Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Graphic Button
With bonkers illustrations and a different ending from the film - well this is based on the original text - this is a heartwarming but ultimately unsettling tale.
Published on 16 May 2009 by Captain Pugwash

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Not what I expected
This was not what I expected at all, its an extremely small book and nothing like the movie, pretty disappointed.
Published 3 months ago by Susana De Freitas


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Graphic Button, 16 May 2009
With bonkers illustrations and a different ending from the film - well this is based on the original text - this is a heartwarming but ultimately unsettling tale.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars These negative reviews are NOT about the Wildside Edition, 27 April 2013
By 
John Betancourt "Publisher Guy" (Rockville, MD USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The Wildside Books edition is a facsimile reprint of the first edition. The reviews complaining about errors and bad design are about other editions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars heartbreaking, 10 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Really moving, I almost forgot he wasn't real and I found myself feeling actual pity for Benjamin and the life he lived.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Not what I expected, 24 April 2014
By 
Susana De Freitas "SuDFB" (London - UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was not what I expected at all, its an extremely small book and nothing like the movie, pretty disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, 23 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this as an ebook, having just bought a kindle, its a great read!

Highly recommended ebook or paperback!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A great read, 16 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this for my daughter. I have seen the film - excellent; and so far, she is enjoying the book. It arrived quickly and in good condition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A life lived backwards, 5 Jun 2011
I read this recently as part of a collection of Fitzgerald's short stories and have to say, that man was a genious; inventive, imaginative, creative..... I could go on.
I was prompted to look at this story in particular, having seen the film of the same name starring Brad Pitt and Kate Blanchett, I am sure Fitzgerald would have approved; to develop 35 pages into a 3 hour film, demonstrates considerable commitment and artistic endeavour.
However the credit goes to Fitzgerald whose idea of a life lived backwards is a useful illustratiion of how we are fixed in time largely by our ages and appearance, and a life lived outside of that is fraught with difficulties and dangers. I would urge others to both read the book and see the film, excellent companion pieces.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars brilliant stuff, but really, 30 July 2014
Really excited to see this free on kindle, brilliant stuff, but really, the typos are horrendous, does nobody spell check anything? Such a disappointment. 5star for Fitzgerald, 2 star for rubbish editing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The youngest old man in the world, 23 May 2010
By 
E. A Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
The idea behind "The Curious Case of Benjamin Button" is a very simple one -- what if a human being were born an old man, and aged backwards towards babyhood? It's an unusually whimsical idea for the legendary F. Scott Fitzgerald, but this short story explores it very well, with poignancy and a measure of humor.

In 19th-century Baltimore, Roger Button was horrified when he saw his newborn son -- a newborn son who is actually a wizened old man who speak, walk and is fully self-aware. Though Benjamin is dressed and treated as much like a child as possible, he has the sensibilities and habits of an elderly man. And by the time he's twelve, he finds that his aging is REVERSING rather than progressing.

As his life goes on, Benjamin must deal with the problems of trying to live a semi-normal life -- trying to enroll in college, working for his father, falling in love and marrying. But as his body de-ages, his mind does as well, and in his twilight years he begins to do all the things that young men of the time did, until his bizarre lifespan reaches its unnatural conclusion.

"The Curious Case of Benjamin Button" is one of those short stories that really leaves you wishing it were a full-length novel, just because the whole idea is so rich. While you more or less know how things will go for Benjamin Button, the pleasure is following his life as he changes and evolves, and how the world deals with a man who's aging backwards.

In particular, Fitzgerald seems to be taking some jabs at people who are so blinkered that the bizarre doesn't even reach them. Benjamin's wife and kid resent his de-aging, but they insist that the whole thing is a "joke" or his attempt to be "different from everyone else." His fusty son Roscoe is the worst ("It seemed to him that his father, in refusing to look sixty, had not behaved like a 'red-blooded he-man'").

Fitzgerald's writing is also sublimely atmospheric ("the eastern sky was suddenly cracked with light") with lush descriptions of everything about the world that Benjamin experiences ("her feet were glittering buttons at the hem of her bustled dress"). He also fills it with a sense of sorrow and lingering pain, since despite the outward success of his life, Benjamin is doomed to never live it normally.

"The Curious Case of Benjamin Button" is indeed a curious story -- strange, insightful and sometimes barbed in tone, but always amazingly written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 14 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Dreadful typesetting does not do justice to Fitzgerald's great stories, 29 Dec 2009
This review is from: Tales of the Jazz Age (Paperback)
This Serenity Publishing Edition states at the front that it 'is presented as is, without any warranties (implied or otherwise) as to the accuracy of the production, text or translation. If I'd known it said this I certainly wouldn't have bought it. I read one story and it had at least five major typesetting errors. Stray full stops in the middle of sentences, speeches indented incorrectly, it was a complete mess. The cover is a horrifically bad design too.

A complete waste of money and a disgrace to the work it publishes. They obviously do not care in the least about the literature they are publishing. It's terrible. I will be avoiding Serenity Publishers from now on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Tales of the Jazz Age (Penguin Classics)
Tales of the Jazz Age (Penguin Classics) by F. Scott Fitzgerald (Hardcover - 3 Nov 2011)
10.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews