Shop now Shop now Shop now Wedding Guest Edit Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars51
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£7.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 October 2005
As an unwanted child, Fourteen-year old Cosmo Hill is determined to be free from the forbidding Clarissa Frayne Institute for Parentally Challenged Boys. The orphans are treated like lab rats and the average life expectancy at the institute is just fifteen years. Cosmo knows he must escape. But in the dark streets of Satellite City, in a time not too far from now, greater dangers await him in the outside world...
A ghost-like blue creature lands on Cosmo's chest and starts to feed on his life force. In the nick of time a curious gang of kids turn up and rescue him. They are the Supernaturalists: dedicated to ridding the world of these life-sucking blue parasites. The gang adopt Cosmo and in this unlikely new 'family' he must learn fast; on each death-defying mission, using Bond-type technology, to help the Supernaturalists destroy the creatures. The missions lead Cosmo into a world of high-level corruption where the gang must avoid the authorities, especially the Lawyers and Paralegals, who act like present-day Police. Paralegals are a 'three-way cross between lawyers, paratroopers and pit bulls'. The adults of the Supercity, however, should not underestimate the Supernaturalists, as they prove themselves a force to be reckoned with and certainly not a bunch of 'naturists running around with no clothes on'.
This is fantastic, non-stop action for the older reader. Colfer's use of technology - from texting to nitrous injection drag racing - enriches his futuristic tale. The soulless Satellite City, full of gangs and garbage, may paint a somewhat bleak future but this is mainly a story about extreme heroism and friendship. It is an excellent adventure from the bestselling author of the 'Artemis Fowl' series.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 June 2004
To create one memorable fictional kid is a talent, to create a second is mastery. The world of Cosmo Hill may be far removed from that of Artemis Fowl but the air tastes the same, the action is break kneck and the underlying themes of crazy adolescence, noisy shoot outs and nothing being quite what it seems should keep Colfer fans panting for more. The supporting characters throb with life and Colfer handles everything from deception and the importance of family to first love and the transcendental nature of death with consumate skill. I've loved everything he has written and press his books on my children and friends as a must read. I treasure his imagination as unique and irreplaceable.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2005
There are some books that are just a notch higher than others when it comes to length, storyline and inventiveness. The supernaturalist is one such book; the length, 304 pages, is short enough for children to read but long enough for teenagers if they want a quick, funny read. The storyline is inventive and very quirky, filled with twists and turns. The inventiveness is good and funny with the pigmobile, the cellophane wraps, the lightning rods, the street names (Abracadabra street) and, of course, the blue parasites.
Many people ask; Is this better than Artemis Fowl?
the answer is a resounding 'yes'. The supernaturalist is written in a much more mature way, and would appeal to not only children, but some teenagers also while the 'Artemis Fowl' series is written much less maturely, and usually appeals to the age group of 9-12.
The characters are NOT shallow and uninteresting as opposed to many other reviewers. Ditto is very interesting and quite funny. Cosmo Hill (the hero) is rather ordinary comparing to the likes of Ditto, Stefan, Mona and Faustino but when you think about it, they all had different backgrounds where they did many interesting things when they were young while Cosmo, the unlucky no-sponsor, has lived in the clarissa frayne institute (an orphanage) for 14 years.
If you like books set in a futuristic city in space with gangs, tanks, people (duh!), blue parasites that suck energy out of people, then this is the next book you should buy!
Recommended!
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 November 2004
From the award winning author of Artemis Fowl comes a magnicifent escapade of the future set in a not too distant future a band of children are fighting a secret blue alien race that sucks life force out of innocent humans....
A great insight to "The Big Pig" and the descriptions are incredible, Colfer uses his writing style to capture the minds of the readers and take them to a world where everything is beliveable
With wonderful characters and an amazing twisting plot all Artemis Fowl fans will whoop with joy when reading it
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 July 2005
I've just finished "The Supernaturalist" and I have to say I enjoyed every minute of it. It was neither too long nor too short. One of the best books I've read in a while.
Eoin Colfer has created admirable characters with unique identities and I ended up (in my mind of course) giving voices to each character. The plot is very thorough and original and the feeling of excitement or anticipation never left me. For such a futuristic story, any non-science-fiction person will find it easy to cope with and the equipment and setting is well described with flair and simplicity.
I hope he does more of these single story novels or, if not, a sequel to this. Come on Eoin, my lad! Write, write, write!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 April 2005
There are some books that are just a notch higher than others when it comes to length, storyline and inventiveness. The supernaturalist is one such book; the length, 304 pages, is short enough for children to read but long enough for teenagers if they want a quick, funny read. The storyline is inventive and very quirky, filled with twists and turns. The inventiveness is good and funny with the pigmobile, the cellophane wraps, the lightning rods, the street names (Abracadabra street) and, of course, the blue parasites.
Many people ask; Is this better than Artemis Fowl?
the answer is a resounding 'yes'. The supernaturalist is written in a much more mature way, and would appeal to not only children, but some teenagers also while the 'Artemis Fowl' series is written much less maturely, and usually appeals to the age group of 9-12.
The characters are NOT shallow and uninteresting as opposed to many other reviewers. Ditto is very interesting and quite funny. Cosmo Hill (the hero) is rather ordinary comparing to the likes of Ditto, Stefan, Mona and Faustino but when you think about it, they all had different backgrounds where they did many interesting things when they were young while Cosmo, the unlucky no-sponsor, has lived in the clarissa frayne institute (an orphanage) for 14 years.
If you like books set in a futuristic city in space with gangs, tanks, people (duh!), blue parasites that suck energy out of people, then this is the next book you should buy!
Recommended!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 12 March 2008
Barcode: 9780141317410

The Supernaturalist will always have a special place in my heart. I had already read the Artemis Fowl novels and enjoyed them immensely so i was eager to try something else from the brilliant Eoin Colfer. I didn't know what to expect from this book but i am eternally grateful i read it as in my opinion it is one of the best books i've ever read.

I'll even go as far to say that this is better than the Artemis Fowl books. Even though Cosmo as a character isn't as strong a character as Artemis, that doesn't matter as the true star of this story is the setting. Colfer has always been a whizz at describing technology and here he describes a world that is at once both fantastic and terrifying. Fans of stuff like Doctor Who, the film AI and games like Final Fantasy will love the world presented here, a place of supreme technological advancement and a dream for any sci-fi or fantasy fan.

A city of towering skyscrapers controlled by a massive satellite in low orbit over a world where space ships and illegal street races represent the two sides of the coin in a world where the balance between high-society and anarchy rests on a knife edge.

The plot is thrilling, the desciption of it as the Matrix meets Ghostbusters an appropriate one as we encounter thrilling action scenes and facinating ideas and imagery. An extremely easy book to get into, i'd recommend it to anyone of any age. Simply an amazing book, an absolute must read!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 August 2005
Firstly let me say i'm not a teenager, but a 32 year old adult. I had heard about the Artimus Fowl series from a friend and saw this by the same author while i was on holiday. I thought i'd give it a try.
Although it wasn't satisfying at the start and took me a short while to get used to the 'universe' that Cosmo lives in, once i had read 40 or so pages i was hooked.
A great book and not just for Children. I'm now going to read the Artemus Fowl books next.
Recommended (and thoroughly deserves the 5 stars)
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 July 2005
After thoroughly enjoying the Artemis Fowl books by Colfer, but then not so thouroughly enjoying The Wish List i thought i'd give The Supernaturalist a go....i am so so so glad that i did because now i have found another favourite book to go on my long list of fave books! This book didn't have me 'glued from the first page' like i'd expected from his artemis books and reading the online reviews of this book, but i carried on regardless and maybe around the second chapter i was hooked. It is quite a short book but it's definitley about quality not quantity here. I loved loved loved this book and since reading it i have been forcing people to borrow it from me so they can read it too! I - as well as many other reviewers, it seems - am crossing my fingers for a sequel and fortunately i think the last few pages sort of hint at the fact that there may be one! If you are thinking it may be a kiddies book, then think again, the main characters may be young but the storyline is pretty grown-up and some parts are quite gory so it will be enjoyable for both children and adults alike!
read it read it read it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 August 2004
I took the book on a 2 week holiday and read it with-in 24 hours. Its fast paced, supurbly written, and an interesting look into what the future could be like. The charectors are well develped but more could be said about there past lives, which im hoping will be in the sequel, which he left open for. If you like the artimus fowl seris this book wont fail to please. Go buy is my advise!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.