Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


31 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Action-packed football story
This book is one of the best books I've read so far. It is all about a boy called Jake who finds himself qualifying for United's Academy. But he is a City fan, United's rivals. You will probably like this book if you are 7-12 and into football.
Published on 24 Jun 2009

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars seems ok
No complaints from my grandson so I'm assuming he liked it, he hasnt said anything, just a nod when I asked if he liked the book
Published 13 months ago by Chris J


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

31 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Action-packed football story, 24 Jun 2009
A Kid's Review
This review is from: Football Academy: Boys United (Paperback)
This book is one of the best books I've read so far. It is all about a boy called Jake who finds himself qualifying for United's Academy. But he is a City fan, United's rivals. You will probably like this book if you are 7-12 and into football.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect pitch, 18 Oct 2009
By 
This review is from: Football Academy: Boys United (Paperback)
The Football Academy series is perfect for football mad boys and girls. Short chapters, bold print and large illustrations make it an ideal read for 7 year olds and above. The boys on the team have all got a story to tell, kicking off with Jake Oldfield. Jake is likeable and many boys will relate to him. They'll like the ratings given to every player at the end of the match, too. The series is very inclusive with the squad including a British Asian boy called Yunis and a Polish boy called Tomasz. An ideal stocking filler.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars First of a great series, 1 Sep 2009
A Kid's Review
This review is from: Football Academy: Boys United (Paperback)
This is the first book about a Premier League academy in England. It is really realsitic. I love the bit when Jake gets a place on the team and when he makes friends with Yunis.

I have read three of the series. This is my favorite, but the other two are good too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent story for football mad boys, 6 July 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Football Academy: Boys United (Paperback)
My six year old loved this story. We alternated reading pages together (I read one page, he the next), but he was so keen to find out how it ended that he finished the book on his own by waking up early one morning. He's asked if we can buy him others in the series - a strong accolade! The story had a good pace, good messages about the importance of father / son relationships and being nice to other people, and lots of football action!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 10 year old son finally enjoying reading, 8 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Football Academy: Boys United (Paperback)
My son has never liked reading despite buying him Beast Quest and Wimpy Kid. He is passionate about football so I should have looked for these books before but he has now asked to go to bed 15 minutes early each night so he can read this book. I have now ordered the rest of the series and am thrilled he is enjoying books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 13 Feb 2013
This review is from: Football Academy: Boys United (Paperback)
Bought this book for my 9 year old son who is crazy about football. I couldn't get him to put it down .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great for reluctant reader, 14 Oct 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Football Academy: Boys United (Paperback)
my 7 year old son is not really into reading but is football mad. We bought this to encourage his reading and as he could relate to the story can keep his attention reading with him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Xmas present, 10 Dec 2012
By 
G. Dalton "Iron Man" (U.K) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Football Academy: Boys United (Paperback)
Perfect stocking filler for any 7-10 year old boy or football mad girl. I would say unless child is not a great reader 12 years would be pushing it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars book review, 25 April 2011
This review is from: Football Academy: Boys United (Paperback)
bought this for my football mad son who hates to sit down to read anything and was struggling with his reading skills. This was just the ticket although its based around football it has a twist football mad boy come super sleuth .My sons reading came on leaps abounds reading these books as it kept him interested as it was something he could relate to .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Football story book, 17 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Football Academy: Boys United (Paperback)
My 7 year old and 10 year old are enjoying this already and don't want me to stop reading it at bedtime.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Football Academy: Boys United
Football Academy: Boys United by Tom Palmer (Paperback - 2 April 2009)
4.79
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews