Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent!!!
even better than the first! I read this all after I got home from school last night and I am now desperately grasping for a copy of Envy (the next in the Luxe series)!
it is full of rumours, as the title suggests and the secrets are darker than ever.
a must read!
Published on 23 April 2009 by Isabel

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars continue to enjoy Diana and Henry and what's going on there
Well, everyone's in love with the one person they can't have and no one seems to be able to communicate their woe to anyone who could help. Must be Tuesday in Luxeland. Rumors is the second volume in the Luxe series and, as the deep red dress and haughty gaze of the cover model suggest, things are just getting worse and worse for our crew of Manhattan...
Published on 17 Sept. 2010 by Rebecca


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent!!!, 23 April 2009
This review is from: Rumours: A Luxe Novel (Paperback)
even better than the first! I read this all after I got home from school last night and I am now desperately grasping for a copy of Envy (the next in the Luxe series)!
it is full of rumours, as the title suggests and the secrets are darker than ever.
a must read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars continue to enjoy Diana and Henry and what's going on there, 17 Sept. 2010
This review is from: Rumours: A Luxe Novel (Paperback)
Well, everyone's in love with the one person they can't have and no one seems to be able to communicate their woe to anyone who could help. Must be Tuesday in Luxeland. Rumors is the second volume in the Luxe series and, as the deep red dress and haughty gaze of the cover model suggest, things are just getting worse and worse for our crew of Manhattan debutantes/bachelors/scheming underlings. I checked this copy out from the library and the girl at the checkout desk smiled knowingly and said, "I liked this one." I smiled and said, "I just finished The Luxe." Her grin got bigger. "I liked this one much better," she said. So. There you go. I was beginning to get the impression that lovers of The Luxe fell into two categories: even bigger lovers or big time haters of Rumors. I was interested to see which category I fell into (if any).

So everyone thinks Elizabeth Holland is dead. And pretty soon (oh, let's go ahead and say it) shockingly soon, everyone thinks Henry Schoonmaker should just say enough with the mourning and go ahead and marry Penelope Hayes since it is clear they were Meant To Be. What with the being rich and hot and whatnot. But then Elizabeth Holland is not actually dead, is she? And Henry is not actually in love with Penelope, is he? Meanwhile, Lina is masquerading about as a mining heiress from Utah (LOL), Penelope is advancing on Henry like a post-coital black widow, and the weight of the world rests squarely on Diana's little shoulders as she is the one who is now expected to make a most advantageous marriage to save the family name. Just not the advantageous marriage she'd like to make.

I liked this one. Liked it just as much as the first one, in fact. I continue to enjoy Diana and Henry and what's going on there. I continue to hate Penelope unreservedly and feel almost unbearably embarrassed for Lina around the clock. Although I do wonder about Tristan. As I was never a fan of the whole Elizabeth and Will thing, I was perfectly happy to have them off screen (for the most part). And I have to say, I really liked the ending. I mean it was exactly the awful thing you were expecting down to the last dewy glance. In slow motion. But then the last page was just so awesome and fierce in its way, that I'm really looking forward to reading Envy and consuming another volume of decadent treats on display.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow!!!, 5 April 2011
This review is from: Rumours: A Luxe Novel (Paperback)
Wow. I've just finished this book and I am just amazed.
It's extremely well written: lots of scandal and romance! In the last book I was a bit annoyed about the lack of focus on Diana and Henry but they are the main focus of this book :)
I actually can't think of any words to describe this.
Great book, I highly recommend it. Just look out for the unexpected ending! Can't wait to get my hands on Envy!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Onwards and upwards, 25 Mar. 2011
By 
Ms. Sj Phelps "sweetiepie1" (Reading, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rumours: A Luxe Novel (Paperback)
Thought this was better than the Luxe, really enjoyed it. The characters are a bit two dimensional at times but the story has enough twists and turns to make up for it. Hated the ending for Elizabeth's character but still looking forward to the next one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply Brilliant., 16 Aug. 2010
By 
This review is from: Rumours: A Luxe Novel (Paperback)
This is book 2 of the Luxe series by Anna Godbersen, and is just as good if not better than the first - The Luxe.

It is almost two months now since Elizabeth's death, or Elizabeth's faked death at least, and Mrs Holland - Elizabeth's mother, is now focused on Elizabeth's younger sister Diana, who although young at only 16, she is now looking to marry off to try to save the family from their increasing debt problems.

Diana, and Penelope - the girl who orchestrated Elizabeth's disappearance, are the only ones who know the truth about Elizabeth's 'death', but Diana alone is aware that her sister is now living with their old coachman Will in California. The boy that she fell in love with as a child.

Henry - Elizabeth's fiancé, is in mourning for Elizabeth, even though he did not really love her, and feels guilty that her death may not have been an accident, as he knows that she knew about the affair he was having with her younger sister Diana. Henry himself though is biding his time, until a reasonable amount has passed in which to appear proper, before he can marry Diana who he actually does love. His best friend Teddy feels that it is in poor taste to marry his dead fiancé's younger sister, and tries to convince Henry of this, while Penelope continues her scheming to be Henry's wife, getting his step-mother on side in her quest for his attention.

Diana, although happy that Elizabeth is not dead, can't help but feel a little put-out by the fact that her mother is now setting her up with countless eligible bachelors who she can't stand, when in fact she is also very much in love with Henry, and also waiting until an appropriate time for them to be together.

Unfortunately, Mrs Holland falls ill, and under Teddy's guidance, Henry tells Diana that he can't be with her, prompting Diana to send a telegram to Elizabeth explaining the awful situation she has found herself in, and the families continuing money problems.

Elizabeth is living with Will in California, under the ruse that they are a married couple, and Diana's telegram shocks her, prompting her to begin the long journey with Will back to New York so they might see her ill mother. They have good news though, Will believes he has found oil on the land that they are renting, and that the Holland's will soon see an end to their financial problems.

In a turn of events however, Penelope then reveals to Henry that Elizabeth in fact faked her own death, and is now off with her coachman somewhere, and Henry takes this as a sign that he should be with Diana. Waiting in her room for her one night, he professes his love for her, and they make love for the first time. Unfortunately however, they are caught together by the maid the next morning, and the news gets back to Penelope, who issues an ultimatum to Henry - marry her, or she will ruin Diana's reputation with the news that she and Henry are having an affair.

Several things are now on the line, who will Henry marry - will he choose Penelope and save Diana and her family from public humiliation, or will he go against what society thinks is proper and marry Diana anyway? What will Mrs Holland think of her eldest daughters deceit and her arrival - not dead, completely out of the blue?

There are a couple of other storylines running through this story, but the main question still revolves around who will eventually end up married to Henry - the scheming Penelope, the not-dead Elizabeth, or her younger sister Diana who Henry really does have feelings for.

This book continues in the same `gossip girl' style as the first, and lives up to the expectations of the first book very well. Towards the end it is totally un-put-down-able, as the race to the alter becomes more fierce, and Elizabeth returns from the dead. You really will be enthralled by Penelope's scheming, and poor Diana's struggles to both be with the one she loves, and save her family from the poverty they have found themselves in, not to mention how she explains away her dead sister's presence.

Read this book! And read the one before it too - The Luxe. Both highly recommended. 9/10.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars AMAZING!, 19 Feb. 2009
By 
M. Habisreutinger "stripytiger9" (Oxford, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rumours: A Luxe Novel (Paperback)
How anyone could give this one star I cannot understand. If you read the first book you have to read the rest in the series anyway! Henry and Diana get really close in this one and the storyline is just as interesting as in the first book.

Would recommend, don't stop at number 1!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How luxurious!, 17 Mar. 2009
This review is from: Rumours: A Luxe Novel (Paperback)
What a great sequel. I mean, sometimes some sequels are just depressing because they don't pick up where YOU want them to. But this book does this and so much more. From the first moment you read the title page, be prepared to be drawn even further into the Luxe world.... And, better still, book three and four are on their way! Not that I want the series to ever end, of course, but I still can't wait to read Envy and Splendour. Seriously: ENJOY!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 20 Feb. 2009
By 
A. English "Alice" (Northumberland, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rumours: A Luxe Novel (Paperback)
After enjoying the first book, Rumours was rather a let-down. The barely interesting plot dragged heavily in places, but started to pick up pace near to the end, where everything happened at once.
The writer doesn't portray the characters in a way that the reader can form an emotional attachment to, and I found myself emotionless at the points where this book was supposed to be heart-wrenching.
Overall, this rather poor quality book is saved by the glitz and glamour of the New York Society. But for the glitz and glamour, I'd recommend the more exciting Gossip Girl. And for the love that is supposedly present in these books? I'd recommend the Twilight saga.Twilight (Twilight Saga)Gossip Girl (Gossip Girl Novel)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Gossip Girl - the period drama!!, 18 Jan. 2009
This review is from: Rumours: A Luxe Novel (Paperback)
As frothy and inconsequential as a cappucino and equally irresistible!! I read this in 1 day and couldn't put it down! If you want a serious literary depiction of 19th century New York read something by Edith Wharton. If you want a slice of pure escapism read this!

So it's never going to win a Pulitzer or a Booker, who cares? It's a fabulously enjoyable read!! And some teenagers actually have enough sense to read about bad behaviour, whether it be in Hello, OK or The Luxe series, without immediately copying it - it's called common sense and it's not exclusive to adults!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars rumours, 12 May 2009
This review is from: Rumours: A Luxe Novel (Paperback)
Fantastic book. brilliantly written. Lots of twists and turns. it's
not easy to guess whats going to happen next.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Rumours: A Luxe Novel
Rumours: A Luxe Novel by Anna Godbersen (Paperback - 1 Jan. 2009)
£5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews