Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lucky Star is a brilliant book to read.
Lucky Star is a brilliant book to read. It feels like your getting pulled into the story and you never want to stop reading it. Lucky star is about a boy of 14 called Mouse. (That also appeared in Dizzy Cathy Cassidys 1st book but is not a sequel)
Mouse has been a trouble maker since he was 7. He has done the most naughtist things ever. Now he has graffited a whole...
Published on 7 Oct 2007 by Z-Red

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good Book, A Little Dramatic...
My daughters review of the book:

Lucky Star is a very hard hitting drama filled novel by Cathy Cassidy. It's from the perspective of 14 year old, Mouse, who lives on a dodgy estate and is living a life of drug-filled dramas. His dad left when he was younger and his mother is an ex addict, so Mouse finds himself feeling a little lost every now and then. He often...
Published 5 months ago by Lisa


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lucky Star is a brilliant book to read., 7 Oct 2007
By 
Z-Red (Scotland, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Lucky Star (Hardcover)
Lucky Star is a brilliant book to read. It feels like your getting pulled into the story and you never want to stop reading it. Lucky star is about a boy of 14 called Mouse. (That also appeared in Dizzy Cathy Cassidys 1st book but is not a sequel)
Mouse has been a trouble maker since he was 7. He has done the most naughtist things ever. Now he has graffited a whole wall in his school. He doesn't want to get into anymore trouble. Mouse then meets a girl called Cat and they quickley become friends. The only problem is Cat wants to get into trouble but of course Mouse doesn't.

Cathy Cassidy is a great author and her book is a fab read.
If you love Jacqueline Wilson then you'll really love Cathy Cassidy.

By Zoe
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brill book, 1 Mar 2008
This review is from: Lucky Star (Paperback)
Cathy Cassidy is an amazing author who has written a few award winning books. she was born in Coventry and she came to my school (in Coventry) where she signed some books and she signed one for me as well as saying she really liked my name and might use it in one of her new books but who knows. Anyway, back to the book: This book is a follow up, not a sequel, for her first book called Dizzy. It has Mouse, a fourteen-year-old boy whose really name is Martin and he lives with his mum in a very bad area called Eden Estate which is packed with drug dealers and bad guys. It covers lots of modern day problems: drug dealing, lies, and cruelty to poor, helpless animals. :-(
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good Book, A Little Dramatic..., 18 July 2014
This review is from: Lucky Star (Paperback)
My daughters review of the book:

Lucky Star is a very hard hitting drama filled novel by Cathy Cassidy. It's from the perspective of 14 year old, Mouse, who lives on a dodgy estate and is living a life of drug-filled dramas. His dad left when he was younger and his mother is an ex addict, so Mouse finds himself feeling a little lost every now and then. He often relies on his graffiti work and his vandalism to make him feel better or to get his point across. So when he finds himself trying to get on the straight and narrow, unfortunately he finds a girl named Cat, awaiting to mess it all up. Cat is perfect, beautiful and a little odd, yet she's daring and is willing to try out the outer life and 'slumming it'. However, when Mouse discovers Cat's secret after sharing his dreadful heartache from the past, Mouse is upset and feels tortured by the whole thing. On top of all of that, his mothers hopes and dreams have been burnt down (literally!), his flat broken into and he has made an enemy with a raging drug dealer. Great...

This book is amazing, yet very hard hitting. The topic of drugs is a heavy subject in the novel and every chapter has at least a reference to dealers, drugs or even addiction. It's truthful, but it's not too graphic so a young reader can still pleasantly enjoy this book. However, I'd be aware of the reference to drugs and the truth behind some estates as it can be upsetting for others. If you like truth and real dramas, then this is the kinda book you'd love.

I'm not the target audience (I'm 16) yet I found this book compelling and amazingly captivating. I was often turning the pages because I couldn't stop the drama. Sometimes, it's so full of drama I found myself re-reading a few bits just because I felt like I had missed something. But once the truth is out there, it's an amazing and heartbreaking book.

Cathy has produced strong characters with a strong storyline. Everything is perfect and puts a good view on change and first loves etc. However, I was skeptical about it being from a teenage boys point of view because most female authors struggle with that, especially when it comes to love, but Cathy has handled it amazingly and has found a way to make it still seem hard hitting and real without it getting too slushy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ebook, 13 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lucky Star (Kindle Edition)
my little girl loves to read cathy Cassidy and its perfect for her age group(11). she enjoyed reading this book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FAB AND AMAZING, 30 Dec 2013
This review is from: Lucky Star (Kindle Edition)
this is a lovely book I loved it anyone who is staring at their kindle screen right now hesitating buy it has to buy it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really Great book, HIGHLY RECCOMENDED, 21 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lucky Star (Kindle Edition)
I would recommend this book to any 11-15 year old girl (or boy, i suppose) as a truly fab read. I absolutley love how the charcters and plots from Dizzy weave in and out of Lucky Star and really connects it. Without that background I don't think this story would have worked but it really has, and I can't stress how awesome it is!

If you want a full and detailed understanding of this story, then I suggest you read Dizzy first, just so you know the charcters and their past. Overall, a great book by a totally talented author! xxxxxxxxxxxxxx
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Biggest cathy cassidy fan ever, 14 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lucky Star (Kindle Edition)
There's only one word you can you

MAGNIFICENT
!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
I love cathy cassidy books there BRILLANT
And this is by far one of my favourite in the
Sunday series also recommended
Indigo blue and angle cake

If u liked this series u should try chocolate box girls xxx
Ella
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy This Book!, 14 Feb 2011
This review is from: Lucky Star (Kindle Edition)
Amazing book. It was my first Cathy Cassidy book and inspired me to read all of her other books. Her best I think. It takes you to a different world yet it is so realistic and possible that it makes you believe it is happening somewhere as you read about it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lucky Star, 6 Nov 2011
This review is from: Lucky Star (Paperback)
Luck Star is a very good book i would recomend it to young girls between 9 - 13. This book would be great as a birthday present as it is a very easy read, thankyou.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lucky Star By Cathy Cassidy= The best and the worst!, 6 Dec 2010
A Kid's Review
This review is from: Lucky Star (Paperback)
I am currently reading this book (Lucky star) And the story is so powerful that it makes you believe that every one has their own very lucky star, which they could do. There are lots of ways the story could end as on page 231 and haven't been able to put it down.
I would recommend this book for girls aged 9-15 as there are some things that are either sad or take a long time to figure out. But eventually the story becomes very clear.
Mouse is a boy that lives in Eden Estate, a place where there are rough people and things are in a bad state. But everything changes when Mouse meets a girl called Cat all thanks to a dog called Lucky. A cute pirate dog that has a very scary owner. But when Mouse finds out that his social worker Dave is Cat's Dad it all goes wrong. Mouse seems to try to stay out of trouble as he is a 14 year old boy.
But Cat lands herself in trouble and her age i can't give away as it will ruin the story.....
I can't wait to read the rest of this book and i would recommend this book for any mums that are stuck for ideas for their teens.

By Lily.S
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Lucky Star
Lucky Star by Cathy Cassidy (Paperback - 7 Feb 2008)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews