Customer Reviews


222 Reviews
5 star:
 (187)
4 star:
 (23)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best books ever written
Roald Dahl's darkly sarcastic but never patronising style has made his books hugely popular with children all over the world. This is my favourite book of his by a long way. His books give children exactly what they want to read with a child's-eye view and not an adult's perception of what children should like which makes so many children's books disappointing to read...
Published on 20 Jan 2003 by Rob Monster

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Kindle version flawed
This is a fabulous novel and my son and I both enjoyed it immensely.... but someone has done a very poor job of translating it to Kindle and replaced all instances of 'body' with 'BodyTextCenterLineSpace'.

Not very classy, oh publisher! You didn't bother to proof-read it before sending it to the world and yet you are happy to charge us full price for it...
Published 22 months ago by C. Harding


‹ Previous | 1 2 323 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great fun and exiting book, 9 Feb 2014
The book is based on a boy named Charlie Bucket who is a lucky winner of a golden ticket.

I have given this book a rating of 5 stars because the story is entertaining, made me laugh throughout and I found it difficult to put down.

What I liked about the book was the story line, humour and pictures (although I didn't need the pictures to imagine the setting as it was described so well in the book).

This book is aimed at children between the ages of 7 onwards, but adults would enjoy it too.

Overall I really enjoyed this book and would recommend that others read it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars deeeeelicious!!, 18 Jan 2008
How easy was it to get stuck into this book?
Very easy, because as soon as you read the first page, you straight away knew that the book was going to be interesting and exciting.

Who are the main characters?
Mr Willy Wonka - a funny man who just adores chocolate!
Charlie Bucket-the hero
Augustus Gloop-a greedy boy
Veruca Salt-a girl who is spoiled by her parents
Violet Beauregard-a girl who chews gum all day long
Mike Teavee-a boy who does nothing but watch T.V

Who is it written for?
Whoever likes chocolate would read this book all day long, so basically the answer is that anyone can read the book!

What is the storyline?
Well, 5 golden tickets are being wrapped in "Wonka Whipple Scrumptious Fudgemallow Delight!" and whoever finds one of the golden tickets will be taken on a guided tour around Willy Wonka's Chocolate Factory. Fortunately Charlie did get a golden ticket along with the 4 other children. (See main characters).Strange things happened to those 4 other children but not to Charlie. At the end of the book, the factory gets handed over to Charlie for being such a good boy. What a miracle for Charlie! Aman
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This Set is Perfect for Collectors, 14 Feb 2006
By 
J. H. Sweet - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is a review of this particular boxed set, not a review of the stories themselves.
These are large books and very substantial. The slipcase is thick, glossy, and sturdy. The slipcase and both dust jackets are beautifully illustrated. The illustrations both inside and out are by Joseph Schindelman, which is particularly important to me since I first read the books when I was in 3rd grade (in the seventies) and these are the illustrations I remember and love, ones I will always associate with these classics. I definitely recommend this set for Roald Dahl fans and collectors of children's books.
J.H. Sweet, author of The Fairy Chronicles
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just Desserts -- More Engaging Story Than the Movie, 14 May 2004
By 
Donald Mitchell "Jesus Loves You!" (Thanks for Providing My Reviews over 124,000 Helpful Votes Globally) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Researchers constantly find that reading to children is valuable in a variety of ways, not least of which are instilling a love of reading and improved reading skills. With better parent-child bonding from reading, your child will also be more emotionally secure and able to relate better to others. Intellectual performance will expand as well. Spending time together watching television fails as a substitute.
To help other parents apply this advice, as a parent of four I consulted an expert, our youngest child, and asked her to share with me her favorite books that were read to her as a young child. Charlie and the Chocolate Factory was one of her picks.
Since many people have seen the movie and not read the book, let me briefly compare them. The book creates more of a contrast between want and plenty. Charlie Bucket and his family are literally starving to death in the book. The book is also more of a moral tale, along the lines of Dickens. Some of the satire is much more wickedly funny as well. For example, each time something happens to one of the other children in the Chocolate Factory, the Oompa-Loompas sing a very witty, satirical song to emphasize the lesson . . . not unlike a Greek chorus.
If you don't know the story, Willie Wonka is a regular candy magician. He has made a chocolate ice cream that doesn't melt even when out in the sun all day. He can make a gumball that never melts in your mouth, so you never have to buy another. He has candy balloons that you can blow up, and then eat.
But his competitors sent spies into his factory and stole his secrets. So he fired all of his employees and closed the factory. Then, one day it started up again behind a locked gate. But no one ever came in or went out. You could see small shapes behind some of the windows. The candy comes out each day from a hole in the wall all packed and addressed for the post office.
Suddenly, Willie Wonka announces that the children who are the holders of five golden tickets (hidden in five of his candy bars) will be allowed a one day tour of the factory. Everyone wants one!
Augustus Gloop lives on candy. His mother isn't surprised when he gets a ticket because he always eating candy.
Miss Veruca Salt is spoiled and her parents are rich. Her father bought 100,000 candy bars and had the people in his factories open all the wrappers until they found one.
Miss Violet Beauregard is a world champion gum chewer, and has been working on the same piece for 3 years now.
Mike Teavee never leaves his television, and likes to shoot at the screen with his 8 toy pistols.
Charlie Bucket is a poor boy who lives next to the factory. His father has just lost his job. He gets one candy bar a year for his birthday. Alas, the candy bar did not have a ticket in it. Feeling sorry for him, his grandfather gives Charlie his last 10 cents. That doesn't do it either. What now?
Inside the Chocolate Factory is a world better than Oz. Every child will love to hear about its wonders. Every parent will feel terrific for reading about these amazing features and sharing them. If you are like me, you will especially like the INVENTING ROOM.
After you finish enjoying this story with your child, I suggest that you talk about what you can do to help poor children. After all, Willie Wonka only helped one. There are lots more out there. I guess he wanted each of us to have our chance to help.
The next time you are in the mood for a dessert, imagine that you can have one of Willie Wonka's amazing delights! It'll feed your imagination while keeping your waistline right where it is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful story!, 3 April 2005
By 
As the title implies, this is the story of Charlie. Charlie Bucket is the only son of a very poor family. He lives in a very small cottage just outside of town, with his Mom and Dad, his two Grandmas and his two Grandpas.
Charlie absolutely loves chocolate. Alas, his parents are so poor they can only afford to buy him a bar once a year, for his birthday, which is awaited eagerly. Needless to say that passing by Willy Wonka's enormous chocolate factory, the most famous in the world, on his way to school every day is close to torture for poor little Charlie.
Until the day Charlie finds one in only five golden tickets in the whole world that entitles him to a visit of the reknown factory.
I decided to read this book before Tim Burton's adaptation comes out. What a wonderful children story, full of adventures and twists and turns! The factory's a fantastic place, the characters are great, especially Grandpa Joe, and I'm looking forward to seeing the talented (among other qualities) Johnny Depp as Mr. Willy Wonka. And Quentin Blake's illustrations are excellent. Definitely something I'm going to read to my kids (when I have some). I ran to the shop right after I finished it to buy its sequel: Charlie and the Great Glass Elevator.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Charlie and the chocolate factory, 27 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am 6 years old and I really enjoyed this book. I am going to get the great glass elevator next. I hope you like it too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Charlie and the chocolate factory, 3 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I loved this story because it teaches people morals like not to be disobedient, not to watch too much tv, not to be greedy and spoilt. I thought the oompa lumpas songs were funny and when they crashed through the roof of the house. I think children of any age will think it's great!I

Kai (age 7)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars charlie and the choclate factory, 15 Jun 2011
Charlie Bucket is a really nice boy who wins a willy wonkers last golden ticket in a choclate bar he wasn't the only child with a ticket if you want to find out what happens next why not buy the book ! thank you . by uijin 3DM.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Charlie & the Chocolate Factory, 17 Jan 2011
This review is from: Charlie and the Chocolate Factory (Colour Edn) (Hardcover)
Timeless Classic - Short Chapters = great bedtime story for my six year old. Colour pages gives the book a great look and feel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars one of the best books i have ever read., 27 Dec 2010
this is such a fantastic books it should be read by adults and children everywhere. i like all of the books written by roald dahl.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 323 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Charlie and the Chocolate Factory (Colour Edn)
Charlie and the Chocolate Factory (Colour Edn) by Roald Dahl (Hardcover - 3 Jun 2010)
Used & New from: £26.97
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews