Customer Reviews


114 Reviews
5 star:
 (84)
4 star:
 (25)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It may be 20 years old but it's an absolute classic!!!!
I first read this book, and it's predecessor The Secret Diary of..., when I started High School (1986 sshhh..!).Having just re-read them both over the last 2 weeks, I was delighted to find that they are as hysterical as ever!
Growing Pains starts where Secret Diary leaves off and it retains the pace of the first instalment. The Diary factor makes the book very easy...
Published on 21 July 2003 by A reader

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Description not accurate!
Description stated "Used - Very Good", however, when the book arrived the cover is ripped, the pages are yellow and it has been written on!
The actual book is brilliant (bought for my son so he can read the same things I did when I was his age).
Published 10 months ago by Bev Corrigan


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It may be 20 years old but it's an absolute classic!!!!, 21 July 2003
This review is from: The Growing Pains of Adrian Mole (Paperback)
I first read this book, and it's predecessor The Secret Diary of..., when I started High School (1986 sshhh..!).Having just re-read them both over the last 2 weeks, I was delighted to find that they are as hysterical as ever!
Growing Pains starts where Secret Diary leaves off and it retains the pace of the first instalment. The Diary factor makes the book very easy to read and you will find yourself laughing out loud at/with Adrian as he makes his way as an'intellectual' teenager in an adult world that he actually understands very little about.
The resident love of his life, Pandora, is still present in Growing pains, as are Bert Baxter and Sabre, his Gran, Mr Lucas, Stick Insect, Barry Kent and best mate, Nigel.
Don't let the early 80's setting put you off. I think the book is all the better for it and love the old references to Abba, Street Parties and legwarmers.
This book is a classic!!! Buy it immediately!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars In the Days Before Blogging..., 27 Feb. 2007
This review is from: The Growing Pains of Adrian Mole (Paperback)
It's 1982 : Margaret Thatcher is Prime-Minister and Britain is at war with Argentina over a couple of sheep-infested islands in the South Atlantic. Meanwhile, the second instalment of the Mole Diaries is being written by a spotty, fifteen year old intellectual from Leicester.

Adrian proves to be a slightly different character in this book - I suppose he's actually grown up a little. He still has a pretentious streak, he continues to be a touch insensitive at times, he doesn't always see the blindingly obvious and he still (mistakenly) sees himself as an intellectual. However, sometimes, he gets the point all too well and delivers a well-penned (not to mention a well-deserved) kick in the arse. "The Growing Pains of Adrian Mole" covers a traumatic period for Adrian : his O-Levels and CSEs are looming while the significant fallout from his parents affairs have to be dealt with. He's still in love with Pandora, though the path of true love has a few tumbles in store for our spotty Lothario. (He's very keen to see a bit more loving, though he'd happily settle for a glimpse of nipple. Pandora, on the other hand, isn't in quite such a rush). The young couple still help Bert Baxter (a war veteran in his eighties) and Queenie (Bert's recently acquired second wife). Despite Bert's hobbies - drinking, smoking and communism - Bert appears to be one of the closest friends Adrian has. Adrian still has the problem of Barry Kent, the school bully : however, some very surprising progress is made over the course of the year.

Starting in April 1982 and finishing in May 1983, some of the big news stories at the time are touched on - the arrival of breakfast television in the UK, the kidnapping of Shergar and the Falklands War, Overall, it does prove to be a very funny book - though there are a couple of sad moments and a few serious points made. Depressingly, some of the points Adrian makes are just as relevant today as they were over twenty years ago. Listening to Radio Four at one point, Adrian notes that the government has decided to spend a billion pounds on war equipment. He then mentions that one of his school's science laboratories is being closed down because it can't afford to employ a new teacher. (Blair is throwing money at the Iraq War having conveniently forgotten all about "education, education, education"). Then Adrian's Irish neighbour, Mr O'Leary, returns to Ireland to vote in the Irish General Election. On his way back to Leicester, however, Mr O'Leary is detained at the East Midlands Airport on being suspicion of being a terrorist. (Admittedly, today the focus has shifted a different group). Later, when a General Election is called in the UK, one of the candidates mentioned is Duncan McIntosh. A member of the "Send `Em Back Where They Came From Party", Mr McIntosh advocates compulsory repatriation of people with black, brown and yellow skin, the Irish, the Welsh, the Scottish and all those with Norman blood. (With all the recent hysteria about immigrants, Mr McIntosh's party would probably have a good shout at government). Well worth reading, and highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Angst Continues, 3 Jun. 2009
By 
After reading the first book in this series, I proceeded to buy all of the others and I'm reading through them (I won't say "working my way through them" because reading Sue Townsend cannot be described as "work"). That a woman well into her adult years has channeled the angst of a teenage boy fairly screams of chutzpah - that she does it so believably and humorously is nothing short of a miracle.

Adrian Mole is in the wrong place at the wrong time. His parents are in financial trouble; Margaret Thatcher is ruling the country with an iron fist; he is madly in love; he has spots. Adrian is an astoundingly naive teenager, but also kind and loving in ways that are surprising. He takes care of his elderly friends Bert and Queenie with a tenderness that belies his occasional selfish behavior. At one point in the book, he writes a poem about Queenie, and it moved me to tears.

Make no mistake, however. This novel is riotously funny.

Reference: "I lay back listlessly on the pillows and let him feel my pulse, etc. He muttered 'Bloody Camille,' as he left the room. Perhaps Camille is a drug that he's thinking of using on me." (an excellent example of the naivete, as well as the humor)

I read several passages out loud to my husband, and because I am not a native-born Brit, there were some referenced he had to explain to me. All of Adrian's experiences take place against a backdrop of Prince William's birth, the Falklands War, the Thatcher administration and the ramp-up of fears over nuclear war. I remember very well being worried about these things (I was about Adrian's age at the time they were happening) and I also remember how much of my day I spent worrying about things I couldn't control. Sue Townsend manages the reality of this feeling masterfully.

I can't wait to move on to the True Confessions of Adrian Mole.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It is one of the best books I have ever read!!!, 17 Feb. 2001
By A Customer
I find this book so enjoyable to read because of the way that Sue Townsend manipulates the sentances to her own way of life. Adrians life seems a mere comedy act but is really based on a true story. The main characters are Adrian, Pandora (girlfriend) and Nigel ( best friend ). It is very enjoyable and should be bought by anyone 11+ because of the hard English that is contained in the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful character, 30 Dec. 2007
By 
Hardeep (wolverhampton) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Growing Pains of Adrian Mole (Paperback)
Sue Townsend's inimitable character, Adrian Mole, again provided me with much amusement. This is his diary circa 1982, 1983. It's wonderful to see the early nineteen eighties through the angst ridden eyes of the neglected tortured soul that is the eponymous Adrian. Okay so, he is not in actuality "a tortured soul", but Sue Townsend's brilliant portrayal of Adrian Mole's overreactions, mixed in with his literary intellect, innocence, inexplicable recesses in knowledge, and accidental humour make for another fantastic read. I simply love how unique and original the Adrian Mole diaries are. I have given it a four rather than a five because I thought the first diary was slightly better. It is still a fantastic read and I would certainly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perceptive and funny, 22 Oct. 2012
By 
M. V. Clarke (Durham, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Sue Townsend's second installment of Adrian Mole's diary shows the same witty perception as the first, with apparently innocent yet wry comments about the world, politics, friendship, families, love and individual people. It's an easy and very enjoyable read, and contains some laugh-out-loud moments. Adrian's family life is as dysfunctional as ever, especially with two new arrivals, his attempts at getting his poetry published are still being thwarted, and his teenage romance with Pandora is beset by problems and differences of opinion. Warmly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Susan Townsend has done it again., 20 Feb. 1999
By A Customer
Once again Susan Townsend has provided a role-on-the-floor, chuckle-til-it-hurts account of adolescence. After 'The Secret Diary' I couldn't wait to pick up 'The Growing Pains'. I was not disappointed. Townsend continues to entertain, but at the same time makes serious comments about adolescent issues and life in the eighties. Anyone who has ever been a teenager should pick it up and reminisce.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!, 26 Sept. 2000
This is a great book, one where you really need to turn over the page! This is a book that keeps you really long into the night, when you know you have to get to sleep, but you can't resist just seeing what happens next! It's a perfect sequel to the first book, and nothing from the first is forgotten, that needs to be remembered. And does it make you laugh? Lots!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Secret Diary of Adrian Mole, 27 Oct. 2003
Adrian Mole is an extremely funny book. While I read it on my bed I couldn't stop laughing. It explains the true thoughts and moments of adolescence which makes it quite realistic. It recently won funniest book of the year which, if you read it you will understand that it definetly deserved that prize.
Relationship, humour, whatever, everything is in this book.
I would reccomend this book to young teenagers, as that is when I first read it, and middle aged adults.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good and very entertaining, 24 Aug. 2000
By A Customer
I thought it was an excellent book and read re-read it and i you can read and read it for hours on end . But i did find some faults like when it was pmm and gam at the end they changed it instead of gam Sue Townsend put gmm and i also found that there were a few others but otherwise it was a very good book .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Growing Pains of Adrian Mole
The Growing Pains of Adrian Mole by Sue Townsend (Paperback - 31 Oct. 2002)
£5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews