Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars25
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£5.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 17 May 2001
Mad, a chatty parrot, provides loads of laughs in this great book. For example - when Madison pretends to be a robber, answers the telephone and says "God save the Queen! Rule Britannia! Land of Hope and Glory" You've got a face like a chicken's bum!" Everyone thinks that he is just an old parrot who can't talk but Harry, his owner, knows better and that's where most of the laughs come from. Even other animals are surprised by him - the family cat creeps up to pounce on an easy prey and gets the shock of his life when he hears "Hold it right there sweetheart" and the cat, stands frozen to the spot. Madison then tells the cat to "Beat it!"
Compared to other Dick King-Smith books, this one is the best. Most of his stories have small animals getting the better of bigger ones and that is funny. "Tumbleweed" is my second favourite but it is not as good as "Harry's Mad" because it doesn't have as many funny bits.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 December 2002
An enjoyable story about a boy who inherits a Parrot from his great uncle George, who has recently passed away, but he gets more than he bargained for, when he finds that his Parrot speaks fluent English,he also has an American accent for he grew up in America with George! The parrot named Mad is clever than alot of humans! He is whitty, intelligent, kind and the master at Monopoly, and will always go the extra mile to help his family and friends!join Mad and Harry on their adventures in London!
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 December 2002
We thought that Harrys Mad was a enjoyable book to read .We would give it 4 out of 5 for a rating.We would suggest this book for ages 10-12 because some of the language is to hard for younger children to understand and a bit childish for over 12 year olds.The book is about a boy called Harry .His Great uncle has died and left him a parrot in his will.At first he doesnt like the idea of having a parrot.Then he realises the parrot has
a hidden talent to speak and he soon grows to like the parrot.
The characters include Harry,his mum and dad,Maddison and Fweddy the parrot and a dustbin man called Claude.Our favourite characters were Madison and Fweddy,because they were funny.We would reccomend the book because it is a really good read.We thought the book was really entertaining and humerous book.
Try and read it sometime.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 December 2002
Harry's Mad is a very good book for young children in years 3 and 4 to listen too.I enjoyed the book very much and i think youy will too. I would recemend the book to all my friends and hope theyn would enjoy it as much as in did.
Summary
A boy called Harry Holdsworth lived in a house with his mum and dad oneday a will came for Harry he opened it and there was surprise in it .A few days after it came he was worried if it ran away it got kid napped then he got out for the kiddnapper came home and lioved happily ever after.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 25 July 2014
Among the numerous books that Dick King-Smith wrote, I've noted that his farm-based stories with animal protagonists tend to be stronger books where he is in his element. Hence I've thought more fondly of The Fox Busters, Saddlebottom and even Babe the Sheep-Pig. Harry's Mad is different from these animal stories but still shows King-Smith at his sparkling best.

This story makes you laugh and think at the same time. I like how King-Smith alludes to the story of Puss in Boots. When Harry first learns that he is to inherit his American great-uncle's parrot he is not thrilled, very like how the miller's youngest son is not thrilled that his father only left him the cat. However, Mad the parrot surprises everyone, brightening up his life and also the lives of his parents. As such he forms a deep friendship with Harry. Trouble strikes when he is birdnapped by a burglar, but of course he finds his way home after some hair-raising adventures. However, while Harry is an important protagonist, Mad is the star of the story. His character is a combination of Puss in Boots and Passepartout and his antics make us laugh.

King-Smith tells the story with freshness, humour, verve and wit. There are various touches of wry humour, such as in the first part where the word mad is used to imply crazy until the coming of Mad the parrot. I love how he offers the reader precognitive phrases. For instance, when he presents the envelope with Great-uncle George's will, it is a precognition of Harry owning Mad. I am also fond of the incident where Mad imitates Humphrey Bogart when the cat tries to eat him. I am also fond of the way King-Smith matches his emotions. The reader sympathises and commiserates with Harry after the burglar birdnaps Mad. However emotions heat up when Harry receives Mad's phone call and goes out to rescue him.

This is a funny Dick King-Smith story and it is worthy of his best efforts. It will appeal greatly to those who love Babe the Sheep Pig.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 March 2012
Although best known for 'The Sheep Pig' which was made into the film 'Babe', Dick King Smith also wrote a number of other animal-focussed books, of which this has to be his best. Harry learns that he is to receive an inheritance from his American great-uncle and is dismayed to discover that he is not to receive vast wealth but an African Grey parrot. Madison, however, is no ordinary parrot: he can play chess, help with homework, swap recipes with Harry's mother... until he is stolen. An amusing and entertaining book, good for reading aloud.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 May 2011
This book is about a little boy called Harry who woke up one morning and found that his dad had bought him a parrot. When Harry's mum had to go to work, the parrot felt sad and started to squeek very very loudly. Read on to find out more about the book.

We liked his language because it made us laugh a lot.

Girls and boys age 7 to 10 would enjoy reading this fantastic book.

I would give this book 4 out of 5 because all of the language is brill.

By Leo 8 and Henry 8
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 December 2002
I think harry's mad is a good,exitciting and entertaining. The book has good quality of emotive language and it will always pull a few strings.Mad is a good character his always pollite and i love his American acsent,Harry is a good character as well at first he thought that Mad wasn't good as he seems but he was wrong madison is so clever that he started to love him.I recommend this book for people who love to sit down and read a good book because it is a good book and i no when you read it you will know what i mean.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 January 2013
Great book for kids, I read it when I was young and purchased it for my niece so she could enjoy it also. With all the books on the shelves aimed at preteens seemingly about vampires, dragons, zombies, or any combination of the previously mentioned, this book is a nice change. Mad(ison) is an African grey parrot who finds himself with a new family. His English skills are greater than suspected - cue hilarious consequences.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 December 2002
I thought the book was pretty good i would not read it again but if i had to i would. The bits i liked the most was the suspence at the end of each chapter,there are some funny bits and some serious bits as well most of it is funny. I think the auther Dick King Smith put alot of his time and effot in to the book.It would suit ages 7-13.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.