Customer Reviews


43 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very witty graphical interpretation of Sterne's classic.
The fragmentary structure of _TS_ is ideally suited to Rowson's comic-book reinterpretation. This accomplished editorial cartoonist pokes fun at 'heritage' illustration and costume drama, instead matching Sterne's words with his lively images and contemporary, knowing commentary. Though he shows an affectionate regard for the original, Rowson is not afraid to bring to...
Published on 12 Jun 1999

versus
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very Hard Work (But Very Funny Too)
Probably the funniest book ever written in the English language this is also one of the most difficult books to read that I have ever come across - I had real trouble taking in more than a dozen pages at a time.

It's taken me weeks and weeks to get to the end of this book, partly because it demands of the reader a knowledge of Greek and Latin texts, 18th...
Published on 31 Oct 2012 by Brownbear101


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Cock and Bull, 13 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What is there to say about Tristrma Shandy? A pioneering novel and one of the first? Hilarious? Anarchic but intellectual? Or any other well-worn phrases? Just read this fine Penguin edition and don't worry if you miss something: read it again! And look at the excellent introduction and notes. Remember: don't hurt a fly and watch out for the wound.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Odd, 6 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Altogether one of the oddest books I have read but all the better for that.

Some of it made me laugh out loud and some of it left me bemused but no-one with a love of the English language or of English literature should miss this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars weird but wonderful book, 10 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
this is the type of reading my son likes, so i was pleased to come across it at such a bargain price. thank you for your service.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Tristram Shandy, 18 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Not for the faint hearted - or short sighted. Small print and will take a lot of time to read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars all goods shown, 12 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have alreadt replies more than once to most products I have bought it is now becoming a bore please delete
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Very disappointing, 1 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I was very disappointed by the layout of this Kindle book (but not, let it be said, by the book itself which is a classic and great fun). On every page, the text is confined to a column about one-third of the width of the screen, and it is impossible to change that to make the text fit the full width of the screen by altering any of the settings, such as the size of the typeface, the line spacing or the number of words per line. As a consequence, the book is very difficult to read, and after a short time I gave up trying to do so. If you want to read this classic (and it's well worth the effort), I suggest that you do what I did and download a free copy from the Project Gutenberg website. It doesn't have the illustrations, but at least the text covers the full width of the screen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very entertaining, 16 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very funny and entertaining, it made me laugh and it provided a perfect break between two books of more serious subject matter. There were frequent references too obscure for me to bother investigating, but it didn't seem to matter, as he explains enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The literary embodiment of creativity, 16 May 2012
It may have been said before but I'll reiterate the point; Tristram Shandy should not be taken lightly. It's a bamboozling string of digressions, metafictional interruptions, unfinished stories and visual surprises. The sentences are long, the narrator appears to have no control over the course of the narrative or the characters that exist within it, and the reader is constantly being promised chapters that very often never materialise.

If you're looking for a straightforward plot or any of the features that generally characterise the conventional novel, you will be sorely disappointed. But if you're aware of the difficulties of reading such an unusual book and you're still willing to embark on Sterne's crazy journey, you will be treated to one of the most creative, playful, inventive and witty pieces of literature that you're ever likely to read. If you put some time into reading Tristram Shandy and respect it as it ought to be respected, hopefully you will enjoy it as much as I did.

With regards to which edition you should read, I would suggest the Visual Editions publication (978095659202). Not only is this version beautifully published, it also brings to life the striking visual aspects of the novel like no other edition I have encountered. No illustrations here, just excellent typography! Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great and Quirky Novel, 13 Jun 2011
I am in a book club and we chose Tristam Shandy as it is famous, but none of us had actually read it. I would recommend reading the introduction as it helps to untangle some of the events described in the novel and explains why it was written as it is. It is centuries ahead of its time and very experimental, but as the intro explains uses ideas from early greek drama. Enjoyable, frustrating, surprising and fun. You need to get your head around eighteenth century language of course, so don't expect an entirely easy read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars No 'black' pages or 'marble' pages...so sad, 9 Nov 2011
I put 1 star for Kindle edition, not the novel itself.
Very sadly, Kindle edition does not have the famous 'marble' pages and black pages.
It does not have the drawings (which appear in the latter half of the novel) neither.
The strange pages and strange drawings are one of the famous (notorious?) factors of Shandy--most people would be surprised to encounter such pages, so this edition spoils the weirdness of this weird novel to some extent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Tristram Shandy (Penguin English Library)
Tristram Shandy (Penguin English Library) by Laurence Sterne (Paperback - 25 Oct 2012)
£5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews