Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Don't get too excited
Okay, before you get too excited, this is only a sixty - page book written for 1 sale on world book day. Other than that, I really liked it. It's set between the first and second Artemis Fowl books, and focuses quite largely on Mulch Diggums (as the name of the book might suggest). All the other major characters like Holly Short and Artemis himself also play large parts...
Published on 6 Mar 2004

versus
24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A nice addition to the series
I own the rest of the AF series and have read them all numerous times, so I was very excited to see another one, even one as short as this.
It was a quick and simple read, which was what I was expecting. It was nice to see something more from the characters I love. In particular I liked the scenes between Artemis and his mother, Angeline, which you don't see in the...
Published on 6 Mar 2004 by sophie_graystone


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Don't get too excited, 6 Mar 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Artemis Fowl:The Seventh Dwarf (Paperback)
Okay, before you get too excited, this is only a sixty - page book written for 1 sale on world book day. Other than that, I really liked it. It's set between the first and second Artemis Fowl books, and focuses quite largely on Mulch Diggums (as the name of the book might suggest). All the other major characters like Holly Short and Artemis himself also play large parts in this book.
Overall, I was a little dissapointed with the size, but it was still written with all the great features that made the other books so popular.
I think that Mr. Colfer has something much bigger planned!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A nice addition to the series, 6 Mar 2004
This review is from: Artemis Fowl:The Seventh Dwarf (Paperback)
I own the rest of the AF series and have read them all numerous times, so I was very excited to see another one, even one as short as this.
It was a quick and simple read, which was what I was expecting. It was nice to see something more from the characters I love. In particular I liked the scenes between Artemis and his mother, Angeline, which you don't see in the other books. It humanises Artemis and the reader can relate to him but, at the same time, he remains the cold-hearted genius that the reader knows.
It wasn't up to the rest of the series in terms of plot and humour, but considering the fact that it's about a tenth of the size, I wouldn't expect that. It also fits neatly into the already established books, taking place between the first and the second.
I would recommend this book, although I prefer the rest of the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


44 of 48 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as previous titles in the series..., 6 Mar 2004
This review is from: Artemis Fowl:The Seventh Dwarf (Paperback)
I would give 5 stars to the previous 3 books in the Fowl series, but I'm not so sure about this latest installment. "The Seventh Dwarf" is only about 60 pages long, so it isn't a very long read, which perhaps is its biggest let down for Fowl fans. If you're looking for a fully fledged Fowl adventure, you can find it in miniature here. This chapter is set in the time between Artemis Fowl and Artemis Fowl: The Artic Incident, so Artemis' father is still missing. Artemis is after a famous diamond and tries to steal it with the help of Mulch Diggums but Holly Short the fairy is once again desperate to foil his criminal plans...It's a nice read and wasn't expensive. A great read for Fowl fans and a good introduction to the series for those new to him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


127 of 140 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Short & Sweet ... a little gem!, 9 Mar 2004
By 
Chrestomanci (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Artemis Fowl:The Seventh Dwarf (Paperback)
This short book works well in two ways.
Firstly, for fans of Artemis Fowl, this is a neatly written little episode that fits in between the first and second AF books.
Secondly, this is an ideal introduction to the series. If you’ve never read the Artemis Fowl books and wonder if they’re for you, then this little story is a great way to discover them; especially as it is a complete story, not just a couple of sample chapters, which this kind of mini book often is.
The story has all the Eoin Colfer trademarks: Fairies and high-tech gadgetry – encapsulated in a witty and briskly written tale. Not to be missed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


45 of 52 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars RECOMMENDED!, 7 Mar 2004
This review is from: Artemis Fowl:The Seventh Dwarf (Paperback)
This being the fourth published Artemis Fowl book, is extremely short, but a good buy. I highly recommend this book to any Artemis Fowl fan. It is set between the 1st and 2nd book, and the main character (apart from Artemis himself), is Mulch Diggums the outlandish dwarf. Mulch and Artemis team up, their aim is to get their hands on the priceless Fei Fei tiara gem...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fairly good, 2 Jun 2014
This review is from: Artemis Fowl:The Seventh Dwarf (Paperback)
I first read this story when I was about thirteen, this story happens to be part of the Artemis Fowl Files book which included another story. It's highly recommend you get the Artemis Fowl Files instead of buying this book as this book only has about 60 pages.

The story itself was pretty good.
It took me a while before I realised that this story takes place between the first book and the second.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars dissappointed, 13 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Artemis Fowl:The Seventh Dwarf (Paperback)
I did expect rather more of an actual book rather than just a thin booklet when I ordered this product
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 8 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Artemis Fowl:The Seventh Dwarf (Paperback)
We are Artemis fans in this house and this book did not disappoint. My two boys have both read it, after me of course, and it's now being kept for their younger sister to reach the appropriate reading level.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 3 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Artemis Fowl:The Seventh Dwarf (Paperback)
Great short story as part of the Artimis series. Could be good to get someone started on reading a longer book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's short for a reason, 9 Sep 2007
By 
R.M. (England, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Artemis Fowl:The Seventh Dwarf (Paperback)
This book is shorter than the rest for a reason. This book was writen for World Book Day 2004. It cost British school children 1 with profits to charity, I think. It is meant to be a short story to encourage children to read. It would have been writen for free and all World Book Day's books are about this length.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Artemis Fowl:The Seventh Dwarf
Artemis Fowl:The Seventh Dwarf by Eoin Colfer (Paperback - 4 Mar 2004)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews