Customer Reviews


67 Reviews
5 star:
 (55)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Faithful, natural sequel to an old classic by a modern one
Very relieved to see that Julia Donaldson's sequel to Edward Lear's original Owl and the Pussycat is respectful, appropriate and very Lear-like, especially accompanied by those lovely watercolours by Charlotte Voake, reminiscent of Lear's own (he was a highly regarded watercolourist in his day, taking landscape commissions). Could almost be by Lear himself. Enjoyed the...
Published 19 months ago by Debbie Young

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Adopts Lear's Style
I like the style, it's fun to read, but I didn't like the illustrations as much as the Guffalo or Room on the Broom.
Published 18 months ago by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Faithful, natural sequel to an old classic by a modern one, 22 Oct. 2013
By 
Debbie Young "Debbie Young" (Gloucestershire, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Further Adventures of the Owl and the Pussy-cat (Hardcover)
Very relieved to see that Julia Donaldson's sequel to Edward Lear's original Owl and the Pussycat is respectful, appropriate and very Lear-like, especially accompanied by those lovely watercolours by Charlotte Voake, reminiscent of Lear's own (he was a highly regarded watercolourist in his day, taking landscape commissions). Could almost be by Lear himself. Enjoyed the inclusion of other Lear characters also - the Jumblies, the Pobble with no toes, etc.

Apparently Julia learned Lear's poetry as a small child at her grandmother's knee, and her easy verse is very Lear-like in character even when she's not trying to be like him. Well done to whoever commissioned it - though I still always wonder why modern publishers and film-makers feel compelled to recycle old ideas rather than come up with completely new ones. It's not as if Julia Donaldson has ever been short of ideas of her own!

Lovely shiny hardback - a good present, particularly for children familiar with the original work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wedding, 3 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Further Adventures of the Owl and the Pussy-cat (Hardcover)
The Owl and The Pussycat was read at our daughter's wedding in October 2012. They soon travelled to live abroad for two years. I have just bought this book for their first wedding anniversary and it is perfect! Julia Donaldson has re-kindled the imagination Edward Lear brought to many of us as children - well done her and thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A nice addition to the story, 17 Nov. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Further Adventures of the Owl and the Pussy-cat (Hardcover)
Donaldson is a very creative and skilled poet and this extension of the classic is well done. The illustrations are nice but it is as ever the text that is the read star - easy to read and flows well. Excellent bedtime materials for you budding poets.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Further adventures of the Owl and The Pussycat, 30 Aug. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Further Adventures of the Owl and the Pussy-cat (Hardcover)
Julia Donaldson is a favourite in our house, so we were very excited to hear of a new book ....but I have always loved Edward Lear and I am usually very wary when someone interferes with another author's characters so it was with some trepidation that I went ahead and pre-ordered the book for my granddaughter.
Julia has not disappointed, written with her usual talent, she tells the story of the stolen wedding ring and the subsequent adventure through Lear's nonsensical lands to get it back. I'm sure fans of Lear will be amused to see the various "Lear-ical" references and there will be a new generation of Owl and Pussycat fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy it!, 23 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Further Adventures of the Owl and the Pussy-cat (Hardcover)
The whole format of this book remains true to the original, language and illustrations delightful. I love it! (I may be in my second childhood, aged 79?)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Further Adventures of the Owl & Pussy Cat, 28 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Further Adventures of the Owl and the Pussy-cat (Hardcover)
A great idea, which develops these two main characters clearly. Well illustrated, and much enjoyed by several 7 year olds who read it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars They are back, 13 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Further Adventures of the Owl and the Pussy-cat (Hardcover)
This is a lovely book and is a worthy successor to the original Lear poem .
The illustrations are beautiful and I liked the touch of using the pea green boat to act as a makeshift basket for the balloon.
Author and artist are to be congratulated on this book which I recommend strongly.
One minor point- I did think it somewhat tasteless of the intrepid pair to be eating an honey roast ham whilst waving goodbye to the pig !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Ooh lovely for any Lear or Donaldson fan., 3 Jan. 2014
By 
Mr. Mj Harvey (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Further Adventures of the Owl and the Pussy-cat (Hardcover)
Lovely, just lovely, the Jumblies and the Pobble even get in on the story, it scans like the original so my daughter was soon learning this by heart too. Not sure who was smiling more, the reader, or the read too. Will be a classic in our house, and if I can learn it lie he original to whisper in hospital, or on a plane the story will be all the longer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Further Adventures of the Owl and the Pussycat, 6 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Further Adventures of the Owl and the Pussy-cat (Hardcover)
I found this book a bit confusing for younger children. Previous knowledge of the Owl and the Pussycat was a definite must to enjoy these further adventures. Maybe I'll keep the book until my grandchildren are a bit older and then try again. It is an attractive book to look at.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very happy grandchildren....., 5 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Further Adventures of the Owl and the Pussy-cat (Hardcover)
We bought this book, one for each household of our grandchildren.
As expected they have gone down a storm. It is a wonderful book
to read to the little ones and the older ones love reading it too. It is now
the new favourite bedtime story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Further Adventures of the Owl and the Pussy-cat
The Further Adventures of the Owl and the Pussy-cat by Julia Donaldson (Hardcover - 29 Aug. 2013)
£8.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews