Customer Reviews


67 Reviews
5 star:
 (34)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars There was once an Irish boy who longed to know everything there was to know, so he read book after book until his brain swelled
Two years since Artemis Fowl and the Time-Paradox, the titular teenage genius is back, and this time with a plan to save the world - a change from his usual various and nefarious criminal activities. The book opens in Iceland, on Artemis' 15th birthday.

At the end of the Time Paradox, things had become hopelessly tangled and complicated (that tends to happen...
Published on 21 July 2010 by Doha

versus
25 of 29 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Big step down
Spoilers thar be!

I don't know why Artemis Fowl 7 is so below-par and underwhelming. Perhaps Eoin Colfer was under obligation to finish to a deadline before developing any fully-formed ideas or something. Nothing in this book really satisfied me, I'm sorry to say.

Artemis is in Iceland preparing for a demonstration of a new Earth-saving eco-device...
Published on 21 Aug 2010 by Inspector Gadget


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 29 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Big step down, 21 Aug 2010
By 
Inspector Gadget "Go Go Gadget Reviews" (On the trail of Doctor Claw) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Spoilers thar be!

I don't know why Artemis Fowl 7 is so below-par and underwhelming. Perhaps Eoin Colfer was under obligation to finish to a deadline before developing any fully-formed ideas or something. Nothing in this book really satisfied me, I'm sorry to say.

Artemis is in Iceland preparing for a demonstration of a new Earth-saving eco-device when a deep space probe falls out of the sky on top of him and his friends. This results in a slow-boiling mental illness coming to a pop and Artemis' personality being succeed by "Orion". With much of their resources depleted or lost, Orion and his usual team of Butler, Juliet, Holly, Foaly and Mulch must find out the whos and whys of the devastating crash.

Colfer's first and foremost failure here is the fact that he just doesn't have enough story to sustain an epic adventure, even (and especially, I should say) one told as quickly as this. The plot is delivered in several, fast-moving, large chunks with very little time for significant development or even a single decent twist. It's all very straight-forward and as with all fast-paced novels/movies coherence is sacrificed for speed. I was frequently lost and confused as to what was going on. I'll also pin some of this blame on the fact that Colfer simply did not describe many scenes very well. On top of this the book ends with nearly all plot threads completely open-ended and multiple unanswered questions.

The globe-trotting nature of the previous books is absent. The story only superficially takes us to Iceland, Cancun and Venice. Most of it takes place inside a submersible pod with very, very little opportunity for epic or exciting scenes.

I hear that Artemis Fowl 8 will be the last one. Colfer seriously needs to get his act together and go out with a bang, not a whimper. He totally phoned this one in. The long woven threads of Minerva, Opal Koboi, Artemis's love for Holly, and his determination to heal the planet need to ALL be explored and closed in book 8.

The only reason this book exists is because you need 7 to get to 8. And for that reason ALONE fans should read it, but we've come to expect a LOT more than this from Eoin Colfer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 7 Aug 2010
By 
Not nearly as good as the others in the series. Artemis spends most of his time unconscious or with a different (and not better) personality. Butler and Mulch Diggums are given very little to do.
Previous outings have had me laughing out loud but this one was hard work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars There was once an Irish boy who longed to know everything there was to know, so he read book after book until his brain swelled, 21 July 2010
By 
Doha (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Two years since Artemis Fowl and the Time-Paradox, the titular teenage genius is back, and this time with a plan to save the world - a change from his usual various and nefarious criminal activities. The book opens in Iceland, on Artemis' 15th birthday.

At the end of the Time Paradox, things had become hopelessly tangled and complicated (that tends to happen when timestreams are involved), especially between Holly and Artemis. What do you need after that?

Action.

A lot of it.

This a book chock-full of awesome. Here is a list.

- Butler. Does anyone else geek out over at TV Tropes? There is a whole page about AF's crowning moments of awesome. What is great about this series (among all the other things) is that the author never allows literary snobbery to interfere with storytelling.

- The fear of cliché never stops him from writing the baddest, worstest crowning moments of funny. In fact, it's full of CMs: CMs of awesome, funny AND heartwarming.

- Brilliant one-liners: Colfer is master of the hilarious throwaway remark. You have to read `em.

- The relationships: I love the interplays and by-plays between the cast: Artemis and Foaly, Mulch and Artemis, Foaly and Mulch, Holly and Butler, Artemis and Holly - there's a real camaraderie hidden under all the quipping. And they're a bunch of geeks shamelessly geeking out - it's great! Geeking out is almost my professional pastime, and AF hits all my geek buttons whilst also hitting all my fangirl buttons.

- Twins: a glimpse of Artemis' now older twin brothers, in what is the most entertaining side-story of the book.

Artemis has been on the road to reform since the Arctic Incident, when he gets his father back, but old habits die hard. In the Time Paradox, Artemis faced his past self, and this book finds him trying to deal with the consequences of the person he used to be - and making an awful mess, because when magic involves itself, nothing is simple. The story is increasingly psychologically complex; Colfer now addresses the question of motivations and consequences, and the greyness of subjective moralities, with two completely different criminal minds.

In children's books, it takes a kind of editorial bravery to introduce irreversible changes, things that won't be repaired by a deus ex machina to return everything to the happily-ever-after that the reader wants - and this is new ground for the Artemis Fowl books, and I love it. Without giving too much away, what was happening in Artemis' own head was the most complex and satisfying part of the story. I first thought the Atlantis Complex referred to...some fairy mega-corporation in Atlantis. It doesn't.

Mental illness in children's books can't be easy to write authentically, and Colfer does not disrespect his reader - there is no watering down or shying away. Artemis faces it, and you, the reader, face it with him. I find this account extraordinarily nuanced and moving; as Artemis slides into severe obsessive compulsiveness, paranoia, hallucinations, and finally multiple personalities, it's impossible not to feel a kind of cold shock. This can't happen to Artemis.

Every so often, you read a book that is utterly satisfying in almost every way - like meeting an old and dearly-missed friend after a long time. Artemis Fowl and the Atlantis Complex right now is that book. After over a decade of Artemis in my head, I still only want more - I want to know how he'll change. It doesn't answer all the questions - because there will be more. Artemis will be back, and so will Holly, and that's another book.

The great beauty of a serial with child characters is its magnified scope for evolution, where the things that have happened affect and shape what will happen, and where there are no easy answers. It takes you from a child's tumultuous world of growing and changing into one of inconstancy and ambiguity: People do bad things for good reasons; bad things happen to good people. It's life: complicated and multifaceted - and hopeful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not as good as expected, 14 Dec 2010
this (pre-last) book of Artemis' adventures seemd quite "dead" to me. There was none of the page turning action i remember from previous books nor, any mystery.
It was a fun read but most of the action takes place in the last 10 pages or so so the whole book before that is pretty much a prologue, setting the scene for what turns out to me a lukewarm encounter of good and evil.
i was rather let down by Colfer but still i will buy the next and final one and see what happens there!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars sexist packaging good book, 5 July 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
i like this book on the whole it was fast paced laugh aloud one lines but when i finshed it i was irritated to find that it said puffin books for boys and showing photos of percy jackson artemis fowl and other books i have enjoyed i am a 9 year old girl and i feel very upset at puffin books advert as it is very sexist that is about it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just WOW!, 10 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It's so amazing I won't even try to describe it! ;-] (these words are so the review is accepted LOL)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant story, 21 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This series has a great, fast paced and action packed story line. you can read them as a stand alone book, but I would recommend reading them all. Eoin Colfer is a great author and will be reading more of his work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Yet again another great read, 28 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What next is Mrs Fowl going to join in the adventurers... Brilliant read I hope that I don't have to wait for to long for the next adventure..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Artemis fowl, 23 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is the best book ever
I would recommend this to anyone who likes sci-fi and fantasy
Perfect for years 9-14 boys
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Artemis Fowl Series, 15 May 2013
By 
George Leiper (Aberdeen Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Artemis Fowl and the Atlantis Complex, 7 (Paperback)
The book was up to the authors usual standard and I enjoyed it. I expect to read the rest of the books
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Artemis Fowl and the Atlantis Complex, 7
Artemis Fowl and the Atlantis Complex, 7 by Eoin Colfer (Paperback - 7 April 2011)
£5.24
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews