Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The continuing story . . .
Aquila 2 is the continuing story of Tom and Geoff's adventures in the lifepod from an alien starship which they discovered whilst on a school trip. This story opens in New York, with the boys discovering technological capabilities that they didn't realise Aquila had. They struggle to keep Aquila a secret, but their new-found curiosity about geography and their improved...
Published on 4 Aug 2011 by Gill Robins

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Re-write?
Have enjoyed this story since I watched BBC TV series then when on to read first book and listen to audio book.
Sadly I was expecting Andrew Norriss (Author) to continue on from end of TV series, not re-write scripts used for TV series. In short little new if you have seen TV series (Wonder why BBC have not released it?).
I hope more books in this series will go...
Published on 27 July 2010 by United


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The continuing story . . ., 4 Aug 2011
This review is from: Aquila 2 (Paperback)
Aquila 2 is the continuing story of Tom and Geoff's adventures in the lifepod from an alien starship which they discovered whilst on a school trip. This story opens in New York, with the boys discovering technological capabilities that they didn't realise Aquila had. They struggle to keep Aquila a secret, but their new-found curiosity about geography and their improved school results starts to raise questions. Life is further complicated when Tom's mum develops a serious relationship with Alan, whose decptively docile son turns out to be a genius who saves the day. Friendship is tested to the limit when Geoff tells someone else about Aquila, especially when the 'someone else' turns out to be a girl.

As ever, Andrew Norriss combines humour and sci-fi adventure to produce an exciting narrative. But the reader also has to address contemporary and relevant issues about relationships, second families and the strength of friendship. I would recommend this book for the school and classroom library or to read aloud to any KS2 class. It should hold particular appeal to boys who love adventure stories and anyone who watched the TV series Aquila in the late 1990s.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FANTASY WITH LOGIC - LOVE IT!, 26 Aug 2010
By 
Mrs. A Tilley "The Webster" (Hampshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Aquila 2 (Paperback)
Andrew Norriss's gentle wit and life affirming touch are back in abundance in Aquila 2, as Tom and Geoff continue to make all kinds of exciting discoveries about their windfall spaceship - and also about the more ordinary but no less important areas of their lives, like schoolwork and new friends and jealousy and potential stepdads.

Like Aquila this is story you just scoff down in one sitting like a fresh cream bun. And while so many fantasy authors will call upon equally fantastical solutions to their character's woes, Norriss always applies the most beautiful and satisfying earthly logic to sort everything out in a highly believable way. The beauty of this is that the reader can identify much more solidly with it.

Both Aquilas are hugely enjoyable books for all ages (my husband has been recently enjoying the audio version of Aquila on his way to and from work) - but I would also strongly recommend it for reluctant readers (boys especially). It's chunky enough to be an achievement but not too long and the first page pulls you in within seconds.

Then try all the others!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Waiting for Aquila 3!, 5 July 2010
This review is from: Aquila 2 (Paperback)
Aquila was fantastic to read and a shame when it was finished, so it was great that Aquila 2 has come along. But now I have read that and am wondering if there will be an Aquila 3 soon?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars needed for school, 29 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Aquila 2 (Paperback)
kids seems to enjoy it, read the ist book at school and now on to this one, recommend to kids
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A great sequel but could have been longer, 23 Aug 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Aquila 2 (Paperback)
I read this book in about two hours. I am a fan of the first Aquila book and of course I had to read the sequel. It was well written, funny and exciting although it could really have been longer and it left me with a ton of questions, since I am a fan of the TV series that was based on the first book. I was expecting this book to be around the same storyline wise as the second series of the TV show. The show culminated in them finding the mother ship but this was not written in the book. I wish it had been, the TV series ended on such a cliffhanger, I thought this book would have included and gone a bit further than the second series of the TV show.
I still enjoyed reading it though and I hope that Mr Norriss writes a third one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Re-write?, 27 July 2010
By 
United (Wilmington, DE, United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Aquila 2 (Paperback)
Have enjoyed this story since I watched BBC TV series then when on to read first book and listen to audio book.
Sadly I was expecting Andrew Norriss (Author) to continue on from end of TV series, not re-write scripts used for TV series. In short little new if you have seen TV series (Wonder why BBC have not released it?).
I hope more books in this series will go beyond what has already been said.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xafbe34f8)

This product

Aquila 2
Aquila 2 by Andrew Norriss (Paperback - 1 July 2010)
5.03
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews