Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gorgeously illustrated, enchanting, simple tale, 18 Sept. 2013
By 
Debbie Young "Debbie Young" (Gloucestershire, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love Edward Ardizzone and associate him with books read in my own childhood, and I also love books about dolls, to share with my daughter, so this book ticked lots of boxes even before I opened it. It is the ideal bedtime story for little girls, a whole adventure in a short tale with a delightful picture on every page. It dates back to the world before superstore and online grocery shopping. The shopping parade (now there's an old-fashioned phrase!) to which the little girl goes with her mother every day (who grocery shops every day these days?!) reminds me of the one I went to when I was a child in the 60s and 70s, of which I have fond memories. This is also an empowering story for little girls, because although the girl in the story is small and dependent, the doll is even tinier, and the girl comes to her rescue. Love the idea of the girl sewing clothes for the doll herself - I wish more little girls (and boys) would take an interest in that sort of thing these days! Perfect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Little Girl and the Tiny Doll, 16 Sept. 2012
By 
S Riaz "S Riaz" (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Little Girl and the Tiny Doll (Puffin Modern Classics) (Paperback)
This is an excellent first book for independent readers and my five year old daughter adores it. The tiny little doll first belongs to a little girl who does not care about her and drops her carelessly into a freezer. Here, the tiny little doll lives amongst the frozen food - uncared for, cold and bored. She is eventually noticed by another girl, who longs to take her home but has been told not to touch things in the shop. Of course, the story has a happy ending and it is a lovely tale which shows us how important (and rewarding) it is to care about others. This is a delightful book, with gorgeous drawings by Edward Ardizzone, and a really magical read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magical!, 29 July 2006
This little story is quite magical; my sister and I loved it! We were also happier to go to the supermarket with our parents as there was always a chance that we too might find a tiny doll.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good for first Independent readers, 16 Feb. 2012
By 
This review is from: The Little Girl and the Tiny Doll (Puffin Modern Classics) (Paperback)
My daughter likes this book, its not too long and she read it easily, she is aged 8. Its about a girl who finds a little doll in the freezer department of the supermarket.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely pictures, 16 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Little Girl and the Tiny Doll (Puffin Modern Classics) (Paperback)
My daughter enjoys this book from time to time, and we especially like the pictures, which are lovely. This made a good present for her.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars lovely, 18 Dec. 2014
By 
E. Edwards (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Little Girl and the Tiny Doll (Puffin Modern Classics) (Paperback)
a very cute and beautifully illustrated story which works just as well on kindle app for my computer
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great, 7 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Little Girl and the Tiny Doll (Puffin Modern Classics) (Paperback)
My grandson loves this book and i have read it to him many times ****** ******* ******* ******* * *
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 15 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Little Girl and the Tiny Doll (Puffin Modern Classics) (Paperback)
Item as described and good condition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 6 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Little Girl and the Tiny Doll (Puffin Modern Classics) (Paperback)
simple but perfect story
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Little Girl and the Tiny Doll (Puffin Modern Classics)
The Little Girl and the Tiny Doll (Puffin Modern Classics) by Aingelda Ardizzone (Paperback - 5 Feb. 2009)
£5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews