Customer Reviews


98 Reviews
5 star:
 (78)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dead brilliant!
I was a bit worried when i found out that this book would be about a different group of kids and not the group from the enemy. But i was pleasantly surprised.
The action is great and the gore will genuinely make you squirm. The characters all have their own individual stories and you are gripped all the way
through. There are also some surprising twists that...
Published on 4 Oct 2010 by pete

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Zombies return
Charlie Higson doesn't hold anything back in this full-on gory fright-fest. If you want to see a zombie story done well then you definitely need to check out `The Dead'. I was a little disappointed that this book wasn't a direct sequel to Higson's earlier book `The Enemy' which I read last year and thoroughly enjoyed. Instead, the story takes place one year before the...
Published on 15 Mar 2011 by SJH @ A Dream of Books


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dead brilliant!, 4 Oct 2010
This review is from: The Dead (Hardcover)
I was a bit worried when i found out that this book would be about a different group of kids and not the group from the enemy. But i was pleasantly surprised.
The action is great and the gore will genuinely make you squirm. The characters all have their own individual stories and you are gripped all the way
through. There are also some surprising twists that kep you reading further.
Overall, this book is amazing and if you are a teenage boy then you should get it. I really cant think of any other reason not to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Dead by Charlie Higson, 9 Nov 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Dead (Hardcover)
My son Adam age 11 wrote this review after a what seemed a very long wait for this book to come out.

I read The Enemy and loved it, I couldn't wait for The Dead to be released.

The book was really well written, a little wierd at the start but I enjoyed it. I would recommend buying this book if you like a good horror with loads of suspense. Another good thing about this book is, I found it didn't link to the first book, The Enemy, until a small part at the end, so if you havent read the Enemy you don't really need to worry.

Overall I would say,this is a, "must buy" book if you are a person who enjoys a story that keeps you on the edge of your seat.

BUY THIS BOOK!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heart pounding thriller, 23 Sep 2010
By 
Aoife Lonergan "sweetheart" (Kildare, Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Dead (Hardcover)
The sequel to The Enemy is set a year before it, making it a prequel. Sort of.

Only a few weeks before the book begins, adults began falling prey to a strange new disease. Most of them died outright. The ones who are left are desperate for human flesh, and the only source left is children. Anyone over fourteen is dead or changed.

When the book begins the kids have been on their own for only a couple of weeks. Their new reality hasn't really sunk in yet. Most haven't realised how drastically the world has altered. It's not until a group holed up in a school dorm are attacked by the people who used to be their teachers that it really begins to sink in.

Abandoning the school, the group head for the countryside but are rapidly cut off and forced to retreat towards London. They're rescued by by a man driving a coach, the only uninfected adult they've seen in a long time. the roads of London are clogged with zombies, though, and it takes a long time before they find somewhere they can call home.

This book, if anything, is even more gory than the last. There are several loving descriptions of the zombies, including Greg and the one they nickname Pez. There's also a horrific sequence set in the Oval Cricket Ground. The protaganists aren't any safer in this one than they were in The Enemy, either, and it's an entirely new group this time around. There are fewer characters to keep track of this time, and most of the action comes from two specific characters, making it easier to keep track of who's doing what where for what reason.

The ending does provide two very clever links with The Enemy, though; one I saw coming and one I didn't, though I should have. From the way this one ends, I'm guessing the third will bring all our characters together.

The Dead is just as fast paced as The Enemy, events rolling together with few breaks. It's a hard book to put down, as just as one problem is almost solved another rears its' head. The final chase through London was almost unbearable. Once I'd reached the end and figured out who some of the people were, it was fascinating to see them now, weeks into the apocalypse. I also really loved the quiet nod to another recent series of all-the-adults-are-dead books, one that I'm guessing few people will notice.

One of the better books I've read this year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Violent, gruesome and packed with action., 22 Oct 2011
By 
J. Prather (IN USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Dead (The Enemy) (Paperback)
Anyone who read and enjoyed Charlie Higson's The Enemy will no doubt like The Dead. If you want to start with this one first, that's okay too since this is essentially a prequel. Readers are treated to a fast paced read filled with violent zombie action, and the author spares no sentiment in his descriptions of all things vile and gruesome.

The group of English school boys that make up the focus of this novel are all well portrayed. They are an interesting group, although I wish some had been more developed. Perhaps that is coming in the next installment of the series. They are easy to cheer for, and even break your heart when the author takes a break from the action to fully let us feel their emotions and fears.

While I enjoyed the read, it just barely squeaks into the four star category just because there's not much new here. I found myself skimming the last couple of chapters just to get to the end. Be forewarned, although this book has the feel of a classic boy's adventure story i.e. Lord of the Flies), it is packed with violence of the most gruesome sort. There are no happy endings with rainbows and kisses. The action is intense and the emotions powerful when beloved characters meet surprising ends. The author has a huge talent for gruesome imagery - pictures of piles of decaying and rotting bodies rife with maggots are ones likely to stay with readers of the sensitive sort.

Still, this is a good choice for older teen horror fans, especially reluctant readers who will enjoy the short chapters and the speed of light pacing. I am certainly on board for the next installment when the author is likely to merge the two stories and bring our two groups of kids together. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars IVE BEEN IN THE IMPERIAL WAR MUSEUM THIS BOOK IS SET IN. wow, i'm so god-damn awesome., 4 Sep 2011
By 
Britishwotsit (ENGLAND, SUSSEX) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Dead (The Enemy) (Paperback)
I loved this book. Pulled me in from the first page and didnt let go.

My most favourite aspect of this book, is the way it is written. I think Charlie Higson is making his way up there in my favourite authors. His writing is sharp and breath-taking at times, and sad or tense at others.

The way the characters develop is also fantastic in this book, as it was in the first. There are alot of deaths, which make the book even more tense knowing that it is more than likely that your favourite character would die. It got to the point where i was hoping ang hoping Edd and Jack wouldnt die. You'd have to read the book to find out 'cause im givin' away no spoilers.
Its also pretty interesting where the few characters overlap from the first book (as i think this book is set about a year before the first). Im just a bit upset that maxie, Blue or Achilleus (i think thats how you spell it) weren't in this book. :(

Overall, a gripping, breath-taking book with an interesting and exciting plot. If your scared of gore or generaly creepy things, then maybe you might want to avoid it. Although it is brilliant, so if you do, your mad.

4.5 out of 5, and eagerly awaiting the next book! ;)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must eard, 21 Oct 2010
By 
D. Perry (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Dead (Hardcover)
Having read The Enemy was a bit surprised to find this was a sequel but I was not disappointed. The Enemy was brilliant but The Dead is AWESOME. Great story, action, adventure and great characters. However I was still drove to tears with 'Floppy Dog' chapter.
As a 39 year old reading his son's book Charlie Higson is a find. The Enemy. The Dead. Young James Bond. There all excellent reads.
The Dead should be on all childrens (and adults) must reads.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars amazing!!!!!!!!!, 8 Oct 2012
this book is awesome! im kind of dissapointed by the fact that SmallSam and the Kid arent in it though.But thats the only thing thats wrong with it. Its probably one of my favourite books ever,even better than the enemy!!My favourite thing about is that all the adults are sick and the kids are never safe and even though when they meet Greg a butcher who is not sick and think they are safe there not because Greg goes crazy and tries to slaughter them.I will not give you any more information so you will have to read the book to find out and if you dislike this book i despise you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Review of "The Dead" by Charlie Higson., 8 Jun 2011
This review is from: The Dead (Hardcover)
Dystopian fiction seems to be the new craze in YA literature, and I couldn't be happier! I've come across some astoundingly good stories in the last few months. This week I'm looking at one of the most brutal: The Dead, by Charlie Higson.

The basic premise of the book is that only children under the age of fourteen survive a disease which turns everyone else into flesh-hungry maniacs who would be best described as Zombies, although they aren't dead.

It is left to the children to survive and try to rebuild as much as they can. The book follows a group of young boys at a school where their teachers have turned on them. It is interesting to follow their struggle and I found myself feeling all of their pent-up, edgy frustrations with their broken world. We journey with them as they escape their school into the nightmarish streets of London, where all hell awaits them.

I don't want to give away too much of the plot but I'll say it's gripping stuff! What is so spectacular about this book is how very grim it is. Higson pulls no punches with his writing and I love that he respects the YA audience enough to be honestly dark with them

In the book, fathers kill sons, parents eat the flesh of their children, the "Sickos" gnaw at their own flesh in efforts to get to the more tasty treat of young human flesh. Beyond the sickness, we see the fragile line of sanity which the boys walk as they are forced to kill, cheat, confront the seemingly insane ravings of a boy "prophet" and make terrible decisions, all in order to survive.

The story...the sickness... begins with a video posted on youtube. The video of "The Scared Kid".

I thoroughly recommend this book, which is also, by the way, the prequel to The Enemy, another amazing read!

Lx
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Zombies return, 15 Mar 2011
This review is from: The Dead (Hardcover)
Charlie Higson doesn't hold anything back in this full-on gory fright-fest. If you want to see a zombie story done well then you definitely need to check out `The Dead'. I was a little disappointed that this book wasn't a direct sequel to Higson's earlier book `The Enemy' which I read last year and thoroughly enjoyed. Instead, the story takes place one year before the events depicted in the first book and features a different set of boys. There is only a small amount of overlap between the two books with a few familiar faces appearing at the end but the premise of the story is the same.

The two main characters and best friends, Jack and Ed, are initially trapped in their school - fighting off attacks from their teachers. In the world that Higson has created, everyone over the age of 14 has been struck down by a disease which turns them into zombies. The only thing that will satisfy them is the taste of children's flesh. The boys soon realise that they must escape the school, so a small group of them set out for London in the hope of finding some kind of safety. Along the way they have to fight off attacks from numerous groups of ravaged adults who are looking for their next meal. I liked the relationship between Jack and Ed and the way in which they each have different strengths and weaknesses. They both have to adapt throughout the book and grow in character. They find themselves facing things which they never would have dreamt could happen.

It's also interesting seeing them trying to survive without adults making all the decisions for them. With the circumstances they're coping with, a wrong decision could have disastrous consequences.

Throughout the boys' journey, we learn more about the disease itself and what causes it. I was hoping that there would be perhaps a little more explanation as the reader is still left in the dark about a lot of things but I believe Higson has more books in the series planned so obviously only wants to reveal a bit at a time. It certainly helps to keep the suspense high!

Some scenes in the book were actually pretty shocking and this series is definitely not for the faint of heart. A couple of times I had to put the book down and come back to it later because I needed to have a chance to absorb what I'd just read. Characters die and children get hurt and not everyone survives. This isn't the type of book which has a nice neat happy ending. I really found myself rooting for them all and willing them to live and to fight. I grew quite attached to one or two which meant that I got quite tearful in a few scenes which were very touching and beautifully written.

I'm not usually a big fan of horror but I am enjoying this series so far and looking forward to future instalments. I'm intrigued how everything is going to be put right in the end - if it's put right!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars YA zombie sequel that's actually a YA zombie prequel, 11 Dec 2010
This review is from: The Dead (Hardcover)
Jack and Ed are best friends at a private school when England succumbs to a strange disease that turns anyone over the age of 14 into a homicidal cannibal only interested in eating human children. Together with a handful of other survivors, they join forces with a rag tag group led by a grown-up called Greg, who claims to be immune to the disease. As they head to the capital, the group must work together if they're to survive but the closer they get, the more the odds are stacked against them ...

This sequel to Higson's excellent THE ENEMY is actually set over a year earlier than the events in that book and follows what happens right after the mysterious disease has taken hold of the adults. For fans of the first book who want to know what's happened to the Holloway crew, this is a disappointment because they don't feature at all in this story - indeed, the only characters from that book to appear in this are George and The Kid, who turn up right at the end.

That is the only criticism of the book because Higson's created another fantastically dark and exciting book with plenty of death and violence and a sense of not knowing who is going to survive. Jack and Ed's friendship is particularly well drawn. Although the two seem to have little in common (Ed is good looking, popular and confident while Jack has a facial birth mark and has always been more quiet) they are close and as each tries to come to terms with what is happening, their roles are reversed.

As with THE ENEMY there is a wide cast of characters here - too many to deal with in a review. Mention should be made of Greg though, a butcher seeking refuge with his son, Liam, whose behaviour becomes more and more sinister. Matt is also interesting - a young boy whose near death experience leads him to develop a new religion, which catches on with some of the other scared kids. All of this builds into the wider story arc and sets up some brilliant plot strands for the next book.

Although the violence and death may make this unsuitable for younger readers, it is still a fantastic read and ends with a great set up for the next book, which I will definitely be reading on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Dead
The Dead by Charlie Higson (Paperback - 7 Oct 2010)
Used & New from: 4.79
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews