Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Battle of Britain YA fiction
This is a semi-sequel to Duty Calls: Dunkirk, with the protagonist here having a cameo in that first novel. Its nothing earthshattering, but it is enjoyable, readable and historically accurate. It gets the flying stuff about right, I think, as well as the nightlife of blacked-out London and the somewhat unique world of living at a RAF airfield liable to scramble at any...
Published 22 months ago by John Middleton

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars More like Roy of the Rovers in parts. As below childish in parts.
it was not quite as interesting as I had hoped, rather childish in parts. Most disappointing, The Battle of Britain was a very serious time I our history.
Published 9 months ago by James R. Ryder


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Battle of Britain YA fiction, 27 Jun 2012
By 
John Middleton (Brisbane, QLD, AUST) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Duty Calls: Battle of Britain (Paperback)
This is a semi-sequel to Duty Calls: Dunkirk, with the protagonist here having a cameo in that first novel. Its nothing earthshattering, but it is enjoyable, readable and historically accurate. It gets the flying stuff about right, I think, as well as the nightlife of blacked-out London and the somewhat unique world of living at a RAF airfield liable to scramble at any hour by day.

The characterisation is also pretty good, for all its formulaic. Those formulas are there because they work, not merely to retard "serious literature". Our hero, Archie Jackson, is a bit of a plaster saint perhaps, but he's also someone you can identify with, and want to be. That's important, especially in YA stuff.

Finally, this book far from glorifies war. There is a scene where it is pretty powerfully brought home that war is not a game, and there are a lot of teenagers on both sides dying. Don't get me wrong, there are not too many shades of grey here, but the horror and sadness of war is brought home. This is both a good read, and a pretty fun way of getting an overview of the Battle of Britain: hopefully helping to develop both a love of reading and of history. There are worse gifts to give a boy by far.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A very enjoyable book, 3 July 2012
I really enjoyed this book, as it is both informative and exciting at the same time.
The only thing I will say is that is very similar to a more adult title by this author, the Burning Blue. Just as an example, the strafing of the German airfields in the Pas du Calais is almost exactly the same as in the Burning Blue, down to the same fuel bowser exploding.
If you have already read the Burning Blue, you will find this book extremely similar. If you had not, then this book is a definate buy, and anyone with any interest in aerial combat or the Battle of Britain will find this a nicely written account of a young pilot in the heat of the most intense aerial battle that has ever occured.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Read, 14 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Vividly realistic account of the Battle Of Britain. I have alwaysadmired James Holland's attention to historical detail, and this is no exception. THe characters are realistic and believable
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Duty Call, 19 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I watched the dog fight over Croydon as a 12 year old so Duty Calls is a first class book on the Battle of Britain
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very good, 29 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A very exiting book, well written and hard to put down book which I really enjoyed and would rate this author as very good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good story, 23 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is written much better than some of his others. Story and characters are good and tells you warts and all about the period of history. Hope there is more to follow
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Favourite, 22 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Read it about 20 times and can't stop, would highly recommend it to every one, a great value for money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars superb, 14 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having read the impressive Duty Calls this book didn't disappoint either. I'm not normally a war book reader, butJames Holland has me hooked.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Duty calls, 3 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Duty Calls: Battle of Britain (Paperback)
another great book by James Holland. Human,interesting, realistic, what more can one say. I just keep reading have to
know what happens next.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Duty calls: Battle of Britain, 19 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A great read it just flows from the first page to the last, what courage of the people when called upon
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa6a2993c)

This product

Duty Calls: Battle of Britain
Duty Calls: Battle of Britain by James Holland (Paperback - 7 Jun 2012)
5.03
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews