Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This Book is Beautiful!
Read this book and you will be brought into a warm and loving family who faced such horrible odds, and yet managed to stick together and love one another dearly. This is a beautifully written story of one brother's promise to his loving sister. The story is told though his sister's eyes. Such terrible times when this took place and yet something as beautiful as this could...
Published on 25 April 2006 by Bill K

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Holocaust history for young teenagers
This story is interesting but it's written in a rather stereotyping style in language that suggests the target audience is young-ish teenagers. I think the co-author must have written quite a lot of it. The story didn't seem very personal.

I found it less good than I expected. I was hoping for some insights into the history of the Middle East, but I was...
Published on 1 April 2011 by bluejohn


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This Book is Beautiful!, 25 April 2006
This review is from: The Promise: The Moving Story of a Family in the Holocaust (Paperback)
Read this book and you will be brought into a warm and loving family who faced such horrible odds, and yet managed to stick together and love one another dearly. This is a beautifully written story of one brother's promise to his loving sister. The story is told though his sister's eyes. Such terrible times when this took place and yet something as beautiful as this could come from it. A blooming rose in the death of winter. I am so glad Eva told this story through Barbara's writing. Together they share "The Promise" in what can only be characterized as true family love. This is a must read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Endearing story of a Jewish family during the Holocaust for young readers, 21 May 2008
By 
This review is from: The Promise: The Moving Story of a Family in the Holocaust (Paperback)
This is an endearing account by Eva Schloss about her idyllic childhood in Vienna in a tolerant and peaceful pre-Nazi Austria, with her parents and brother Heinz, before the family was forced, as Jews, by the invading Nazis in 1938 (When Eva was 9, to flee to Belgium and then the Netherlands.
It then tells of the family's hiding and arrest by the Nazis, before describing Eva's survival in the death camps.
Her brother Heinz and father did not survive.
The author tells the story with love and hope throughout. Eva was guided by the memorable words of her father:
"Children, I promise you this; everything you do leaves something behind; nothing gets lost. All the good you do have accomplished will continue in the lives of the people you have touched. I twill make a difference to someone, somewhere, sometime, and your achievements will be carried on.
Everything is connected, like a chain that cannot be broken".
After the war, Eva's mother married Anne Frank's father Otto, making Eva Anne Frank's posthumous step sister.
Anne Frank had been Eva's friend in the Netherlands before the war.
For younger readers aged 10 and up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sad and inspiring, 4 July 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Promise: The Moving Story of a Family in the Holocaust (Paperback)
A simplified version of "Eva's Story: A Survivor's Tale by the Step-Sister of Anne Frank" about the horrors of the holocaust. A remarkable testimony, recounted in a gentle way, free of any vengeance feelings. I would suggest this book for readers age 12+
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A sad read, 2 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Promise: The Moving Story of a Family in the Holocaust (Paperback)
A beautiful book so sad it's based on a true story, makes you realise what unimaginable horrors people endured and appreciate all most of us so easily take for granted
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Read in one day, 1 July 2013
By 
Sheila Camp "Sheila" (Durham) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Promise: The Moving Story of a Family in the Holocaust (Paperback)
This is lovely story about Eva, her parents and brother Heinz, before they were forced to flee, as Jews and how they ended up in hiding and being arrested by the Nazis.

It tells of how she survived in the camps. Unfortunately her brother and father didn't.

Her mother married Anne Frank's father.

Although this is a subject not everyone finds easy to read about, this book was a lovely read showing an insight into determination in spite of the horrors surrounding it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Family in holocaust, 22 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Promise: The Moving Story of a Family in the Holocaust (Paperback)
Unfortunately I haven't had a chance to read it yet but I am fairly sure I will enjoy it very much
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The PROMISE, 30 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
a really moving account of the suffering , trials, and sheer terror endured by Parents and children
during the Holocaust. This book is essential reading for anyone interested in the fate of the unfortunate
Jews during this dreadful period in history.They displayed a bravery and dignity beyond description
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Incite, 1 May 2010
By 
D. Newberry (Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Promise: The Moving Story of a Family in the Holocaust (Paperback)
This with other similare books shows the life and times of the Jewish community during the last World War and also how inter connected are the familys that were placed in such a degrading and humiliating situation when all their crime was being Jewish. That a family born in Austria could over the years become intergrate with that of another family born in Holland and that both families suffered so much loss but still manage to become spokepersons for their countries and causes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 18 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very good book however having read all three of hers was a little bit repetative.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Holocaust history for young teenagers, 1 April 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Promise: The Moving Story of a Family in the Holocaust (Paperback)
This story is interesting but it's written in a rather stereotyping style in language that suggests the target audience is young-ish teenagers. I think the co-author must have written quite a lot of it. The story didn't seem very personal.

I found it less good than I expected. I was hoping for some insights into the history of the Middle East, but I was disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Promise: The Moving Story of a Family in the Holocaust
The Promise: The Moving Story of a Family in the Holocaust by Barbara Powers (Paperback - 6 April 2006)
5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews