Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars lovely book for Harry Potter fans
This book is great!In it you will find answers to all the questions about Harry Potter and his world.When you've read it you understand J.K.rowlings books much better.It's information is based on Greek and Latin mythology,and the history of magic. You understand where J.K.Rowling got the names of people,places etc.It's very interesting and fascinating and I recomend you...
Published on 17 Feb 2003 by SPIRIDON KOSTOUROS

versus
20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not exactly as expected
When I ordered this I was expecting the map to display Hogwarts, Hogsmead, Ottery St Catchpole, Godric's Hollow, etc, which I was really looking forward to. It actually shows the UK, Europe, and a few other countries, and there is a booklet - "book of secrets" that tells of various legends linked to characters and creatures in the Potterverse. I already have a book by the...
Published on 21 Nov 2004 by Helen


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars lovely book for Harry Potter fans, 17 Feb 2003
This review is from: The Magical Worlds of Harry Potter: A Treasury of Myths, Legends and Fascinating Facts (Paperback)
This book is great!In it you will find answers to all the questions about Harry Potter and his world.When you've read it you understand J.K.rowlings books much better.It's information is based on Greek and Latin mythology,and the history of magic. You understand where J.K.Rowling got the names of people,places etc.It's very interesting and fascinating and I recomend you bought it for a present or for yourself.I'm a 13 year old and I enjoyed very much.My mother enjoyed it equaly so it's for children and adults.Enjoy it!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Required reading for any self-respecting Potter fan, 19 Dec 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: The Magical Worlds of Harry Potter: A Treasury of Myths, Legends and Fascinating Facts (Paperback)
I have seen this book in stores many times but held back from buying it because it is aimed specifically at children, and I suspected it may be basic or even boring. I have just finished reading it and I was completely wrong! It is packed with fascinating and informative background information on characters, spells and events from the books, and, crucially, it inspired me to search for more books on Greek mythology and the history of witchcraft.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All the little things you needed to know., 8 Jan 2002
This review is from: The Magical Worlds of Harry Potter: A Treasury of Myths, Legends and Fascinating Facts (Paperback)
I enjoyed this book in one sitting. It tells everything you need to know about Harry Potters' world and covers all four books to date. From the real Alchemists and Nicolas Flamel to where readers believe the word 'Quidditch' originates. It also answers some of the questions you may have asked yourself "If Dumbledore is so powerful, shouldn't he fight Voldemort?" and "Why are goblins such good bankers?". Also gives a great insight into some of those wonderful names, like Draco Malfroy, "Snake Bad Faith", no wonder he is a Slytherin! Wrote in an easy to read format and style. It is designed like an encyclopedia, full of Harry Potter knowledge and the truth and legend behind JK Rowlings imagination. Great for children and adults who want to know more about Harrys world .I will be keeping it to hand when I read more Harry Potter, just to dip into with interest. The only thing that could make this book better is if JK Rowling wrote it! Then we would know the whole truth about Harrys magical world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magical Read, 20 Aug 2002
By A Customer
This book has everything for Harry Potter fans or people that are just intrested magic. It has loads of fantastical meanings about names and places in Harry Potters world and about real-life spells, the real Nicolas Flamel and best of all wizards. It also gives a short intro into Latin. Magic may not be like how it is in Harry Potter but magic in this world comes from the books we read and this book sertinly has magic in it's pages because you will not want to put it down untill know everything about the boy wizard, Harry Potter.
This book is a MUST-READ for all ages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not exactly as expected, 21 Nov 2004
By 
Helen (Hereford, UK) - See all my reviews
When I ordered this I was expecting the map to display Hogwarts, Hogsmead, Ottery St Catchpole, Godric's Hollow, etc, which I was really looking forward to. It actually shows the UK, Europe, and a few other countries, and there is a booklet - "book of secrets" that tells of various legends linked to characters and creatures in the Potterverse. I already have a book by the same author that explains a lot of this kind of thing so was a little disappointed that the map was more of the same. The map/book is not approved by JKR or Warner Bros which I think should be borne in mind when reading the info - obviously JKR has not confirmed all of the info which the author states as if it is fact, though the bibliography lists 5 interviews and articles as well as the 5 HP books and 10 books by other authors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Hmm..., 24 Nov 2004
By 
Very good, but it just wasn't what I expected. I thought that it was going to be more of a book then a poster, but there is a book which goes very well with the map. I think this is aimed more at younger fans who are starting to get interested in the background to Harry Potter. It is very colourful and sweet, but if you are wanting a more in-depth look in to where Harry Potter came from, the myths and ledgends perhaps another book would be better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Big Hit for serious HP readers, 4 Jan 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: The Magical Worlds of Harry Potter: A Treasury of Myths, Legends and Fascinating Facts (Paperback)
This book is good for a really dedicated Harry Potter fan, exposing the deep Latin, folklore and mythical roots deeply, yet subtly embeded in the Harry Potter books. However, the book is challenging reading, with rgular quotes, and for people expecting a 'Harry Potter' book, this in none - more an encyclopedia of myths. However, it makes for interesting reading even for non-HP fans, hence the high rating - for serious readers, not 8yr old kids.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The WIzarding Worlds Tourist Trail., 11 Jun 2004
By 
Mr. L. Davies "I AM GOD" (BRADFORD. WEST YORKSHIRE.UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
There is a wealth of Harry Potter info out there but this is a lovely addition to it. It reminds me very much of the type of information put out for tourists with a map complete with numbered highlights and an accompanying index with all the information laid out to give maximum information in a concise form. The illustrations are delightful as well. Very useful, I just wish I could go for real. It is a little gem that is worth having just for itself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good start ..., 3 Oct 2003
By 
pacem et amorem (Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Magical Worlds of Harry Potter: A Treasury of Myths, Legends and Fascinating Facts (Paperback)
This is an interesting book - good for dipping into and selecting little pieces of imformation.
What I liked about it was that it drew the reader's attention to little gems of information and links to myths and legends. Colbert then leaves it up to the reader to decide if they want to find out more and explore in real depth.
Interesting but by no means a comprehensive, in-depth look at the myths, legends and 'Fascinating Facts' behind the Harry Potter books!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Magical Reference Book, 18 Jan 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The Magical Worlds of Harry Potter: A Treasury of Myths, Legends and Fascinating Facts (Paperback)
I have found this book an exellent resource for anybody wishing to look deeper into the background of Harry Potter. It contains a lot of comparisons between JK Rowlings magical world and tales told for many hundreds of years. If you would like some good basic information on some of the Myths, Legends andFascinating Facts behind the Harry Potter series, then look no further. If you would like to look deeper into the Myths, Legends and Fascinating Facts behind the Harry Potter series, then buy this anyway and see which tales interest you the most.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Magical Worlds of Harry Potter: A Treasury of Myths, Legends and Fascinating Facts
5.99
Usually dispatched within 1 to 2 weeks
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews