Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars stimulating, 30 Dec 2008
By 
J. C. Wright (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Selected Poems (Paperback)
I keep this in my bag at the moment and carry it with me. Where I love it is in situations like today when I was sitting on the bus in a really vile mood thinking about work. I decided to get the book out and after reading a couple of poems I was smiling. By the time I got off the bus I was in such a different world I wondered what I had been so stressed about! Essentially it lightens you up with gentle humour AND makes you think.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A rollercoaster ride of emotions. McGough at his best, 8 Jan 2008
By 
A. MacLean (Glasgow, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Selected Poems (Paperback)
I was given this book as a Christmas gift having mentioned in passing I liked Roger McGough's poetry. I'm no poetry buff/expert but I really cannot put this book down. From the enchantingly funny "The Cats' Protection League' to the tear-jerking 'Defying Gravity' I have found myself both laughing and, at times, crying whilst reading this collection of his poetry.

Buy this book now, you won't regret it (promise).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars POET ROGER McGOUGH, 14 Jan 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Selected Poems (Paperback)
I might have taken to reading poetry late in life [65], but had we been given up-beat contemporary work to study for 'O' levels I would probably have gained an Eng. Lit. 'O' Level in addition to Eng. Lang.

Roger McGough [member of The Scaffold with their 1968 chart topper 'Lily the Pink'] is now one of the UK's leading contemporary poets. Don't say you will never read another poem at least until you've read some of his work.

I now own several of his books, but you can always try one from the Library before deciding to buy.

Roger McGough's work is topical, light-hearted, very readable and makes a point ring home in a most enjoyable way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars poems, 14 Dec 2009
By 
L. Pollard (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: All the Best: The Selected Poems of Roger McGough (Paperback)
the title says it all mcgough at his best.
funny, sad, heartwarming, a really great book of poems.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fun Poems, 22 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Selected Poems (Paperback)
I loved it and my grandchildren loved this book too. I would recommend it to other grandparents to give to their offspring.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars everyone loves it!, 6 Jan 2011
great! i got this for a christmas and have adored it ever since. from zombies to cling-film and missing socks to didgeridoo (whatever that is!) there's something in here for every type of person.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My Grand daughter is gonna love it!, 12 Mar 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: All the Best: The Selected Poems of Roger McGough (Paperback)
I am a big, big fan of Roger's poetry the man is a giant! I have a 1 year old grand daughter and I will be reading these poems to her, they are hilarious - read them you'll love them, go on buy the book - the best money you will spend this year! =:0)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Roger McGough Collection, 6 Dec 2011
This review is from: All the Best: The Selected Poems of Roger McGough (Paperback)
This is a great collection of his works, inspiring, funny poems for inquisitive little minds. There's several poems in here to delight and quite a few that won't but overall this will amuse your child. Buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xafbe34f8)

This product

All the Best: The Selected Poems of Roger McGough
All the Best: The Selected Poems of Roger McGough by Roger McGough (Paperback - 1 July 2004)
9.09
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews