Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A charming book written by one genius about another!
A lovely book that gives an insight into Roald's life and why/how he became to be such a fantastic storyteller. Michael Rosen is the perfect author for this, and his admiration is clear. My only reason not to give it 5 stars is because I would like the book to have had more pages!
Published on 29 Oct. 2012 by Miss Missy

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Childs Book
Had Amazon stated this was a child's book, I wouldn't have wasted my time and money buying it. Like Dahl, don't like the book.
Published 21 months ago by Mrs. B. Cheshire


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!, 4 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fantastic Mr Dahl (Paperback)
A great book that looks at how Roald Dahl's life impacted on his writing. Rosen uses an anecote to hook in the reader and throughout the book there are little fact pages to tell you lots of interesting details about Dahl!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good service, 7 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fantastic Mr Dahl (Paperback)
The book arrived as stated, and in the Xmas rush this was very acceptabe,
Good book, as always from the childrens author
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 3 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fantastic Mr Dahl (Paperback)
it is for my granddaughter and she loves roald and writing herself so hope it will help her with her writing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 26 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fantastic Mr Dahl (Paperback)
very happy with product and delivery.thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A perspective from an "adult kid" fan of Dahl, 20 Sept. 2013
By 
Yi-Peng (Singapore) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fantastic Mr Dahl (Paperback)
The children's books of Roald Dahl mean a whole lot to me even as an adult. So I keenly read and peruse any new Dahl-related book or publication. In this review I am imagining myself as a child who is reading this for the first time. I know I may have caveats but I'm not faulting the writer or his writing style.

This Michael Rosen biography is different from previous biographies of Dahl, for adults and for children. It does not focus on a straightforward cradle to grave narrative of his life, although there is a clear cradle-to-grave thread. Instead it arranges itself according to themes: Dahl as a boy, Dahl as a man and finally Dahl as a writer. The section on Dahl as a boy takes up half of the entire book, but at least Rosen uses it to show us how his writing style for children evolved through his letters. Rosen writes very well and engages the reader. He paints a convincing portrait of Dahl by analysing his writings, and shows us how he became a children's author in his later years. Admittedly this biography overlooks the other facets of Dahl when it focuses on his children's writing. In a way this is good because it offers a succinct account of what influenced his children's writing.

However, I notice some weaknesses in the presentation, and I don't blame Rosen at all. I wish that he had been parsimonious and more matter-of-fact in presenting some of his points. For instance, it would have been good if he had used less words when talking about the headmaster who caned Dahl and his friends for the Great Mouse Plot. It would have been good if he had just said that in those days it was the norm for teachers and headmasters to cane their naughty pupils and that Dahl in his writings made these beatings appear funny while telling his readers it was wrong. Also, I notice that he occasionally breaks through the "fourth wall" with anecdotes and asides to the reader. This can be helpful in explaining what life was like in those days and even explaining and describing sensations that would have been felt back then. I admit that these asides may be a bit disruptive and hold up the flow and pace of this book.

This is a pretty good portrait of Dahl for a junior biography. Though this may not be an ideal read, at least Rosen writes in a sparky, engaging way that Dahl would have approved of. There are some other junior biographies of Dahl that might suit youths between the ages of 10 and 12. For instance, the Horribly Famous book, Roald Dahl and his Chocolate Factory, presents an engaging and equally sparky cradle to grave narrative of Dahl, telling us what he was like as a person and as a family man. It also paces itself better by not dwelling for too long on points.

However, despite my caveats, this Rosen portrait of Dahl as a children's author is pretty good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 5 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fantastic Mr Dahl (Paperback)
Graet condition
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Fantastic Mr Dahl
Fantastic Mr Dahl by Michael Rosen (Paperback - 6 Sept. 2012)
£5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews