Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cool heroine, Greek Mythology... What more do you want?
'Halo' is the story of a young girl named Halo, who was washed ashore onto the Greek island of Zakynthos as a baby. She is taken in by a herd of centaurs, and grows up happily, as their equal. Until, many years later, she is captured, and sees that in this world of humans, not everything's the same. She struggles to find who she is and her 'brother to the left', but...
Published 10 months ago by julie tang

versus
3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Halo
My son and I read this book (he's 11) together. This is an enjoyable story with a female in the lead role and takes place in Greece. Halo's story is an interesting one, she is a easy to like as are most of the other main characters. With centaurs in the story there is much to be interested in. The author provides quite a lot of excitement, there are some nice plot...
Published on 15 Aug. 2010 by K. Partridge


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cool heroine, Greek Mythology... What more do you want?, 14 Mar. 2014
This review is from: Halo (Paperback)
'Halo' is the story of a young girl named Halo, who was washed ashore onto the Greek island of Zakynthos as a baby. She is taken in by a herd of centaurs, and grows up happily, as their equal. Until, many years later, she is captured, and sees that in this world of humans, not everything's the same. She struggles to find who she is and her 'brother to the left', but that's hard, when she pretending she's not who she is, because Halo has to be a boy.

A wonderful story of a girl's view on Ancient Greece, on how despite it being wonderful, it can be cruel and restraining to girls. Halo is lovable, strong, courageous and can provide for herself. Her Centaur parents are just plain cute, her brother Arko is admirable, and there are other characters which are both funny, yet mysterious.

The story is based around the start of the Peloponnesian War between Athens and Sparta - we get to see both sides, finding both admirable, and not so much, traits behind them. The plot is fast-paced and always interesting. However the writing is a bit simplistic, but both children and teens will enjoy it. It is clearly well-researched, though there are words and references to Greek mythology that everyone might not understand.

The ending is cute, though not everyone would like the big reveal - I thought it fine, but think of it when you read. I would have also liked some more scenes with Halo's love interest - I've got a thing for fluff. You can clearly tell Halo's feelings, and his feelings, but there are no scenes with them actually acknowledging it, apart from when someone mentions it (Arko). We know she loves him, but it's come to almost nothing...

Finishing off, this is a book for those who like Ancient Greece, Greek mythology, though perhaps not so much for young boys, with the female heroine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Story with Mythical Elements, 9 July 2012
By 
Sir Furboy (Aberystwyth, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Halo (Kindle Edition)
My 10 year old daughter borrowed this from the school library and wolfed it down in a couple of days. After she was done, I found her reading a textbook on ancient Greek, so it clearly spoke to her on a number of levels.

Halo is a girl washed up on the seashore as a baby, and found by centaurs (yes, the mythical beasts) who raise her into childhood alongside a young centaur, Arko. A tattoo on her forehead adds to the mystery around where she cames from. However events or destiny take their course and haol ends up separated from her family, and then enslaved. She encounters Spartans as well as Athenians in this story and citizens of other Greek city states as she slowly comes to discover who she really is.

This is a great story, with a nice twist or two. Despite the centaurs, the oracle of Delphi and other such elements it also has pleanty of nicely researched and described information about Ancient Greece.

Ideal for older children, or young adults, I did nevertheless enjoy reading this myself when I managed to get hold of it. The female protaganist will perhaps appeal more to girls than boys, although that is the boy's loss!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Read This!!, 1 May 2014
This review is from: Halo (Paperback)
“Until you know who you are, you are no one…”Better than the game, Halo (the book) is about a baby named Halosydne who is adopted and raised by centaurs.
After being dragged, kicking and screaming, and becoming a slave in Sparta, the now-called-Halo is determined to find her parents but only finds her uncle (the king of Athens) or does she?
This eye watering, extravaganza of a book has the three B’s: Befriending, Betrayal and Big words you don’t understand. I would recommend this book to you as the author is brilliant and can touch your heart. But remember, something can come back a lot of times.

Seamus
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More headlong adventure from the authors of Lionboy, 14 May 2010
By 
This review is from: Halo (Paperback)
Exciting adventure set in Ancient Greece, with interesting characters and plenty of action. My 10 year old son wolfed it down, but as it has a female heroine, it would appeal to girls or boys equally, including older ones. The authors avoid jumping into stereotypes about the different Greek city states, and I found it interesting to see the good and bad aspects of both Athens and Sparta. I'd recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars UNPUTDOWNABLE!!!!, 23 Mar. 2012
This review is from: Halo (Kindle Edition)
THIS WAS AMAZING!! I don't usually read books that arn't in a series but I found this absaloutly fantastic! Halo was such a awsume heroine that the lack of romance didn't matter! I loved her relationship with Arko but I think there was a little bit too much death especilly of close friends! Or even a near death experiance for Halo! I loved the inclueding greek gods, which shows she did reasurch! I would deffintely recomed this to anyone who liked Percy Jackson, or Percy Jackson to anyone who loved this!!!! ;D
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Halo, 15 Aug. 2010
By 
K. Partridge (Southampton, Hamphire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Halo (Paperback)
My son and I read this book (he's 11) together. This is an enjoyable story with a female in the lead role and takes place in Greece. Halo's story is an interesting one, she is a easy to like as are most of the other main characters. With centaurs in the story there is much to be interested in. The author provides quite a lot of excitement, there are some nice plot twists as well as danger and intrigue.
There are some grammatical elements that are off-putting if you are into absolutely correct grammar (sentences without verbs). From the blurb on the back, we had high expectations of battles, however, these never took place which was disappointing to my son. Also, the ending didn't quite tie up all of the loose ends.
We think kids between 9-13 will enjoy this book, it's entertaining and will lead to a greater understanding of ancient Greece, even including some instructions on how to make a bow, baklava, and other things that appear in the story.
Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars lovely story, 19 May 2010
By 
D. Cooper "Book addict" (Gloucester UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Halo (Paperback)
I bought this book for my 9 yr old daughter who has recently read all the Percy Jackson books. She read this in about 2 days and loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Charming Tales, 1 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Halo (Kindle Edition)
My daughters book intentionally, but I thoroughly enjoyed it. For all those fans of the ancient myths this is a beauty.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars epic book, 14 Feb. 2013
This review is from: Halo (Kindle Edition)
this book is really gripping。amazing。probably the best book i have ever read。i like how you get sucked into it really
quickly。and how it has lots of wars and mythical creatures.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Halo, 7 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Halo (Kindle Edition)
I enjoyed the way the story slowly unfolds who the various 'people' are and Halo's struggle to find heself in hostile and alien civilisations. A great weaving of historical truth and myth to produce a riviting storyline.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Halo
Halo by Zizou Corder (Paperback - 4 Feb. 2010)
£7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews