Customer Reviews


56 Reviews
5 star:
 (37)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


36 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thanks for the heads up chaps
Wow, the book isn't even out and I get two five star reviews warning people not to buy it. That's a first. It's possible that some readers may not know that Puffin is a childrens' publisher, and they might miss the cover which clearly has a young teen depicted. However, I am can assure you that very many adult readers have enjoyed the first book and will not doubt enjoy...
Published on 31 Jan 2012 by S Scarrow

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good story spoilt
both these books and the subsequent "son of Sparticus" should be one 500 page book. The author has ,presumably to make money,

published the book in three short stories with large lettering or double spacing between lines to make more pages. This is a bad mistake and belittles the author!

many thanks - Nigel
Published 11 months ago by Nig


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good story spoilt, 28 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
both these books and the subsequent "son of Sparticus" should be one 500 page book. The author has ,presumably to make money,

published the book in three short stories with large lettering or double spacing between lines to make more pages. This is a bad mistake and belittles the author!

many thanks - Nigel
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thanks for the heads up chaps, 31 Jan 2012
By 
This review is from: Gladiator: Street Fighter (Hardcover)
Wow, the book isn't even out and I get two five star reviews warning people not to buy it. That's a first. It's possible that some readers may not know that Puffin is a childrens' publisher, and they might miss the cover which clearly has a young teen depicted. However, I am can assure you that very many adult readers have enjoyed the first book and will not doubt enjoy this one. In the same way that other, rather more successful, kids' books reach a crossover audience, e.g. - off the top of my head - Harry Potter. I do find it depressing that people draw boundaries like this. One of the best books I have read recently is Private Peaceful. So, a little less prejudice and a more open mind might just deliver new pleasures, chaps.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gladiator+ Street Fighter= Badass, 15 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gladiator: Street Fighter (Hardcover)
This picks up soon after the end of the first novel, Marcus is now part of Caesar's household and is trained to fight with a selection of deadly weapons including knuckle dusters and wooden clubs and also his bare hands. The training is brutal as he must punch a solid wooden block over and over whilst wearing the knuckle dusters but he is also a favourite of Caesar as he saved his niece's life and in this novel saves Caesar's life more than once.
As Caesar makes his move to strengthen his power in Rome tensions rise in the senate and the streets of Rome soon follow resulting in gang war to break out. This leads to Caesar's life being under threat and it becomes extremely dangerous for him to venture further than his front doorstep. But as a man who seeks favour from the people of Rome Caesar can't look weak in front of them by hiding in his villa, so he must attend to his duties as usual. As this goes on Marcus, who desperately seeks his freedom sees his opportunity at gaining enough favour from Caesar to earn his freedom. He proposes to go undercover in one of the enemy gangs and will then report anything significant back to Caesar. Then the adventure begins and also the action ending in a exiting but bloody ending.
I finished the book in a few hours and I have a terrible attention span so it goes to show how gripping this book is, there was always battles being fought whether it was in the senate or on the streets of Rome. Marcus turns from a innocent boy to being forced to fight into a deadly, brutal fighter and the change is extremely interesting. I found this book absolutely amazing just as the first one was and I can't wait for the third in 2013. :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing!!!!!!!!!!!!!!, 5 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is mind blowing! As Marcus starts his journey you get the feeling that he may be forced into another dramatic conflict but as the book ends the air clears and something unexpected occurs....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simon Scarrow never fails to deliver, 22 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What a fantastic read in this great trilogy - yet again I was not able to put this book down
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Raw gladiator preparation for the fight of your life, 28 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent, fast paced and gripping from beginning to the end. Another brilliant classic by Simon Scarrow. Long live a new champion
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Son of Spartacus Series, 3 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Not as good a storyline as other Simon Scarrow books. I hope the next in the series is better than this one
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars ok book, 30 Nov 2013
By 
Andrew Jones - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
i like Simon Scarrow but did not realise when I bought this it was for children rather than adults. It was OK to read just too short and not taxing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent for All ages!!, 31 Jan 2012
By 
Parm (A bookshop near you) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Gladiator: Street Fighter (Hardcover)
This like book 1 of the series is a fantastic read, full of Simon Scarrows excellent research, powerful writing, descriptive skill, and story telling ability.
of the last 5 books Simon has written i would list them in order of excellence
1: Praetorian
2: Gladiator: Street Fighter
3: Gladiator: Fight for Freedom
4: The Legion
5: The Gladiator
The so called childrens books are every bit as good and better than most of the latest eagles books (and im 40). Each character is written just right for its own age, Simon has captured the younger Marcus perfectly, seeing not only the lacking of youth, but also adding in the streets smarts and ruthlessness that would have to exist in a boy this age in ancient Rome.
I think every part of this book is brilliant.

Highly recommended

(Parm)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars ok, 21 Aug 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
its not very long and it seems to be like a childsbook i may not hav read right buthre goes
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Gladiator: Street Fighter
Gladiator: Street Fighter by Simon Scarrow (Hardcover - 2 Feb 2012)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews