Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


61 of 63 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A truly moving book of Anne Frank's family and her life
I would recommend this book to any girls or teenagers who are interested in Anne Frank or the second world war. It is a good idea to read this book before starting to read the diary; as it gives a good description of Anne Frank's life before moving into hiding, her friends and her family. Anne was obviously a real flirt, and at times I laughed out loud at the things she...
Published on 29 May 2002

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars good but it could have had more information about the story of anne frank
I thought that this was interesting but was about the facts about who she was where she lived her family and more. I was hoping to read a bout the story of her diary instead of her details. It is very interesting if you are the kind of persons who wants to learn about the history side of her but i would recomend to read the diary if you want to learn about her experiences...
Published 15 months ago by Isabella


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

61 of 63 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A truly moving book of Anne Frank's family and her life, 29 May 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Anne Frank's Story (Paperback)
I would recommend this book to any girls or teenagers who are interested in Anne Frank or the second world war. It is a good idea to read this book before starting to read the diary; as it gives a good description of Anne Frank's life before moving into hiding, her friends and her family. Anne was obviously a real flirt, and at times I laughed out loud at the things she did! But at others I almost cried to hear what happened in Anne Frank's life and other jewish childrens' when they moved to concentration camps. You can really sense what it would of been like before moving into the annexe, and then what kind of atmosphere there would of been in it. It also describes exactly what happened when the nazis found Anne and her family, and what it would of been like in the concentration camps. It is very moving to hear how Margot dies and what people really went through in the war, and shows how cruel the nazis really were.
A wonderfully sad tale, and yet a good one, to anyone who's never felt safe or has ever wondered about how life must of been for poor Anne during the second world war.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great biography for children (and parents), 28 Feb 2010
By 
Jacs (South East) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Anne Frank's Story (Paperback)
I'm reading this with my daughter aged 8, and we are both really enjoying it. Plenty of detail without being too onerous for children.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ideal introduction, 24 Sep 2011
This review is from: Anne Frank's Story (Paperback)
Bought before trip to Amsterdam so that grandson would have a clearer understanding of Anne's story before we went to visit the house. It was a good move because the whole experience meant more to him having increased background knowledge and details. A moving story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect for children, 22 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Anne Frank's Story (Paperback)
Perfect to read with a child before embarking on the real Anne Frank Story. Purchased for my 7 and 10 year and we are enjoying reading this story and although still upsetting its a gentler introduction to the horror that Anne Frank suffered. Would recommend reading this before the real diary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Wonderfully colourful account,of a sadly, short life., 23 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I loved this book and the author did a wonderful job of giving the reader an indepth insight into Anne Frank's life as well as other people who were touched by Anne.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating reading, 19 Sep 2013
By 
Mrs. Joanna Barriball (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Anne Frank's Story (Paperback)
As we're off to Amsterdam on a city break, and intending to visit Anne Frank's house, I wanted to refresh my memory of her story - to appreciate what we were going to see.
Well written, factual and concise - perfect summary of her life story - without being the actual diary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars good but it could have had more information about the story of anne frank, 14 July 2013
I thought that this was interesting but was about the facts about who she was where she lived her family and more. I was hoping to read a bout the story of her diary instead of her details. It is very interesting if you are the kind of persons who wants to learn about the history side of her but i would recomend to read the diary if you want to learn about her experiences during her time in her hideout. I rated it 3 stars because i did learn quite a lot but I would have found the actual diary more interesting,
I hope this helped,
Bella
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thought provoking, 30 April 2013
By 
S. Reading (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was recommended as a book to read before embarking on the actual diary. As a 44 year old there are many things I haven't understood about the Holocaust and what Hitler did but this really explains everything. Well worth reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A moving story, 17 April 2013
Anne Frank's story is just outstanding! Because of what she's been though and how she has coped with it, Anne Frank has become my rolemodal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Present for my Grandaughter, 31 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Anne Frank's Story (Paperback)
This book was bought for my grandaughter and she has found it very interesting. The book arrived very quickly and I am pleased with the purchase
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Anne Frank's Story
Anne Frank's Story by Carol Ann Lee (Paperback - 31 May 2001)
£4.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews