Customer Reviews


104 Reviews
5 star:
 (66)
4 star:
 (29)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Full English Version
Although part of the title is in French, the book is in English.
The introduction pages are also in French.
This was the only free version I could find for Kindle.
I read the book when I was younger, and thought I may read it again on my Kindle.
Published on 17 April 2012 by N. Hunt

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Illustrations aren't very good
I love Lewis Caroll and the Alice books, so my two stars is not about the content.

I am very disappointed in the illustrations in this edition. They are very small and very unclear.

I would suggest getting a different edition, and I'm sure there is a better one out there.
Published on 29 Mar. 2011 by Alias Grace


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Authoritative Full-Coloured Presentation by Carroll's Own Publisher, 11 Oct. 2008
I have said it all before for the companion "Wonderland" volume, but I'll paste it here again.

Among the countless editions of Carroll's classics to have come out over the years, I don't think any beats Macmillan's. Generally speaking, Carroll's own publisher seems to take much pride in being the originator of this masterpiece and have always presented the book in the most faithful manners to Carroll's and Tenniel's original visions. With the advent of a new age in publishings everything is required to jump out at the progressively wanting in concentration youngsters with really rather explosive brilliancy and exuberance. So here Macmillan has at last commissioned the remainders of Tenniel's illustrations not coloured by Theaker to be coloured in a complementary hand. The result is an all-new sparkling edition, larger than any they have previously published and quite decidedly more sparkling. Incidentally, the demand of full-coloured illustrations in-and-amongst the text has, coincidentally enough, reverted the book to its original sumptuous quality paper unseen for years. This with Macmillan's laudable continued commitment to offer the world the book in as close an appearance to what Carroll intended as possible - with great intregrity in the typeset and positioning of the text and illustrations - ultimately created a highly collectable edition. In the reissued papaerback edition of this one, Philip Pullman commends the colouring of the illustrations fro having defied his apprehension in such a tampering with what work perfectly in black-and-white. It does not little of its eccentric, Victorian charms, but still delights admirers of the original notwithstanding.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Classic work in a beautiful new edition, a joy to own., 21 Oct. 2001
By A Customer
This beatifully produced little book contains Lewis Carroll's classic work of inverted logic (or nonsense ) which needs no comment from me. The drawings by Mervyn Peake are a lot darker in nature than the more familiar ones by Tenniel, but if you enjoyed Gormenghast you will find them very much to your taste.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Full English Version, 17 April 2012
By 
N. Hunt "nicolamill3" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Although part of the title is in French, the book is in English.
The introduction pages are also in French.
This was the only free version I could find for Kindle.
I read the book when I was younger, and thought I may read it again on my Kindle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Illustrations aren't very good, 29 Mar. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love Lewis Caroll and the Alice books, so my two stars is not about the content.

I am very disappointed in the illustrations in this edition. They are very small and very unclear.

I would suggest getting a different edition, and I'm sure there is a better one out there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Through the looking glass, 22 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Amazing story! Definitely a must read for young children and even adults, instantly sucked into the story of Alice in wonderland.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars More surreal that Wonderland, 28 July 2013
By 
Rowan (Surrey, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Cannot recommend this book enough it is a joyous celebration of logic and language and should be compulsory bed time reading for both adults and children. Preferably adults reading to children. It has less narrative than Wonderland but still has many great characters like Tweedle Dum and Tweedle Dee, the Walrus and the Carpenter (the best illustration of hypocrisy there is). Talking of illustrations this book is full of them each compliments Carroll's words. On the subject of words this book is full of incredible word play and it is worth buying just for the poem Jabberwocky.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars My review :), 4 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is very creative, adventurous and very intriguing to read. This is a bookmakers around the character Alice. She is a girl who loves to 'pretend' about what life must be like through the looking glass house. This book follows Alice through her dream about life through the looking glass house.

I would recommend this book to everyone who loves an adventure. Also, this book should be read by kids as they would be easily engaged in the classic book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not as illustrated as you might expect, 4 Oct. 2014
By 
Pal Joey - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have no criticism of the book itself, as it is a madcap tale which is as fun to read now as it was the first time.

However, the description of it as an 'illustrated' edition may end up disappointing buyers, at least of the Kindle edition. You get some simple, undistinguished sketches of the author at the beginning and end of the book, and not the illustrations of the characters you might reasonably expect by artists like Tenniel, Peake or Steadman.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars *charming*, 30 Oct. 2009
By 
Ms. S. K. Leach (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Lovely classic illustrations and simple, perfect layout, brilliant for adults and children, a realy nice item.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars This is more like an intellectual being "away with the fairies" than it ..., 16 Feb. 2015
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having procrastinated for 60 years to read Alice in Wonderland, I thought I should complete the experience by reading Through the Looking Glass.The former has some logic to it and something approaching a story line, which is more than can be said of Through the Looking Glass! This is more like an intellectual being "away with the fairies" than it is a fairy story!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Through the Looking Glass and What Alice Found There (Puffin Classics)
£6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews