Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not a true story, but it could be, 17 April 2009
By 
Aria-May (Channel Islands) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Boy Overboard (Paperback)
I've read this to my Year 4 and they have LOVED this book. Without giving too much away, the story follows the fortunes of a family from Afghanistan that has upset 'the government' and is forced to flee, aiming to seek asylum in Australia. The story is divided up into nugget-sized chapters, with cliff-hangers on every other page, which makes reading it aloud to an audience a very rewarding experience. It is not a true story, but it so easily could be. Morris Gleitzman is SO good at putting together a story around a very serious theme but balancing that with humour and a shining optimism. My only slight criticism is that on second reading the lead character seems almost irritatingly naive, but then it was the first time my class had heard the story, and they fell for the character hook, line and sinker.
This is a story written for children, but I heartily recommend it to children, teens and adults alike - the text is not hard, and the story-telling is well worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Boy Overboard, 12 July 2006
This review is from: Boy Overboard (Paperback)
This book made me cry because it was sad in places. I enjoyed it and thought that it was better than some of the other books that Morris Gleitzman has written. It is about a boy who has to leave his war-torn country with his Mum, Dad and sister, Bibi, because his parents are secretely running a school when they are not supposed to. The family leave to go to Australia because they need to go somewhere safe, so they leave their country. But will the family get to Australia? And will it be all that they think it is going to be?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A BRILL BOOK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! BUY NOW!!!!!!!!, 20 Aug. 2004
This review is from: Boy Overboard (Hardcover)
A brilliant book about a boy his sister and there mum and dad. they live in afghanistan an jamal
(the boy)is a massive football fan. his mum and dad run a secret school and have to leave afghanistan when the goverment find out about it.they head for australia and on there way they have to tackle storms pirates and assasins and a refugee camp.
i would recomend this book to anyone who like everyday humour books!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, Amusing and Outrageous!, 17 Nov. 2008
A Kid's Review
This review is from: Boy Overboard (Paperback)
Boy Overboard is now one of my favourite books by the world famous writer, Morris Gleitzman. It is funny but also touching story about an Afghanstan boy named Jamal. He and his family goes on a perilous voyage to Australia when they find out that the government has blown their hous up because Jamal's mum is a teacher. This story is just marvellous and a must, whether you are a Morris Gleitzman fan or not. Enjoy the book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Drama into writing, 22 Jun. 2011
This review is from: Boy Overboard (Paperback)
This book has so many key issues and makes an excellent upper KS2 literacy focus. There are opportunities to do lots of drama which then leads on to some exciting writing! My class LOVE the twists and turns in the story and Morris Gleitzman makes each short chapter full of action and suspense. I cant wait to use the sequel "Girl Underground".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars BOY OVERBOARD, 18 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Boy Overboard (Paperback)
I BOUGHT THIS FOR MY DAUGHTER WHO IS READING IT AS PART OF HER ENGLISH SCHOOL WORK. SHE ENJOYED THE STORY AND WOULD RECOMMEND IT. IDEAL FOR CHILDREN AGE 11 YEARS AND OVER.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 12 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Boy Overboard (Paperback)
as promised
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Boy Overboard
Boy Overboard by Morris Gleitzman (Paperback - 7 Aug. 2003)
£5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews