Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars36
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£6.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 15 July 2001
This story is about a ' something else 'who is always diferent from everyone else, it wants so much to be the same but it is always different. Until the day it meets another something else! Something else finds it a bit hard to accept the new creature at first and then it realises that their differences are strengths and they become best friends. They met a human at the end of the story who really is a'something else'!! This story gently helps children understand how people can be different and shows them a way to accept others who are different to them.
0Comment|36 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 December 2006
I love this picture book, not only are the illustartions to die for. But the story has a very important lesson to learn as well. It is the moving story of "Something Else" a wee creature that doenst really fit in anywhere, or with anyone... untill "Something" shows up at his door... could it be that there are other outcasts? And could it be that he has finally found a friend after all?

Cute, funny and extremely well done... Cave's best!
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 8 September 2007
This is a great story about a little creature who wants to join in but the other creatures won't let him join in because he looks different, he eats different food etc. They tell him "you're not like us, you're something else" and he goes home sadly. Something Else is then visited by another funny looking thing and at first he too is unkind to it because it is different. However, he quickly realizes what he is doing and calls the creature back. They become great friends and have a lot of fun together. And then at the very end a truly weird creature turns up (a little boy) and will they be friendly to him too? Something Else is a lovely book to read to your children - you'll all enjoy it and smile at the ending. The illustrations are smashing, a bit quirky in striking pen and ink with full colour. Its also a useful tool to help children think about others. It could be used to talk with preschool and KS1 children about how it feels to be left out, and to teach this age group about treating others as you would like them to treat you. A winner for a whole host of reasons! If you like this, try Two Left Feet by Stower too, which has a similar feel.
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 26 August 2009
This is a brilliant book that sparks off so much conversation. I bought it for my daughter but then found out she had read it at school and she told me all about it. It tells the story of a little "something else" who is ostracised for being different, and how he works things out. There's a brilliant page where he is faced by a group who say to him "You're not like us. You don't belong," that inspires discussion along the lines of why the group are excluding the little something else. It makes you think! Highly recommended. (By the way, it has a happy ending.)
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 100 REVIEWERon 6 September 2014
My thre year old isn't quite the right audience for this. Another year or two.

It's a story of accepting difference and making friends based on things other than looks. 'Something Else' is ostracised. Lonely. Separate. And then 'Something' knocks on the door. How will he react?

It's a lovely, sweet story about ignoring colour, looks and surface differences. My son didn't quite understand that but he does love the final twist at the end.

We both adore tw pictures. Chris Riddell's are the perfect style for the story, his experience with fantasy creatures creating some wonderfully quickly ones here.

Best for children mature enough to understand the concept presented. KS1 and Reception classes will get a lot of learning and discussion out of this.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 October 2009
This is a delightful story with a very deep message about accepting difference in people. Beautifully told, excellent illustrations and without labouring the point about discrimination. Spot on and well deserving of its Unesco award.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 July 2009
After exhausting most of the books by Julia Donaldson I was on the lookout for other alternatives. We are going to see this at the theatre and so I bought it to read to my daughter prior to our visit. It is a lovely book, with beautiful illustrations and a subtle moral lesson thrown in for good measure. My daughter really enjoyed it. Highly recommended!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 August 2013
I used this in class when talking about being kind to people who are different and not to discriminate etc...
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 November 2011
Although my intention was to use this book with Year 2 children, I've also used it in Year 4. It links really nicely with the themes from SEAL in the Getting on and Falling Out Theme and in the Good to be Me Theme. It's a beautiful story with lessons for us all about respecting difference, and self worth.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 November 2009
My son's favourite book - and I must admit its one of mine too! The illustrations are fantastic and everyone who reads it can identify with the being left out at some point in their lives. Its such a gentle tale told in such a unique way I would recommend it to anyone.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.