
This version has not been proofread and contains frequent unsupported characters. You'd have thought someone would have quickly scanned the file before hitting Publish.
Published 13 months ago by Enchirion


‹ Previous | 1 2 327 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Reading For Smart People, 18 July 2003
By 
Gianella (Brussels, Belgium) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Artemis Fowl (Paperback)
Hey there!!!!! If you don't know if you should buy Artemis Fowl, well, I reccomend you to. It is one of the best books I have read. I liked it even better than Harry Potter, aand that is saying much. Artemis is a genius boy that, aided by his bodyguard, Butler, decides to aabdduct a fairy and hold him for ransom. What he doesn't expect is that the fairy turns out to be a girl. Not a submissive one, really, and she makes Artemis' plan much more complicated.
Artemis Fowl is for open-minded people, who don't mind technology, fantasy and humor blended together making a delicious mix.
In other words, Artemis Fowl is the best fantastic book from moddern times. Don't hesitate. Buy it now. Trust me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant - Die Hard with Fairies!, 14 Aug 2001
This review is from: Artemis Fowl (Hardcover)
Don't expect a simple kids books Eoin Colfer delivers something wickedly enjoyable for children and their parents. A great storyline pared down to the bone with no surplus fat (unlike 500 page Harry Potter books!), this is a great funny and pacy read, full of superb ideas and great set pieces, such as the descriptions of the fairies riding the hot magma currents to the surface. The detail is rich, the gadgets incredible and the action quite violent and gory in places. Defintely one for less sensitive kids!
The movie should be terrific - I can see Cameron Diaz as Captain Holly Short, the plucky heroine. The Troll should be awesome and scary on the big screen. This is such a good read and a real treat. Don't miss out,buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Top quality escapism into a world of magic, crime & fantasy, 9 Aug 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Artemis Fowl (Audio CD)
This is a book which at first glance seems to be aimed at a childrens market. Unlike the other great adult/childrens book hero, Harry Potter, the hero of this story does not pass himself off as a "goody". His bag is crime and he follows his forefathers in this endeavour, However, he does aspire to be a master criminal on a scale not seen before and utilises magic and the latest in computerism and technology in his search.
Once started this book is hard to put down as the desire to see where the plot twists and turns to next will keep readers up late and red eyed next day.
This is a sort of modern day "cowboy" book with well defined goodies and baddies and a hero (without a white hat) who is not exactly what he tries to come across as.
'Artemis Fowl' is a novel that should be sought out by anyone who enjoys a good yarn and the sequel is be eagerly awaited.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars this book needs to be read by anyone and everyone, 30 July 2003
By 
ardel robbie (northern england) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Artemis Fowl (Paperback)
there is no doubt about it harry potter and jk rowling pull in the mega bucks - be it film deals or the huge amount of books sold - but artemis fowl and eoin colfer deserve far more recognition than is bestowed upon them.
with artemis fowl your thrown deep into the action and adventure theres no wallying around establishing of characters - your given an instant profile of artemis and all of the characters in the book - and your instantly hooked - i read this book in a single sitting and i didnt even feel short changed i was almost relishing the ending when it came - i kept re-reading paragraphs to satisfy my lust for adventure - i was never dissapointed.
the book is very cinematic - you can easily imagine the chapters being played out on the big screen - and there wouldnt have to be any cutting of corners as the majority of this grand adventure is set in our world - so we have a very grounded story which brings you closer to the action.
there is no doubt this book is far more exciting than any harry potter book (i do love those books though) - the only aspect that this loses out is the sheer volume of the jk rowling chronicles !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Artemis Fowl, 5 May 2003
This review is from: Artemis Fowl (Paperback)
Irish author, Eoin Colfer, yet again accomplishes writing a successful and incredible book, however this time, featuring the one and only Artemis Fowl. Eoin Colfer, writing such an excellent book, has managed to win many accolades including names such as:
Short list of the Whitebread Children’s Book of the year;
Winner of WH Smith “people’s choice” Children’s Book of the year;
Winner of the British Book Awards Children’s Book of the year.
With the vocabulary and authority of an adult, adolescent Artemis Fowl (aged twelve) is not one to be patronised; Artemis is an extraordinarily intelligent criminal mastermind, causing bemusement in the smartest of people. However, possibly for the first time ever, even Artemis isn’t one hundred percent aware of what he’s up against when he, with his colossal range of capabilities, captures a fairy, Captain Holly Short from LEPrecon, Lower Elements Police. It’s not hard to be attracted to the complex, brilliant character of Artemis with his extraordinary intelligence, witty remarks and without a trace of diffidence. Artemis is one of the most original characters in children’s fiction. This fast-paced, smart, funny, page-turning adventure is an inventive combination of wit, myth, modernity, magic and crime; the traditional theme of good versus evil, but told in a different way.
Occasionally, Eoin Colfer adds humorous, relevant snippets suggesting imaginative possibilities, for instance, saying the word leprechaun originated from the word LEPrecon. It is this combination of aspects (as opposed to other magical, good-versus-evil books) which makes for an exciting atmosphere of unpredictability which lasts throughout the book.
In conclusion, the book was so good that, without a doubt, it effortlessly rises to the ranks of my all-time favourite books. This is a book I recommend for everyone, whether a child or an adult.
- Nathan Seneviratne
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Numerous typographic errors in the Kindle edition, 28 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Artemis Fowl (Kindle Edition)
This version has not been proofread and contains frequent unsupported characters. You'd have thought someone would have quickly scanned the file before hitting Publish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An interesting twist on Fairies!, 6 Aug 2011
By 
Jack M (Surrey, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Artemis Fowl (Paperback)
Eoin Colfer has brought the idea of fairies right up to date, giving them advanced technology and the troubles of a modern society. Combine this with ancient rules that govern and limit their scope to use magic and you have a fun and highly entertaining book. And for the fairies you have a good deal of frustration! The central characters are all well rounded and likeable. I suppose Artemis Fowl is meant to be the bad guy but in truth he didn't come over as either evil or nasty. Instead he is portrayed as a person trying to get the job done and using his one main advantage, his intelligence, to do so. The supporting characters are also great fun; the indestructible Butler, the determined fairy Holly and the rather flaky Juliet, they all add to an enjoyable story. The plot itself was basic, don't expect anything deep and meaningful here, it is just what it is, a fast and exciting story for young and old alike.

There are quite a few more in this series and I am sure I will read them over time but as much as I liked this it is not one of those books that makes me want to go out and get the rest. Something for when I have a gap between other reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars EXCELLENT, 24 Mar 2010
By 
L. Brown (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Artemis Fowl (Paperback)
very good story line although its got fairys its not the babyish type you think.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Artemis Fowl, 16 Nov 2009
By 
This review is from: Artemis Fowl (Paperback)
I've made my children a promise - for a year and a day, I'll only read fiction aimed at young people. Artemis Fowl: what a place to begin!

The novel revokes every stereotype that children's fiction offered me in the seventies and offers instead a modern and sculpted twist on the world of magic and fairies. The concept of a villainous child prodigy is bleak but combined with the weaknesses that Fowl exhibits, every reader will be left willing him to succeed in his most dastardly of plots. Fortunately for the morality of the reader, the heroic fairy world is equipped to the hilt with a world-stopping array of technical gadgets and IT gizmos to stop Fowl in his tracks: almost. The cinematic narrative is easily imagined. This novel is creativity at its best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Artemis Fowl, 1 Feb 2009
By 
Barblue (Lancashire, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Artemis Fowl (Audio CD)
Despite a slightly confusing beginning (for me), this is a tale that amused and fascinated. Knowing nothing of Eoin Colfer's work I was both surprised and intrigued by the subject matter and his storytelling. I wasn't expecting anything to do with fairies, although I was slightly aware that this was a story for children and therefore expected there to be a child - but not a boy! In fact I have recommended this to relatives and friends who I think will enjoy it as much as I did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 327 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb4f6d87c)

This product

Artemis Fowl
Artemis Fowl by Eoin Colfer (Paperback - 7 April 2011)
5.03
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews