Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent version with a glossary of terms
Having been put off Dickens by English Literature classes I was finally tempted to read this story and was very glad that I chose this copy.
If you've only ever seen the more popular film adaptations of this story then you'll be surprised at some of this story, as it has been altered a bit in the re-telling. This book has the original text and thankfully a glossary...
Published on 10 May 2010 by Mr BD

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A Christmas Carol
When purcahasing this item I thought there would be more and better illustrations. If you just want the storey the book is fine.
Published 23 months ago by Robert Bruce Caswell


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent version with a glossary of terms, 10 May 2010
By 
Mr BD - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Christmas Carol (Puffin Classics) (Paperback)
Having been put off Dickens by English Literature classes I was finally tempted to read this story and was very glad that I chose this copy.
If you've only ever seen the more popular film adaptations of this story then you'll be surprised at some of this story, as it has been altered a bit in the re-telling. This book has the original text and thankfully a glossary at the back explain some of the expressions used, as they have long since fallen out of use.
A slim book, but worth reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Charming and engaging in it's original, 13 Dec 2012
By 
This review is from: A Christmas Carol (Puffin Classics) (Paperback)
The story, about a tight fisted bitter and selfish miser in 19th century London, who despises all that brings joy and comfort, has a plethora of adaptations but is best in it's original.
Ebenezer Scrooge is visited on Christmas Eve by three ghosts who show him the evil of his ways and its consequences.
A Christmas Carol is one of Dickens's most famous narratives, and written in lively, intelligent, penetrating and witty prose, a prime example of Dickens's literary genius.

Certainly there is the very strong theme, for which Dickens works are well known, about social injustice and poverty, which we read in such works as Oliver Twist, David Copperfield, Bleak House and Hard Times.
It is also a ghost story for which Dickens also showed a flare, although his other ghost stories are less well known but equally enthralling.

Essentially the story revived the spirit and message of Christmas and contains a powerful social message about those members of the wealthier classes who shun responsibility for the less fortunate people in their country.

Such pearls as the following light up this story:
"Men's courses will foreshadow certain ends, which if persevered in, must lead, but if the courses be departed from, the ends will change".
Charming and engaging in it's original.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars For School, 28 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Christmas Carol (Puffin Classics) (Paperback)
For my son's GCSE exam. Ideal price and size for making suitable notes. Would highly recommend for other in the same position.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Christmas Carol: Charles Dickens - Perfect. If there is higher praise tell me and I will use it., 25 Oct 2012
By 
Victor (Hull, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: A Christmas Carol (Puffin Classics) (Paperback)
I have never been a huge fan of Charles Dickens, I have always found his prose to be too overwhelming (not a man to use one adjective where five will suffice) and his tales a little too moralising and preachy. With one exception I have never really enjoyed any of his books that I have read (though I admit that I have only read about three of his works). And that one exception is the hardy perennial, A Christmas Carol.

It's an almost perfect book. Here Dickens' wordy style is put to good use in evoking the various atmospheres. The central character, a man whose name has become synonymous with greed and miserliness, Ebenezer Scrooge is well drawn as a cold and grasping wraith of a man without the merest hint of human kindness even at Christmas. Over the course of one night he is visited by various apparitions who show him Christmases past, present and yet to come to teach him the error of his ways, leading to the joyful ending in which the old sinner repents and starts on a new path. Dickens was on top form when he wrote this, sending a chill down the spine with his descriptions of the dark, cold atmosphere Scrooge envelops himself in, painting a vivid picture of the ghost of Jacob Marley, Scrooge's dead partner in business and first spectral visitor, building up the tension to the appearance of the first spirit of Christmas, showing the sadness in Scrooge's life, describing scenes of joy that almost make you laugh with pleasure. His characters are rich, from the tragic figure of Tiny Tim to the exuberant and larger than life Fezziwig. The story is all about the exploration of a character, and the development of that character, and is superbly well done. Even though it is a moral lesson, it does not feel preachy or overwhelming. In short, it as an excellent book, a real tour de force. I love it. I cannot award this superb book anything less than 5 stars. And Merry Christmas one and all!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Even The Blind Mans Dog Avoided Scrooge., 5 Jun 2010
By 
Armchair Pundit "Armchair Pundit." (Durham City, England.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: A Christmas Carol (Puffin Classics) (Paperback)
This is the most heartwarming story EVER written about Yuletide, the story is truly magical.
It captures the very essence of what Christmas is all about.
I like to start reading it every December, just to get into that "Christmassy" mood,
it's a lot more effective then "Bottled" Christmas spirits.
But let us not forget as the author is at pains to point out;
Marley was dead,.... to begin with.
~~~~
"I am the Ghost of Christmas Past."
"Long Past?" inquired Scrooge: observant of its dwarsfish stature.
"No. Your past."
One of many simple but great lines that take up residence in your head after reading.

"God bless us everyone".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Christmas Spirit, 5 May 2010
This review is from: A Christmas Carol (Puffin Classics) (Paperback)
I wanted to read something appropriate to the season and havingrecently read 'A tale of two cities' and found Charles Dickens writing so enjoyable I decided this was the perfect Christmas reading and I was not dissapointed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, 8 July 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Christmas Carol (Puffin Classics) (Paperback)
A classic and great reading for the christmas season.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 7 May 2014
By 
R. Armstrong (West Midlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Christmas Carol (Puffin Classics) (Paperback)
Filling all of these words in puts you off writing a review doesn't it? What can I say the book was good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars YOU WILL BE HAUNTED BY THREE SPIRITS!, 24 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is my favorite Christmas story. I'm so happy that I now found the one I wanted to own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent edition, 26 Dec 2013
By 
SAO (Frankfurt) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I think that the review by F E Hamilton was attached to the wrong annotated Christmas Carol. This has annotations throughout; the original illustrations plus many others; and a suitable cover (,as is clear from the picture on Amazon).

This is a well produced high quality edition with helpful annotations.

Beware that the Kindle and paperback 'Christmas Carol's linked with this book and not versions of the hardback described here. This may have led to the confusion referred to above.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Christmas Carol (Puffin Classics)
A Christmas Carol (Puffin Classics) by Charles Dickens (Paperback - 7 Aug 2008)
£4.19
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews