Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars CLASSIC STORY IN A TACTILE AND VERY WELL PRESENTED BOOK
Most readers have heard of or know about Robin Hood so I won't go into too much detail about the story, it is a well known classic, but I will review the way the book is presented.

The presentation makes this book stand out; it has a green fabric cover, gold lettering and a period picture of Robin and Marion on the front. It feels like a book should, very...
Published on 14 Nov 2010 by Helpless

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars An Old Classic Fit for Oldies
Although this old children's classic suffers from the fact that children are now used to more unorthodox versions of the stories on the big and little screens there is a timeless charm to the old story. And at least modern versions bear some resemblance to the original, unlike the current telling of Merlin. Bit too cosy and safe for the modern child so probably best read...
Published 18 months ago by David Etherington


Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars CLASSIC STORY IN A TACTILE AND VERY WELL PRESENTED BOOK, 14 Nov 2010
By 
Helpless "Helpless" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Most readers have heard of or know about Robin Hood so I won't go into too much detail about the story, it is a well known classic, but I will review the way the book is presented.

The presentation makes this book stand out; it has a green fabric cover, gold lettering and a period picture of Robin and Marion on the front. It feels like a book should, very tactile, it smells like a book and being hard back it should with care, stand the test of time. Maybe even as a hand me down from one generation to another.

There are 24 separate stories of adventures, and they are illustrated by one picture every other chapter, so it is not really a visual book, rather it is one to be read.

The first publication of this Everyman Children's Classic was in 1956 so the English language style is more like the traditional story of the period it was written in; it appears not to have been changed into a more contemporary style.

`Come back to Sherwood with me, jolly Friar,' begged Robin `I have come hither to seek you, with a summons from the Lady Marion, whose confessor you were. Truly when you broke my head with your staff I guessed you were the man I sought.'

Friar Tuck speaking to Robin.

It is a classic; the presentation of the book is first class.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A VERY good representation of the Robin Hood novel, 13 Feb 2007
This book is very good for a light read--it delves into the mystery and legend of Robin Hood in a manageable way.

The stories include when our hero Robin meets Little John, rescues his outlaws from the capture of the evil Sheriff of Nottingham, under the command of Prince John, and battles Guy of Gisborne.

The character of Marian is also well presented in this group of tales--she is not a wet character, and rivals Robin with both a sword and bow.

I have one negative about this book, which is the fact that it is written in Old English and is thus hard to understand.

However, this could also add to the authenticity of the tales and contributes to the overall effect.

In conclusion, this book is a wonderful read and is a great starting point for the legend that is Robin Hood.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect for Adventure-loving kids., 1 April 1998
By A Customer
I read this book when I was a kid, and I can't recommend it highly enough to parents and kids who are looking for classic high adventure. It's timeless, yet provides good role models for boys (Robin Hood was the original cool do-gooder) and for girls, since Roger Greene's Maid Marian is more than a match for Robin with sword and bow and arrow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent night time read for the kids, 24 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It's nice to have a well- structured novel to read to the kids with no gimmicks or post - modern twists/ a nod and a wint to the parent who is reading it. Robin Hood is a classic story beautifully written with each chapter topped with some verse from an obscure medieval poet. Illustrations fantastic too. Kids love it and it's a great intro to the relationship between story/ myth and history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ROOBIN HOOD, 4 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I WOULD ADISE ENYONE WHO IS A FAN OF ROBIN HOOD TALES AND THE LEG TO READ THE BOOKS ALSO
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars An Old Classic Fit for Oldies, 29 Jan 2013
Although this old children's classic suffers from the fact that children are now used to more unorthodox versions of the stories on the big and little screens there is a timeless charm to the old story. And at least modern versions bear some resemblance to the original, unlike the current telling of Merlin. Bit too cosy and safe for the modern child so probably best read by oldies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT BOOK, 7 May 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
IF YOU LOVE TRADITIONALLY PUBLISHED BOOKS WITH FINE ILLUSTRATIONS, THEN THIS IS FORM YOU. IT TOOK ME BACK TO MY CHILDHOOD DAYS.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 13 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I really enjoyed it .I always wanted a book about Robin Hood and this book was a really good choice. The adventures were really exiting and I could not put the book down.
Age 10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Adventures of Robin Hood (Puffin Classics)
The Adventures of Robin Hood (Puffin Classics) by Roger Green (Hardcover - 29 Jun 1995)
9.09
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews