Customer Reviews


418 Reviews
5 star:
 (285)
4 star:
 (82)
3 star:
 (31)
2 star:
 (11)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


85 of 88 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely excellent - read it already!
Wonderfully entertaining stuff - this is essentially a pre-television soap opera, much like the novels of Dickens or George Eliot.
The essentials of the story are as follows: our hero is a young painter hired as tutor to a young heiress. The lady in question is remarkably pretty, innocent, sweet-tempered (etc etc) and inevitably our hero falls for her hook, line...
Published on 14 Mar 1999

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Hard to read
I found the language hard going and therefore gave up which was a shame because the plot seemed good .
Published 16 months ago by Angela Chambers


‹ Previous | 131 32 3342 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars A gem., 13 Sep 2007
Slow to get into but whatever you do, don't give up on it! Brilliantly written with a clever plot which twists & turns . It inspired me to immediately read 2 more books by the same author, which I enjoyed almost as much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars psychological portraits of modern characters from a bygone era, 20 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Absolutely gripping. These people could live today. However far fetched the story the behavior is strangely likely and the n l p the characters use on each other is astounding and believable. Charles dickens lies beaten
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Woman in White, 24 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was not a book that was quickly read or quickly told but had lots of twists and turns and would recommend it to anyone. A thoroughly enjoyable read and look forward to reading more by this author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I Couldn't Put It Down..., 3 Oct 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
...thank goodness I was on holiday and didn't have to!!
I love this book but most of all the mystery, the suspense and the split narrative between several characters.

Wilkie Collins is exceptional - this is my favourite book of all time and one of my copies is a first edition so maybe I'm a bit biased! I first read it about 10 years ago which, in turn, was about 8 or 9 years since my English teacher had banged on and on (and on and on!) about what a literary work of art The Woman In White is. Appears she was absolutely right!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A classic!!, 12 April 2010
By 
Ms. M. E. Ferrier (North East England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is a true classic, did find it hard at the beginning as it was written in the 1700's so the language takes a bit of getting used to. Not quite finished but it is well worth reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An excellently written story with amazing twists and turns that fascinate and draw you in, 31 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An excellently written story with amazing twists and turns that fascinate and draw you in. I couldn't put it down. Great character development. Long but worth a read. I'm on the 2nd time over!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A joy to read, 7 Feb 2005
I could not put this down. In fact, I have read it twice. Not bad for such a hefty tome. The suspense keeps you on the edge of your seat all the way through; the characters are so well drawn that you really get involved with their experiences and feelings, especially through Collins' clever decision to use the characters to narrate the story; the language just flows and takes you along with it. An absolute classic and a joy to read. Do yourself a favour and read this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 11 Oct 2007
By 
Didier (Ghent, Belgium) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
I simply cannot heap enough praise on this book. I must have recommended it to dozens of people over the years, and all of them came back begging for more of the same. When it comes to mystery stories that'll give you goosebumps all over even at the height of summer Wilkie Collins is second to none.

It's expertly written, with different characters as narrators for each chapter, and Collins is a master at creating suspense. Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 2 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Surprisingly enjoyable read,would recommend to anyone looking for a thriller/crime novel

Edition is good too, complete and accurate, really loved this book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars not my type of book, 15 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Extremely long detailed descriptions tgat are unnecessary fill half of the book. The story is narrated in a very slow manner and makes you lose interest very quickly
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 131 32 3342 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Woman in White (Clothbound Classics)
The Woman in White (Clothbound Classics) by Wilkie Collins (Hardcover - 1 Oct 2009)
£14.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews