Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A charming book written by one genius about another!
A lovely book that gives an insight into Roald's life and why/how he became to be such a fantastic storyteller. Michael Rosen is the perfect author for this, and his admiration is clear. My only reason not to give it 5 stars is because I would like the book to have had more pages!
Published on 29 Oct. 2012 by Miss Missy

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Childs Book
Had Amazon stated this was a child's book, I wouldn't have wasted my time and money buying it. Like Dahl, don't like the book.
Published 21 months ago by Mrs. B. Cheshire


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A charming book written by one genius about another!, 29 Oct. 2012
This review is from: Fantastic Mr Dahl (Kindle Edition)
A lovely book that gives an insight into Roald's life and why/how he became to be such a fantastic storyteller. Michael Rosen is the perfect author for this, and his admiration is clear. My only reason not to give it 5 stars is because I would like the book to have had more pages!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant biography for readers of all ages, 4 Jan. 2013
This review is from: Fantastic Mr Dahl (Paperback)
I have discovered over the past year or so that biographies are rather popular reads for a number of our teens at school. Sportsmen and sports women, comedians, TV presenters - I have seen all of these in the hands of student or another. Personally I'm not a big reader of biographies as they hold little interest for me, but one of my closest friends loves them as, by his own admission, he is nosey. The students who I have seen reading these books have told me that they love finding out about the lives of celebrities. However, apart from a handful of fab totals from the wonderful Barrington Stoke, biographies are in very short supply for younger readers.

Fantastic Mr Dahl is a relatively short book about one of this country's most beloved authors (Roald Dahl) written by another one of our most beloved authors (Michael Rosen). Rosen states proudly that he is Roald Dahl's biggest fan, and he opens this book with a short anecdote about how he first met the great man. What follows is a delightful peek at the life of arguably one of this country's most famous and most loved writers, starting with his life as a boy, and continuing through his work during the war and then on to his work as a writer.

This is only a brief introduction to the life of Roald Dahl, but Rosen does not waste a single word. He has very cleverly dissected the work of Dahl and focused on key moments or aspects of his life that hint at how he came to be the writer whose work we know so well: Dahl's love of word play and making up new words; his Norwegian background; his love of chocolate. Can you spot where he may have used these in his stories? Michael Rosen also gives young readers a glimpse into how Roald Dahl came up with his ideas, and the ensuing writing process, and in doing so he points out some of the elements that made Dahl's stories so appealing and so timeless.

This is a great book to be read to/by any fan of Dahl's work, and especially to any child who shows even the slightest interest in writing their own stories. Reprints of some of the letters, complete with spelling and grammatical errors, that Dahl wrote as a boy and young man will show children that the man was far from a master of the English language, and could give them confidence to further explore their own ideas in writing.

My only criticism of this book? It finished too soon!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Fantastic Mr Dahl, 9 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fantastic Mr Dahl (Paperback)
My daughter is currently reading this book. She has already told me that she is enjoying it. She reads some of it every night before she goes to sleep. So, so far she recommends it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Engaging for children - or adults!, 15 Sept. 2013
This review is from: Fantastic Mr Dahl (Paperback)
I'm a big fan of Roald Dahl AND Michael Rosen so I couldn't resist buying this book for myself as well as my son! It is written in such a simple, engaging and lively way - both about Roald Dahl, the man, and the writing process. Michael Rosen really "speaks" to the reader and draws you in. It contains all sorts of delightful snippets and stories of mischief from Dahl's childhood, including actual letters he wrote to his mother when he was at boarding school. The only reason I've given it four stars and not five is that it "runs out of steam" and loses its liveliness a little towards the end of the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great little book., 23 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fantastic Mr Dahl (Paperback)
A little repetitive for those who know the story's Boy and Going Solo well, but brilliant for kids.

Readily available and accessible information on one of the greatest children's writers of all time written for children by another great children's author. A brilliant way to introduce the theme of biography to a junior school aged child (7-11) or a child who wants to grow up to be a writer.

Defiantly a book I will encourage my own boys to read. And a reminder that I haven't yet read Danny the cham...more
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Childs Book, 23 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fantastic Mr Dahl (Paperback)
Had Amazon stated this was a child's book, I wouldn't have wasted my time and money buying it. Like Dahl, don't like the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars LAB (like a boss), 2 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fantastic Mr Dahl (Kindle Edition)
This book is amazing. I had to read this for homework and this actually made homework fun! Really good book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Mr book, 7 Feb. 2013
This review is from: Fantastic Mr Dahl (Kindle Edition)
Great inspiring book for young writers and this book gives talented children courage and explains the phrase making a mistake is a way of learning. Great book for youngsters

Xxx enjoy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Helpful book, 15 Mar. 2013
By 
Mrs. Nj Uijen - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fantastic Mr Dahl (Paperback)
I bought this for my eight year old daughter who is learning about Roald Dahl at school. It put the information accross in an animated fashion and was therefore helpful. However it was a bit long and became a chore reading it for my daughter with some sections where she completely lost interest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Well written, 13 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fantastic Mr Dahl (Paperback)
I bought this book to encourage my daughter with her story writing. We have both really enjoyed it. It is well written and explains carefully but not in a condescending manner the way in which Roald Dahl captures the imagination of his audience by his choice of language and characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Fantastic Mr Dahl
Fantastic Mr Dahl by Michael Rosen (Paperback - 6 Sept. 2012)
£5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews