Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For people who like funny stories and dogs.
The story is about a girl called Janie who wants a dog but when she was little she had a dog a Great Dane puppy but it died when Janie was only 2. He died of kidney failure and his name was Rupert.

Janie finds Rupert's old collar and lead then pretends that she has a dog but it really is invisible.

I think it is a good story because it is really...
Published on 5 July 2009

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Great
My 8 year old son enjoyed this book but it was probably best for the young lady in the house! It's an enjoyable quick read. Could do with having some good twists but nonetheless a pleasant book for the kiddies to read.
Published on 14 Oct. 2011 by FEH


Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For people who like funny stories and dogs., 5 July 2009
A Kid's Review
This review is from: The Invisible Dog (A young Puffin story book) (Paperback)
The story is about a girl called Janie who wants a dog but when she was little she had a dog a Great Dane puppy but it died when Janie was only 2. He died of kidney failure and his name was Rupert.

Janie finds Rupert's old collar and lead then pretends that she has a dog but it really is invisible.

I think it is a good story because it is really funny and the book tells you some one might be a witch in the story.

My favorite characters are Janie and Miss Garrow. I like Janie because she is funny and nosey too. Also she reminds me of me because I love dogs and so does Janie.

I recommend the book to people who like funny stories and dogs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Invisible dog, 17 Mar. 2012
By 
Karen Vaughan (Greece) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Invisible Dog (A young Puffin story book) (Paperback)
I am reading this to my 5 year old son as a bedtime story, though it would also be suitable for an older child to get reading practise. There are sufficient black and white sketches to keep him interested, nice short chapters to enable me to break it up into bedtime story sized chunks, and the theme is familiar to most children; yearning for something you can't have, in this case Janie wants a great dane dog. Unusually for a child's story, we are privy to parents' discussions about their child, and whether they should let her have what she wants. Seeing things from the parents point of view is an interesting angle absent from most children's stories.
The story is holding my son's interest, and we are both enjoying the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Here's a Great Story for all Dog-Lovers!, 6 Jan. 2001
By A Customer
Young Jamie's heart's desire is to own a dog, but her parents will not let her have one. That's why she invents her invisible dog which gets her parents slightly worried. Will her dream of having a real dog come true somehow? Have a good guess or listen to the tape!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Great, 14 Oct. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Invisible Dog (A young Puffin story book) (Paperback)
My 8 year old son enjoyed this book but it was probably best for the young lady in the house! It's an enjoyable quick read. Could do with having some good twists but nonetheless a pleasant book for the kiddies to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, Good, Good, 12 Feb. 2008
This review is from: The Invisible Dog (A young Puffin story book) (Paperback)
The story:
Janie used to have a dog called Rupert but he died of kidney failure when she was only two years old. Janie has an imaginary dog called Henry and he is a Great Dane - just like Rupert!

About the author:
Dick King Smith is a famous children's author who writes mainly terrific tales about animals. He is the creator of Babe the Gallant pig, which has been turned into a movie, Dick King Smith lives on a farm in Gloucestershire and has been writing since 1978. When I am older I will do a PHD on him, hopefully, because he is one of my favourite authors.

Books written by Dick King Smith and reviewed by me:
The Hodgeheg
Happy Mouseday
Back to Front Benjy
Just Binnie
Dinosaur Trouble
The Nine Lives of Aristotle
The Roundhill
Lightening Fred
Pretty Polly
Merrythought
The Invisible Dog
And last but not least...
The Clockwork Mouse
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Invisible Dog (A young Puffin story book)
The Invisible Dog (A young Puffin story book) by Dick King-Smith (Paperback - 6 Feb. 2003)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews