Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Moral dilemmas masterfully depicted, 3 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Warden (Penguin English Library) (Paperback)
This is a very gentle and moral book by Trollope. His satirical vein is reserved for those characters deserving of it, and he treats his hero almost as a friend. I was first introduced to this book as a schoolgirl and have loved it ever since. The Penguin paperback version is very good value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful writing, 8 Jun 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Warden (Penguin English Library) (Paperback)
Already know this book like many people of my generation but decided to re read it and it does not disappoint. With so much good English literature why do we have to go to America or elsewhere for the books for our school examinations? Recommend it to everyone who does not know the writings of Anthony Trollope. Interesting and amusing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Read this first, 7 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Warden (Penguin English Library) (Paperback)
Read this before any other trollope novel. I love this. I love the characters and the story is excellent. Trollope shows in this book his great art of being able to concisely describe the human condition, emotion, behaviour, what people say, what they do, what they think. Wonderful start to the Barchester novels. Enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good book from a fine author, 21 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Warden (Penguin English Library) (Paperback)
An excellent book written by a first class victorian author, who has great knowledge of the Victorian church of England, and the people who attended this church, their petty machinations, most class based
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another excellent Trollope, 3 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Warden (Penguin English Library) (Paperback)
If you're a fan of Trollope then I'm sure you'll enjoy this book. As one of the respected literary authors, this novel confirms that status. If you're new to Trollope, then why not experience what the hype is all about. I won't spoil the storyline as that's part of the pleasure and intrigue. Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning!, 11 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Warden (Penguin English Library) (Paperback)
Trollope's writing was a great surprise to me! I expected something similar to Dickens but it's way easier to read. I loved the fact that the characters are so sentimentally charged and there is great interaction between them. I loved the warden as a person because he is character who is getting extinct nowadays. Of course i'm referring to the fact that when the newspaper wrote bad things about him he got so disturbed and ashamed that he preferred to quit his job and live on a very little amount of money. People like the warden would make our society better in my opinion. Nice reading overall, I shall continue with the Barchester towers sometime!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good book, 1 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Warden (Penguin English Library) (Paperback)
The books was very well priced and delivered quickly. The type of print is clear and the format of the text good to read. The book is a very enjoyable read and a good one for beginners of Victorian novel's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Warden (Penguin English Library)
The Warden (Penguin English Library) by Anthony Trollope (Paperback - 26 April 2012)
£4.79
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews