Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


58 of 62 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A witty guide through the pitfalls of English usage
This book firstly relies on the reader being first pernickity about the use of language, second grouchy and third susceptible to Amis' (by this stage familiarly comic) right-wing act. Although there is little doubt that Amis held his political views firmly, he also revelled in the avuncular role of the curmudgeon, and it is in this light that the book should be viewed...
Published on 1 May 2001

versus
12 of 24 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Museum dust and mothballs
Kingsley Amis was very much a man of the 1950s. His greatest work, Lucky Jim, was published in 1954 and amongst other things poked fun at the stuffy, hyper-conventional world of that rather dreary decade. Iconoclast though he may have been, Amis never really came to terms with post-50s Britain, and as time went by his work became ever more out of joint with the times and...
Published on 21 Jan 2009 by Triestino


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

58 of 62 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A witty guide through the pitfalls of English usage, 1 May 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The King's English (Paperback)
This book firstly relies on the reader being first pernickity about the use of language, second grouchy and third susceptible to Amis' (by this stage familiarly comic) right-wing act. Although there is little doubt that Amis held his political views firmly, he also revelled in the avuncular role of the curmudgeon, and it is in this light that the book should be viewed. Published posthumously, The King's English (and an entry on the pun is included) sets out Amis' manifesto on the usage of the language. Any reading of his fiction will have shown preoccupation with the correct use of language. As befits an author so deft at writing comically realistic dialogue, this often appears in observations about the spoken word (for example, see the following exchange from Jake's Thing, between Jake and his new doctor:
'Now your trouble is that your libido [lib-eedo] has declined.'
'My what?' asked Jake, though he had understood all right.
'Your libido, your sexual drive.'
'I'm sorry, I'd be inclined to pronounce it lib-ighdo, on the basis that we're talking English, not Italian or Spanish, but I suppose it'll make for simplicity if I go along with you. So, yes, my lib-eedo has declined.'
The book lists Kingsley's musings in alphabetical order. He distinguishes between those abusers of the language he describes with the popular expletives for one who engages in onanism, and a person of uncertain parentage, and he details his shibboleths by which to judge the standard of a person's English. (Incidentally, Microsoft Word wants to change the word 'onanism', which it underlines in red, to 'unionism.' In The King's English, Amis puts his case for the typewriter over the word-processor, but he may have appreciated the right-wing revisions of my Microsoft software.) The tone is light, and the author frequently on the wind up, but the book does serve as a way to steer between correct use and over-correct use (where the writer would be subject to ridicule).
Not quite Fowler's English Usage, but an idiosyncratic, witty and as with everything Amis Senior, thoroughly entertaining addition to a reference shelf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars HIGHLY READABLE GUIDE TO WRITING, 18 Oct 2008
By 
Barry McCanna (Normandy, France) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The King's English (Paperback)
In this slim volume, Kingsley Amis imparts more wit and wisdom than you're likely to come across in tomes twice the size or more. It's a delight to read cover to cover, and then to dip into as the need arises. Whilst you're unlikely to agree with every one of KA's pronouncements, you will be stimulated to ask yourself why not. Although its primary aim is proper English, as opposed to the mongrel variety we are now subjected to on a daily basis, French expressions come in for discussion, as also does the odd Latin phrase. If you want to be highly amused, mildly exasperated and discreetly educated, then you will not be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good guide, 30 Nov 2011
By 
Stephen Hudson "Steve Hudson" (Keynsham) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The King's English (Penguin Modern Classics) (Paperback)
This is not meant to be a comprehensive guide to English usuage, unlike Fowler, of whom Amis is a big fan. Instead it is a collection of the commonest errors and Amis's pet dislikes.

Generally, I found him to be (surprisingly?) sensible guide. His recommended overall approach (which is very similar to Fowler's) is that neologisms and stylistic inventions should be resisted strongly at first, but to go with the flow once they become universal - because otherwise you risk being seen as a pedant, a fogey and a figure of fun. This seems sensible advice to me, and does his recommendation to put clarity of meaning first, even when this means breaking strict grammatical rules.

He gives some nice examples of the misuse of words - jejune is an brilliant one; the English word that have now turned into a French one with a new meaning.

There's the odd attempt at winding up the more politically correct (that'll be me then) such as the section on Womanese - the quasi-human language style often used by women. This is very unfair, but...he has a point.

Entertaining and useful - worth four stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Witty, opinionated, indispensable, 6 Feb 2003
By 
PB HUNT (Reading, Berkshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The King's English (Paperback)
I keep Fowler next to my desk, which works well as a reference book when you have a specific question. This is an ideal companion volume, and being much more digestible is in many ways more useful. It works best as a book to dip in to, and made me laugh out loud several times. A guaranteed cure for dogmatic pedants...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The funniest grammar book ever written!, 1 Oct 2013
By 
Philip Mayo - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Written during the reign of Her Majesty, Queen Elizabeth II, there can be no doubt that the title here refers not to the language as defined by the sovereign, but to the language as defined by "The King", as Kingsley Amis (KA) was known by, to some of his close friends.

Many of us are probably guilty of the mistake of assuming that the verbal dexterity shown by writers such as KA comes pretty naturally and that given the time and a bit of effort that there is no reason why most of us could not produce a novel or two without tripping up on points of grammar or meaning. Ahhh, but how mistaken we are. Writing is a skill as much as any other, and good writing is that skill at its peak, comparable to the skill of a concert pianist or a professional golfer or a master glass-cutter. High skills require innate talent, hard work and dedication. And it really should come as no surprise to find that KA had always to hand his Oxford English Dictionary and his copy of Fowler's Modern English Usage and that these reference books were his "Bibles" throughout his hugely successful writing career. And during those years he honed his own skills to such a degree that he could write this unique personal contribution to English grammar and usage. Who would have thought that a grammar book would make one laugh out loud? Well, this one does.

In "The King's English" KA provides us in a condensed form the fundamental knowledge that aspirant writers (and readers) should have, although as he points out, and as we know deep down, many writers do not seem to have this basic knowledge (read the newspapers and listen to daily radio for a constant stream of bloomers, (or is that bloopers?)).

So, here we have instruction and advice on:

The "dangling participle".
The "split infinitive" ("to boldly go." acceptable or not?).
Is it permissible to end a sentence with a preposition? YES!!
What's the difference between "illusion" and "delusion" ? ("..that the sun moves round the earth was once a delusion, and is still an illusion.")
When should we use "Classic" instead of "classical"? (Classic FM...correct?..apparently not!)
Beware of adding "ly" to already perfectly good adverbs...lastly, but not leastly! What nextly!!??

Kingsley gives us his views and guidance on these and on many, many other writing issues, all in his own inimitable and highly amusing style.

A last example - He includes a long list of French expressions that are often used in English, and he adds his advice on how to pronounce (and not to pronounce) them:

"liqueur" he tells us to pronounce "Lih-CURE", and he goes on to note that
"Any attempt to say "lee-cur" in a Frenchified way is a useful wanker-detector".

You really will laugh out loud a lot, and learn a lot too, when reading this absolutely wonderful book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Delightful, 9 Mar 2012
By 
Mr H Bolet (New South Wales) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The King's English (Penguin Modern Classics) (Paperback)
Reading through this informative and engaging update on the original "King's English" is a sheer delight. They don't make people like this any more! Intelligent but not overbearing. Witty. Brilliant. He must have been the perfect dinner guest - if you didn't refill his glass too quickly. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining and informative, 30 July 2011
By 
DebbieB (Southend-on-sea) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I enjoyed this fascinating book. I was surprised to find that it hardly seemed dated at all. Valuable and interesting ideas presented wittily and with the unique voice of Kingsley Amis. He would not have been happy however to spot the odd case of what he called 'preserving in mid-column a hyphen originally put at the end of a line to signal a word-break'. As I said in the title the book is both entertaining and informative.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A delight to be dipped into at will, 26 April 2009
By 
D.N.Wijewardane (Colombo, Sri Lanka) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The King's English (Paperback)
Idiosyncratic and witty, this meander through the 'correct' use of the English language is as entertaining as it is informative. Dry and wry but I enjoyed it thoroughly - for years. As it is structured like a dictionary, one can dip in at will. Highly reccommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Kingsley's English, 2 May 2013
By 
Mike Brecher (London & New York) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The King's English (Penguin Modern Classics) (Paperback)
'The King's English' deserves the praise heaped upon it. It's provocative and thought-provoking, informative and laugh-out-loud funny -- its one detractor on Amazon needs a sense-of-humour transplant, and fast!

What it isn't is definitive or exhaustive, but then Amis clearly didn't intend it to be. It's too slim a volume to be the latter and often too controversial to be the former. Rather, it's a selective set of musings on modern-usage issues that piqued the author's interest or ire; his take on them bursts more than a few bubbles that more conventional guides -- even those produced since Amis's death -- (let alone most English teachers) still want to keep aloft. No reader will agree with every one of the author's opinions -- that's a big part of the book's appeal -- but every reader will recognize that his motive is always clarity and unfussiness of expression. In my professional life, I frequently dip into style and usage guides, but 'The King's English' is the only one I know that warrants and rewards reading from cover to cover with no particular writing assignment in mind. Its lasting value is the way it channels the writer, without his or her even being aware of it at the time, towards a finer understanding of familiar (but usually misapplied) turns of phrase and a greater discernment in the use of the language.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Pour les Amis de l'Anglais, 9 Feb 2013
This review is from: The King's English (Penguin Modern Classics) (Paperback)
I happily endorse all the compliments showered on this book.

I've just looked up my own copy to see whether it mentioned one of my personal bugbears; it doesn't but it might have,were it being written today. The bugbear? The use of the phrase "to beg the question" when the speaker/writer means "to raise the question". Begging the q. means something quite different,but I am well aware that if this solecism continues to gain ground the day will come when it is accepted as good English. Poor old Kingsley will need plenty of turning space in his grave!

Douglas Wood
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb443a0a8)

This product

The King's English (Penguin Modern Classics)
The King's English (Penguin Modern Classics) by Kingsley Amis (Paperback - 2 Jun 2011)
7.53
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews