Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Sheep- Pig
This story is called The Sheep-Pig by dick king-smith. The main characters are: Babe the pig, Fly the sheep dog, Mr hogget the farmer, Mrs Hogget and Ma the old sick sheep.

It is set on farmer Hogget's farm. His farm is big with fields and in one of the fields is a flock of sheep.

The sheep- pig is about a kind man called Mr hogget who took babe the...
Published on 24 April 2007 by St Cecilia's Primary

versus
0 of 30 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Sheep Pig
Personally, I thought that Babe The Sheepig was an excellent story. I saw the movie last night and went out to buy the book. On the other hand, it's crappy and should be made into an action sci-fi film with loads of funny moments. ;) ;) ;) ;) ;) ;) ;) ;)
Published on 7 Nov 2006 by Annita Bath


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Sheep- Pig, 24 April 2007
This review is from: The Sheep-pig (A young Puffin story book) (Paperback)
This story is called The Sheep-Pig by dick king-smith. The main characters are: Babe the pig, Fly the sheep dog, Mr hogget the farmer, Mrs Hogget and Ma the old sick sheep.

It is set on farmer Hogget's farm. His farm is big with fields and in one of the fields is a flock of sheep.

The sheep- pig is about a kind man called Mr hogget who took babe the orphaned pig back to his house from the funfair. When Babe came home with the farmer, Fly the sheep dog looked after him as her child. Soon babe wanted to be like his foster mother. In the mean time, ma the old sick sheep helped babe to be friendly with the sheep flock. Farmer hogget thought babe could be talented as a sheep- pig.

My favriout part is the end but I can't tell you you'll have to find out. I would recommend this book to someone because it has funny parts and funny sentences that really made me laugh. I felt happy at the end and I liked it very much.

by Emma
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How cute is this story!!, 23 Nov 2000
By A Customer
As soon as i heard the story of Babe i was enchanted! I could go all deep like some of the people on here and say that it is a master literary piece about overcoming the racial prejudices but its not about that is it! Babe is a childrens story that manages to catch the imagination of all who hear it, just like some of the fabulous fairy tales that we all love to hear. Young children love to follow the story as Babe trys to become a sheep - pig and follow in the footsteps of his adopted mother, Fly! I love this story and i always will!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enchanting -thoroughly recommended, 24 Jun 2002
By 
A. Craig "Amanda Craig" (London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sheep-Pig (Paperback)
I bought this for my six year old after he adored Dragon Boy. We loved the film., Babe, but the orginal brings out more of the pathos and comedy of the little pig, and the importance of good manners when trying to get people to do what you want! All the details of a small farmer's life beautifully rendered, without the surreal qualities the film emphasised. Also recommend Lady Lollipop for the same age group. This man has done for pigs what PG Wodehouse did for Earls...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A lovely tale about a most endearing pig!, 6 July 2001
By A Customer
Babe proves himself a pig worth keeping by mastering the skill of herding sheep. Unlike ordinary sheep-dogs however - who habitually use terror tactics to get the sheep to do their bidding - Babe endears himself to his charges by listening to their feelings and treating them kindly. This is a lovely story that also provides a springboard for discussion with your child on the merits of treating others with respect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A lovely tale about a most endearing pig!, 5 July 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Sheep-Pig (Paperback)
Babe proves herself a pig worth keeping by learning the skill of herding sheep. Unlike ordinary sheep-dogs however, who habitually use terror tactics to get the sheep to do their bidding, Babe endears herself to her charges by listening to their feelings and treating them kindly. This is a lovely story which also provides a springboard for discussion with your child on the merits of treating others with respect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Sheep-pig, 3 Oct 2011
This review is from: The Sheep-pig (A young Puffin story book) (Paperback)
I have read the Sheep-pig as a school reading project. The main characters are: Babe the pig, Fly the sheep dog, Mr Hogget the farmer, Mrs Hogget and Ma the old sick sheep. As soon as I started to read about the story of Babe I wanted to read more.
It is set on Farmer Hogget's farm. His farm is big with fields and in one of the fields is a flock of sheep. The sheep-pig is about a kind man called Mr Hogget who took babe the orphaned pig back to his house from the funfair. When Babe came home with the farmer, Fly the sheep dog looked after him as her child. Soon babe wanted to be like his foster mother. In the mean time, ma the old sick sheep helped babe to be friendly with the sheep flock. Farmer Hogget thought babe could be as talented as a sheep-dog. He goes on to score 100/100 at the sheep-dog trials and becomes a very famous pig.
Babe is a children's story that will catch the imagination of all who read it. I loved this story and it is now one of my favorite books, as it was hilarious and funny to read.
James Aged 9 Henry Moore Primary School
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sheep Pig, 29 Sep 2012
By 
M. Blunn (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sheep-pig (Paperback)
A charming story about a pig which the farmer wins at a fair and turns out to be very intelligent and acts at sheep trial as a sheep dog.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A story of a little pig with big ideas., 17 Feb 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Sheep-Pig (Paperback)
A pig called Babe, is won by Farmer Hogget who looks after Babe. Babe becomes interested in sheep and becomes the first sheep pig. He enters the most important thing of the year, the trials. At the end, you'll have to find out yourself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The sheep pig, 24 May 2011
This review is from: The Sheep-pig (Paperback)
we purchasedthis book for our 6 year old daughter for school reading project, we have also enjoyed the story at bedtime her little brother also sat quietly for a change to listen to this enchanting tale.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing!!, 22 Sep 2008
A Kid's Review
This review is from: The Sheep-Pig (Paperback)
Babe was the prize at the one of the stalls at the fair and when Mr Hogget tries at this stand, he actually wins. So the pig is taken back to the farm which is owned by this lucky prize winning man and the little animal is destined to be put into the freezer as ham or bacon or something similar but does he? Find out in this book...
This is a hilarious story about a pig whose future is not like any other boar but more like the life of his adopted mother the sheep dog. How very strange!

I would rate this book 10/ 10 because it is so gripping and everyone can enjoy it because the story line is so simple but still interesting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xaaff9d5c)

This product

The Sheep-pig (A young Puffin story book)
The Sheep-pig (A young Puffin story book) by Dick King-Smith (Paperback - 6 Feb 2003)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews