Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


137 of 138 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Story that hits the mark from Julia Donaldson
The fact that this book was about a dinosaur caught my son's imagination. The fact that it was by Julia Donaldson caught mine and yet again she has written a book that will capture the imagination of children and lead to the book becoming very well thumbed. My son is 5.5 and is on his 3rd run through already. Like all good books it prompts lots of questions and offers...
Published on 12 Aug 2003 by K. A. Mosedale

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars I thought it would be in colour!
I was really disappointed to find that this was a paperback book printed without colour.
I t was a gift for a 9 year old which is fine, but I thought being a JD book it would be in colour.

I won't rush next time!
Published 4 months ago by Mrs Sarah-Jane Prior


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

137 of 138 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Story that hits the mark from Julia Donaldson, 12 Aug 2003
This review is from: The Dinosaur's Diary (Young Puffin Story Books) (Paperback)
The fact that this book was about a dinosaur caught my son's imagination. The fact that it was by Julia Donaldson caught mine and yet again she has written a book that will capture the imagination of children and lead to the book becoming very well thumbed. My son is 5.5 and is on his 3rd run through already. Like all good books it prompts lots of questions and offers plenty of opportunities for exploring the ideas introduced by the story. It is very different to the previous books by the same author for younger children (Gruffalo, Room on the Broom etc)and considerably longer (it takes us 3-4 nights to get through it with about 10 minutes reading per night!!)and I imagine it could be read to children up to 7 and by children of about the same age or a bit older. I have found it quite hard to get books that will capture the imagination of my son at his current age without them being either too old or too young and this is one of the first to successfully achieve it (and with a female heroine girls would also enjoy it as well). Thank you Julia and keep up the good work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exciting!, 12 Mar 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Dinosaur's Diary (Young Puffin Story Books) (Paperback)
I liked this book because it is very exciting like I said, and I thought that it was really funny when Hipsilophodon called the Tractor a Tractorsaurus! (Reviewed by leela aged 6)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a great discovery, 17 Nov 2009
This review is from: The Dinosaur's Diary (Young Puffin Story Books) (Paperback)
I didn't know that Julia Donaldson wrote books for older children so was very pleased when I found this. My 2 sons love all her books for younger children, even now that they're getting a bit older at 4 and 6, and this new book was as much a hit with them. I can't recommend it enough
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This Dinosaur's Diary proves fun!, 11 Jun 2010
This review is from: The Dinosaur's Diary (Young Puffin Story Books) (Paperback)
I bought this for my 3 year old grandson who is an avid story-listener and it has proved a huge success. He particularly likes the Julia Donaldson stories, as do all my grandchildren, so I guessed this would be a good purchase for him. Initially, I was somewhat disappointed when it arrived as it wasn't like the usual Julia Donaldson books, softback with wonderful colourful illustrations and quite large for him to hold, but much more grown-up. This is a small paperback with black and white illustrations and looked to be for at least a 7 year old! Never judge a book by its cover!! It is a 'grown-up' book in that it consists of chapters, but he hears a chapter each night and cannot wait for the next evening's chapter to be read to him as he finds it a very exciting book. I don't know whether it would appeal to all children of his age, as chapters are often quite hard to retain, but it certainly suits him. In common with all his other Julia Donaldson books, it is a great read, full of adventure and highly entertaining!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The dinosaurs diary, 2 April 2014
By 
Mrs. L. Bohen (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Dinosaur's Diary (Young Puffin Story Books) (Paperback)
A gift for a boy who loved it because he is very much into dinosaurs. it was well enjoed I an told.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good story, 19 Aug 2011
This review is from: The Dinosaur's Diary (Young Puffin Story Books) (Paperback)
Bought this book for my 6 year old nephew. It is different from the Julia Donaldson books I'm used to. This one is longer and, as a bedtime story, can take a week to get through, but is a good length for a 6 year old. It is an enjoyable story. It's all about a young dinosaur who falls into the present day - and her adventures. My nephew enjoys the story - and is reading it again. Always a good sign!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars diary, 10 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Dinosaur's Diary (Young Puffin Story Books) (Paperback)
I bought this for my niece who has always been obsessed with dinosaurs and she loves it. Not sure her mum is so keen after reading it so many times!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars I thought it would be in colour!, 22 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Dinosaur's Diary (Young Puffin Story Books) (Paperback)
I was really disappointed to find that this was a paperback book printed without colour.
I t was a gift for a 9 year old which is fine, but I thought being a JD book it would be in colour.

I won't rush next time!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good book, 12 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Dinosaur's Diary (Young Puffin Story Books) (Paperback)
Even though it's for older kids I got this for my nephew and he loves it so glad I bought him it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Xmas stocking filler, 27 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Dinosaur's Diary (Young Puffin Story Books) (Paperback)
briefly read this when it arrived, bought to give to our 6 year old grandaughter, I think she will love it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Dinosaur's Diary (Young Puffin Story Books)
The Dinosaur's Diary (Young Puffin Story Books) by Julia Donaldson (Paperback - 28 Mar 2002)
3.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews