Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful book
If you ask me, "In Praise of Older Women" is a book that every young male should read. From this perspective (and with hope I would've understood it back then) I am really sorry I haven't read it when I was younger. Simply, book is filled with wise sentences and truth about life.

Far from what one can expect after reading title and some of the reviews - this...
Published on 14 May 2010 by P. Tomasevic

versus
7 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Hype rules, okay
Stephen Vizinczey's novel has received a lot of attention recently. It comes across as a form of biography, and although the character of Andras is well drawn - and is an unusual one - I suspect a lot of the interest in this book is really vicarious - because we British can't imagine a sex life as prolific as Vizinczey's seems to have been. Otherwise, although this is an...
Published on 24 April 2010 by Obsessed Writer


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful book, 14 May 2010
By 
P. Tomasevic - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: In Praise of Older Women: The amorous recollections of Andrįs Vajda (Penguin Modern Classics) (Paperback)
If you ask me, "In Praise of Older Women" is a book that every young male should read. From this perspective (and with hope I would've understood it back then) I am really sorry I haven't read it when I was younger. Simply, book is filled with wise sentences and truth about life.

Far from what one can expect after reading title and some of the reviews - this book is not about sex. It is about thoughts and experiences of a young boy as who is walking down the road of becoming a man. In this book you won't find descriptions of explicit scenes that serve no purpose other than to arouse the reader. Every sexual act in this book is a piece of a bigger puzzle - a medium intended to communicate some idea on male-female relationships.

So, if you are looking something worthwhile to read - look no further - pick up this book and join the club of people who are wondering "How come this writer is not more well known?". I am sure that in no time you'll be searching for An Innocent Millionaire and Truth & Lies in Literature cursing publishers because other works of this author are out of print and hard to find.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Really Good Read, 26 Sep 2010
This review is from: In Praise of Older Women: The amorous recollections of Andrįs Vajda (Penguin Modern Classics) (Paperback)
'My father read "In Praise of Older Women" in the late 1970''s and enjoyed it. So, when I saw it in the shops, I wanted to see what all the fuss was about and to see if perspectives had changed over the years. Well from page one I was immediately taken into the world of a young mans view to life and his encounters, especially with women. As I sat outside of a cafe and read the first page I became so absorbed to the point that a waiter had to ask me if I wanted to move inside, as it was starting to rain. I looked up and indeed it was raining. With that I returned to reality. A real page turner right to the end...once again Dad was right. MKW
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "In Praise of Older Women" by Stephen Vicinczey, 13 April 2010
By 
This review is from: In Praise of Older Women: The amorous recollections of Andrįs Vajda (Penguin Modern Classics) (Paperback)
This book first came out in 1965 and swept the country's younger citizens (men usually)with its humorous slant on the allure of older women It has just been re-issued in Penguin Modern Classics. It is unashamedly about sex - in particular the initiation process insofar as it affects boys on the threshold of puberty and younger men.Brilliant stuff, and, bearing in mind that the author's first language is Hungarian, written in beautiful English. A laugh a minute, with some poignant moments, a thorougly excellent and unputdownable read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love a little, 13 Mar 2010
By 
Room For A View - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: In Praise of Older Women: The amorous recollections of Andrįs Vajda (Penguin Modern Classics) (Paperback)
This "fictional" memoir exudes warmth, compassion and acute observation coupled with the cramps of adolescent fantasies and clumsy amorous encounters. To some extent the work reminded me of Casanova's memoirs where this often misunderstood philosopher proclaims his eternal love of being in love. And Vizinczey/Vajda convey a similar attitude to the delights of women, their company and position in society. No surprise that marriage is seen as stifling, infidelity liberating and the passion of the moment all consuming. I enjoyed all Vajda's affairs and his complusion to seek out any opportunity no matter how hopeless it first appeared. For me the hero is immersed in the truth of being in love and not some shallow quest for selfish indulgence and arrogant bragging. Each chapter is headed by a quote and I think the most revealing is Kierkegaard: "The dread of life, the dread of onself..." Vajda lives for love and, in so doing, conveys a profound respect for older women that trangresses the youth obssessed banality of much of Western society. It is this aspect of the novel I wish to applaud for it shows that honesty, tolerance and a benign sensitivity can overcome our innate desire for self-gratification. About time this story was labelled a classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A beautiful read, 20 Mar 2010
This review is from: In Praise of Older Women: The amorous recollections of Andrįs Vajda (Penguin Modern Classics) (Paperback)
I really liked this book. It's basically about the young narrator's (Vajda) many and various sexual encounters with women in their thirties and forties in Hungary, Italy, and Canada. But it's so much more than that. Even though the novel is over 40 years old it's so refreshing to read a book that finds beauty on older women. "One of my chief irritations at the time was the blankness of the faces of my young girl friends," says the young Vajda of one married lover, Maya. "But Maya's face, with the fine lines of her 40 some years, expressed all the shades of her thoughts and emotions."

Vajda's many conquests are set against the various conquests of Hungary by the Austrians, Germans & Russians over the past centuries. It's as if Vizinczey is highlighting that no matter who invades Hungary human beings will continue to seek sex and love. Kingdoms and empires may come and go, promising refreshing newness - but love lives on, especially the love of older women. Especially the love of older women with their experience and history.

Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An Interesting Set of Reminiscences, Exploring the Amorous Drive of Older Women, 24 Nov 2011
By 
Clifford (Weymouth, Dorset, UK) - See all my reviews
The notion that older women make the most interesting and satisfying lovers is one of the most persistent in the general understanding of human relationships, and there are several reasons for believing in its veracity, particularly in cases where their partners are either virginal or barely experienced. This well-established novel explores the possible reasons in the form of an autobiographical account of the amorous progress of a young man from his early pubescence in his native Hungary during the transition from post-Nazi to Soviet occupation. The low priority of sexual mores during such times emerges as a clear influence on him. For me the book recalled the social situations described more ably by the similarly nationally occupied Czechoslovakians Skvorecky and Kundera, even though these authors eschewed the narrow focus of erotic education that dominates Vizinczey's novel. The supposed subject eventually leaves Hungary to pursue an academic career in Canada, opening a broader landscape of human relationships. The sociological backgrounds of the women who contributed to the education of the young narrator, necessarily twisted by their own, possibly atypical, experiences may well have influenced his analysis of their relationships with him, but their variety certainly adds richness to the descriptions of their needs and emotions. It's an interesting book, relatively clinical rather than erotic in its narrative style.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not only for Mrs. Robinsons, 23 Mar 2011
This review is from: In Praise of Older Women: The amorous recollections of Andrįs Vajda (Penguin Modern Classics) (Paperback)
From the first page on you will know this is a great book. It is one of those, you read and stop on almost every page, because what it says is so true, that you have to breathe in for a moment before you can read on. It is such a strong book, it can give you advice or comfort or ideas. Of course it's written in a man's perspective, but if you are able to swallow your feministic pride, you will enjoy the book the most.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars lierary style., 2 Sep 2010
By 
This review is from: In Praise of Older Women: The amorous recollections of Andrįs Vajda (Penguin Modern Classics) (Paperback)
This is writing littered with style, calm assurance and what comes across as a life of amazing chance and inocence.
Falling out of one bed and into another occurs with great regularity yet none of the partings appear to result in any kind of bitternes. If the writer and his hero could write a manual on how to achieve such amourous success it would surely be a raging best seller. 11 out of ten.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars humorous hungarian, 1 Aug 2010
This review is from: In Praise of Older Women: The amorous recollections of Andrįs Vajda (Penguin Modern Classics) (Paperback)
a great book with a middle european sense of humour and erotica a life lesson for the younger man!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars cheeky story and some fun, 23 April 2010
By 
L. G. Kutas - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: In Praise of Older Women: The amorous recollections of Andrįs Vajda (Penguin Modern Classics) (Paperback)
Amusing stories of a young man's introduction to sex by kindly ladies. His relationships are varied, but seem to show good taste and kindness/affection to his partners.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

In Praise of Older Women: The amorous recollections of Andrįs Vajda (Penguin Modern Classics)
£6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews