Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really good because it almost told the end but changed
The story starts a mute boy runs from nasty relatives and falls off a pier. He saves himself and the book follows one of his many adventures.
The mute boy finds frienship in a dog and they learn to telepathically talk to each other.
The book is really good and is very gripping, especially with the supernatural happenings on the ship... The Flying...
Published on 10 May 2002

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ups and downs
I ADORE the Redwall series. Far better written than Harry Potter, with better descriptions and pace, I've been a long-time fan of Jacques'. Therefore I was hoping for another cracking tale with this novel.

It's not bad. The opening section is truly brilliant: terrifying, emotional and adventurous. If the whole novel had continued in this vein, I couldn't have...
Published on 4 Jun 2008 by Lily Fox


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really good because it almost told the end but changed, 10 May 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Castaways of the Flying Dutchman (Paperback)
The story starts a mute boy runs from nasty relatives and falls off a pier. He saves himself and the book follows one of his many adventures.
The mute boy finds frienship in a dog and they learn to telepathically talk to each other.
The book is really good and is very gripping, especially with the supernatural happenings on the ship... The Flying Dutchman.
The end is slightly surprising and sudden but suits the type of book. Brian Jaques has written many good novels when he personificates animals. We hope that there is a sequal to The Castaways Of The Flying Dutchman because there was also alot of humor like the bad/good man living as a mad proffesor in a half ruined old building.
We think this book is excellent and think EVERYONE should have a chance to read it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Possibly even better than Redwall!!!, 29 Aug 2001
By A Customer
I love Redwall; they are the best books ever by my opinion. This may possibly better than Redwall, the blend of riddle, history and adventure is fabulous and the use of thoughts as communication is great. The passing of time is very good, using chapters as gaps in time. It is impossible to put down; I read it all in one night then read it again three times! It a fantastic change from Redwall and rates as one of the best of Brian Jacques!
Absolutely Fantastic!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My first Jacques book- it was fantastic!!, 8 May 2001
By A Customer
I picked this book up because I knew the story of "the Flying Dutchman" but to see "The Castways of the Flying Dutchman", made me think a legend a little bit different. It started off when Neb(Ben) saw a dog on the side of the boat. The dog, Denmark, followed Neb on to the boat, and they stayed togehter for the rest of the book. The Flying Dutchman mission was to sail around Cape Horn. Neb,a mute boy, felt the hardness of sailing and survived several mutinies. One time they were trying to sail arond Cape Horn, when the boy and dog were washed overboard, but were saved by an ANGEl.
You are taken through Neb's and Denmark's adventures and feelings of the people they meet. I loved this book and every bit is more interesting than the other. I thought the end was the best bit; it just makes you wander were is Neb now.I urge you to read this book and I hope you enjoy it as much as me.I will be happy to answer questions and talk about the book with you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars IT'S NOT REDWALL, BUT IT'S BRILLIANT..., 10 Mar 2001
You pick it up, and you can't put it down! I'm an avid Redwall fan, and at first was rather inclined to be sceptical about anything different by the same author, but I soon found ti an intriguing mix of mystery, adventure and suspense!!! Well done Brian Jacques!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AMAZING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!, 17 Dec 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Castaways of the Flying Dutchman (Paperback)
This book is a work of art. I like the way Brian uses Pirate grammar so that when you are reading the book, you feel like you're in the story. I find this book a lot better than the Redwall series. I do like the Redwall books a lot, but this just takes the jackpot for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ups and downs, 4 Jun 2008
This review is from: Castaways of the Flying Dutchman (Paperback)
I ADORE the Redwall series. Far better written than Harry Potter, with better descriptions and pace, I've been a long-time fan of Jacques'. Therefore I was hoping for another cracking tale with this novel.

It's not bad. The opening section is truly brilliant: terrifying, emotional and adventurous. If the whole novel had continued in this vein, I couldn't have praised it highly enough. Unfortunately, the story does go downhill after the two main characters leave Luis the shepherd.

As I said, it isn't bad. It's just after the opening section, the loss of the high-seas drama, the school-age heroism falls very flat. The characters aren't unlikeable, the dog Ned in particular is loveable and as a moral, fun, pleasing story for younger readers, it does work well. Older readers will feel disappointed after the wonderful tension of the opening section, however.

It is similar to Redwall, which isn't necessarily a bad thing, but lacks Redwall's sword-and-adventure heroism, most of the action being closed into one village. The villains change from wicked cursed pirates, truly terrifying figures, to rather more petty figures and a gang of unpleasant schoolchildren; a definate comedown.

On a personal level I think the inclusion of so much religiosity just doesn't sit with the genre - one of BJ's wisest decisions was making Redwall a largely secular series, with vague religious symbolism taking a definate backseat to moral and personal developments. In Castaways, there is no escaping the fact that angels and God play a large definitive role in the story.

It is still well-written, lively and filled with all BJ's usual beautiful descriptive work, and the bittersweet realisation that immortality has its downside is a nice touch.

Not a bad read, worth looking at for the wonderful opening section if nothing else.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not much of a departure from Redwall..., 17 Jun 2001
By 
Laura T (Cambridge, U.K) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Recently, Brian Jacques' Redwall books have been getting more and more similar. So I hoped that this book, not part of the Redwall series, would be a change. But its not. Once again, the characters have to solve a cryptic puzzle and find treasure, and the characters speak and act very similarly to the animals in the Redwall series. It's getting a bit boring. This book started with promise and finished quite well, but seemed to go on far too long, and I didn't enjoy reading it. If you want a real story, with good characters, a intresting, unpredictable plot, and books that are actually different from each other, read Robin Jarvis. His books haven't got the recognition they deserve for being twice as good as any of Brian Jacques' books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Castaways of the Flying Dutchman
Castaways of the Flying Dutchman by Brian Jacques (Paperback - 28 Mar 2002)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews