Customer Reviews


170 Reviews
5 star:
 (146)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


41 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hooray, baby doesn't care about the house being in a mess!
Here is reality - a household with toys strewn all over the floor, cupboard doors bulging open, a little baby throwing his food around. Here is a family existing on limited means, but making the most of what they have.

Open each new page and follow the day through the eyes of a little baby/young toddler, from the moment he wakes to last thing at night, asking...
Published on 17 Jun 2007 by Elizabeth Goldsack

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Lovely idea
This has beautiful illustrations and I love the concept of the book: the period, design and story line, however it just did not seem to engage either of my children (where others by the same authors have been instant hits). This has been read a few times at bed time, but does not get an enthusiastic reception (I probably enjoy reading it and looking at the illustrations...
Published on 8 Mar 2012 by Janie


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

41 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hooray, baby doesn't care about the house being in a mess!, 17 Jun 2007
By 
Elizabeth Goldsack (Midhurst, Sussex UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Peepo! (Board book)
Here is reality - a household with toys strewn all over the floor, cupboard doors bulging open, a little baby throwing his food around. Here is a family existing on limited means, but making the most of what they have.

Open each new page and follow the day through the eyes of a little baby/young toddler, from the moment he wakes to last thing at night, asking "What does he see?" All the while the little baby is having a wonderful time. Does he mind that his house is in a mess? Does he care that his parents haven't got the latest designer trappings? No! He just seems to be concerned about what his family are up to and the whereabouts of his teddy and his ball!

The historic backdrop of WWII makes this book an interesting read for the older child - and what a great way for grandparents and greatgrandparents who were young themselves during this period of history to share their memories with their grandchildren today. Look at the pages carefully, and you will spot gas masks, men in RAF and army uniforms, a Winston Churchill photo pasted to the parlour wall, a bomb damaged house, a barrage balloon and aeroplanes high in the skies above baby who blissfully unaware sits on a rug chewing his teddy's arm. Most heart wrenching of all, baby's daddy bathing him and then kissing him goodnight, dad dressed in his army uniform ready to leave and to face goodness only knows what. Most children will no doubt miss many of these subtleties (I showed a girlfriend of mine who had been brought up with this book in the home and had never noticed the WWII background!) but every time I read it I can't help thinking of all the families who went through these times with small children, and it has emphasised to me that at any time in history how fleeting and just how precious our time with our children is.

This is an amazing book on many levels. This is now the present I give to all my friends when they have a baby. The larger paperback makes an ideal present for an older toddler, or perhaps an older child with a baby sibling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An enduring and faithful friend, 14 Feb 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Peepo! (Board book)
This book rapidly became my son's favourite at twelve months and remains so eighteen months later. In fact we are on our second copy as the first became too dog-eared with use and too mucky as my son insists on kissing the baby in the story goodnight! The coherent storybook is beautifully illustrated with the added bonus of activity and fun with "peepo". The Ahlbergs have an exceptional talent for finding the right level to pitch a story whilst still providing lots of interest for the child with the text and lots of scope for development through the complexity of the pictures. My only problem has been explaining some of the dated (its set in the 1940s) terms such as "hairnet" and "bucket full of coal"! If your child likes this format you should also try "Each Peach Pear Plum" from the same author and illustrator.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous!, 16 Feb 2006
By 
Ek Stewart "Book Explorer" (Newport, South Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Peepo! (Board book)
Children of all ages will love this book(Both mine did from babies). It is definitely preschool but with its fabulous illustrations and rhyming text this is a really incredible book for children. They gain so much from it, it is incredible to watch. They will interact with you, they learn to read and my four year old has actually started asking when it was set and asking about "the olden days".
If this is not already in your children's collection then buy it(you might need a spare as they really will read it to death!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the cleverest books ever written for babies, 27 Mar 1999
By A Customer
To ensure toddler appeal, Peepo! has repetitive rhymes, holes in the pages, lots of fun stuff to look for, and the most traditional plot of all. We watch a small baby get up, eat his breakfast, go to the park with his sisters & his grandma, have his tea & a bath, and go to bed. So your baby or toddler will find this book familiar and comfortable. Meanwhile, grown-ups and older children will realise that the book is set in the middle of the Second World War. Daddy is in uniform, zeppelins fly overhead, and the paraphernalia of the forties is everywhere. And through all this, the children and adults behave, well, exactly like children and adults do now. The plethora of tiny details keeps grown-ups satisfied for repeated re-readings, and as your child grows more aware of the differences, Peepo! could be a starting point for a discussion of history. Most of the objects in the book are familiar in type but not in style. For example, the bath is tin, and sits in front of the fire, which is full of coal. And there are a few things - like a gas mask - that will be completely unfamiliar to your child. So there is plenty to talk about here. I'd recommend the board book edition - easier for little hands, especially given the holes in the pages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely book, 8 Feb 2004
By 
KP (Northants, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Peepo! (Board book)
This is one of the first books I bought for my children. The illustrations have great detail and humour. The rhyming text is good for reading out loud and talks about things that are happening in the illustration, encouraging the child to look all the more. This is a great book for babies and toddlers and older.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars PEEPO, 4 Feb 2004
This review is from: Peepo! (Board book)
What a fantastic book for both children and parents.
Beautifully illustrated - so much to see in each picture.
I first bought it for my daughter when she was a baby and now she's nearly 3 years old, she thinks it's about her new baby brother. She still shouts out PEEPO! at every page.
A joy of a book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Peepo - more than it seems, 30 Aug 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Peepo! (Board book)
On one level, Peepo is a simple "day in the life of a toddler" book which uses sweet picures and repetitive text to engage and involve a small child. My little boys loved to join in with the cry of "Peepo" as a loving extended family play with and involve the baby with their lives, in the home, the garden and the park. However, the carefully detailed illustrations show that Peepo is set during the Second World War. The daddy is home from leave from the army, and soon he will have to go back. Mum and gran are having to work hard and manage on very little. But they are all making sure that baby is protected from all this and is happy and loved, as all families try to in times of war and hardship. I found this book quite moving and it made me think, about my own familiy during the War, and about all the families in the world who are going through the same thing. Quite an achievement for a board book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely rhyming verse, delightful pictures, enjoyable stories, 3 Sep 2001
By A Customer
A simply delightful book. My 17 month old son has been enjoying it for many months now, as has my husband - so much so, that when my husband is reading the bedtime story, it will always include Peepo. My son now chimes in with 'Peepo' at the right time. Delightful, traditional illustrations with lots of detail, sing-song rhyming verse, and a lovely old-fashioned story about the day in the life a toddler. Well worth buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Suitable from about 14 months, 19 Oct 2005
By 
C. Speirs "A cooking fanatic" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Peepo! (Board book)
I bought this book for my book loving baby when she was 7 months. She showed no interest in it, in fact pushed it away. She is now 16 months and it is her favourite book. She sits still while I read it and will repeat words she recognises like "ball", "teddy", "peepo". She loves the pictures. It is a super soothing book to read at bed time too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My favourite ever children's book, 1 Sep 2011
By 
This review is from: Peepo! (Board Book) (Board book)
Peepo is, to my mind, not just a children's book, but also an ingenious work of art which works on different levels.

Firstly, the original and imaginative layout of the story gives you a sense of anticipation and a view of the world from the baby boy's viewpoint. It achieves this by showing the baby boy at various stages of the day and then partially revealing an illustration, depicted from his viewpoint, of what he can see via a page with a circular hole which gradually reveals his world with the word "Peepo".

Secondly, this book gives you a fascinating portrayal of life during the 40's, as the baby boy's world is set during the 2nd world war and his home houses 3 generations who live in cramped conditions, yet the baby is shown nothing but love by his family.

Thirdly, this book has repetition and rhyme that give children a comforting sense of familiarity. The rhythms of the words make them pleasing to the ears.

Fourthly, Peepo is a great bedtime read, mentally preparing your child for sleep as the book gently concludes with the baby boy in his cot, himself ready for sleep.

Fifthly, the detail in the illustrations is enchanting, almost every time I've read it I've been able to pick out additional details, and this layering of information makes the book versatile in its appeal to a broader range of age groups, as your child is able to pick out as much visual detail as they like or they can simply enjoy the rhymes.

Finally, this book is quite poignant and bittersweet, for it depicts the stiff upper lip of the English. Strength in adversity and solidarity through hard times. The family are working hard, pulling together, yet you can't help but notice that throughout the baby boy's day, the father is slowly getting dressed into his army outfit, and the baby boy in the picture is blissfully unaware that his dad is about to go to war and may never return. The baby boy is shielded from the harsh truth. Which is uncannily how it would be for most children being read this by an adult. The child being read the story would not understand the significance of his outfit, yet the adult would. So by reading Peepo to your child, life is imitating art. Thinking back through the story, I realise now that the grandmother took the 3 children to the park to give the mother and father a final private moment together before he is dispatched, so what seemed insignificant at the time takes on a new gravitas with the realisation of the father's call of duty.

A very charming book that I will miss reading when my youngest is too big for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa84debd0)

This product

Peepo! (Board Book)
Peepo! (Board Book) by Allan Ahlberg (Board book - 7 April 2011)
5.03
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews