Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Poems by heart
I have really enjoyed reading Poems by Heart and can now recite all of Daffodils by William Wordsworth and The Owl and the Pussycat by Edward Lear.It is a handy handbag size and I carry it with me to browse through on my bus journeys to work.It has helped to pass many a rainy bus journey.
Published on 6 Jan 2010 by Ms. H. Henderson

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars poetry without rhyme
couldn't quite get into this book of poems, although I normally find poetry quite relaxing...most of these works I found a little difficult to understand from a poetic point of view " very little seemed to rhyme " or perhaps I have a limited view on this subject. sorry, but I wouldn't recommend it to a friend
Published 19 months ago by Aileen


Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Poems by heart, 6 Jan 2010
By 
Ms. H. Henderson (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Penguin's Poems by Heart (Paperback)
I have really enjoyed reading Poems by Heart and can now recite all of Daffodils by William Wordsworth and The Owl and the Pussycat by Edward Lear.It is a handy handbag size and I carry it with me to browse through on my bus journeys to work.It has helped to pass many a rainy bus journey.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's like having an old friend in one's pocket, 7 Sep 2010
This review is from: Penguin's Poems by Heart (Paperback)
This is a wonderful collection of poems. Yes, they're all very established - but that's the point. Each time you turn the page it brings a smile as another half-forgotten favourite is revealed. And I'd forgotten, too, how enjoyable it can be to learn a poem by heart and then to have it to mind whenever you want it. I can't recommend this collection highly enough - it even had a friend's teenage daughter rapt on a long coach journey from London to Bristol.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely charming, 16 Oct 2010
This review is from: Penguin's Poems by Heart (Paperback)
"Poems by Heart" is a well-chosen anthology of old favourites, and is a brilliant book to keep by the bedside table! Provides a poem for every kind of mood or occasion, and really is just lovely to have. I was pleasantly surprised to see some of my favourite poems in it (such as "To Autumn" by John Keats) and poems that I loved studying at school, which brought back some nice memories! "Poems by Heart" is a charming collection, and I would recommend it for anyone's poetry collection, as it contains some true classics!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Sweet Book, 2 July 2011
This review is from: Penguin's Poems by Heart (Paperback)
This is a sweet small book, it is attractive and has a good selection of poems, it was given to me as a present and I have since bought it to give to someone as a present.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Delightful, 11 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Penguin's Poems by Heart (Paperback)
I origionally bought this as a gift for my sister but then I decided to buy one for myself. It is such a delightful book and contains all my favourite poems. I love dipping in and out of it and my sister loves it too. I'm so glad I bought this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars poetry without rhyme, 23 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
couldn't quite get into this book of poems, although I normally find poetry quite relaxing...most of these works I found a little difficult to understand from a poetic point of view " very little seemed to rhyme " or perhaps I have a limited view on this subject. sorry, but I wouldn't recommend it to a friend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Penguin's Poems by Heart
Penguin's Poems by Heart by Laura Barber (Paperback - 28 May 2009)
£5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews