Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars enchanting memoirs
These wonderful snippets from a time we will never see again, of often quite eccentric ageing nobility and how they 'kept house' (OK, yes, I know there are still a few examples of those around these days... I've met at least one of them!). It is wonderful to read some of the nitty gritty on how these properties were perceived by a National Trust assessor as they slowly...
Published on 22 Mar 2010 by Bronwyn Reid

versus
12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Entertainingly snobbish
James Lees-Milne comes across in his numerous volumes of diaries as a thoroughly snobbish, upper crust personage who would have been happier living in the England of 150 years ago. Yet it has to be said that all his diaries - clearly written with publication in mind- are thoroughly entertaining and often funny.

His early adult years were spent visiting stately...
Published on 9 Feb 2010 by Donald Hollins


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars enchanting memoirs, 22 Mar 2010
By 
Bronwyn Reid "Life is Music" (Gippsland, VIC Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Some Country Houses and their Owners (English Journeys) (Paperback)
These wonderful snippets from a time we will never see again, of often quite eccentric ageing nobility and how they 'kept house' (OK, yes, I know there are still a few examples of those around these days... I've met at least one of them!). It is wonderful to read some of the nitty gritty on how these properties were perceived by a National Trust assessor as they slowly crumbled away through lack of funding, taxes, decline following the ravages by army possession during WWII and so forth. This guy was very fortunate in being personally acquainted with a number of the owners and their extended families, and often stayed as a favoured guest. It is a fun journey, and includes some great insights into properties that we are privileged to see first-hand these days, half of them now National Trust-owned, and half maintained by other means. I just wish I had this great little book to refer to when I've visited some of these locations, and hope I will remember it next time I get the chance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great taster for the full diaries!, 12 April 2010
By 
Stephanie Latham "Boover22" (Melbourne, Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Some Country Houses and their Owners (English Journeys) (Paperback)
I really enjoyed this small pamphlet style booklet. Lees-Milne is a scream and an absolute prime example of his vintage. Some say that he is very snobbish and upperclass with dreadfully old fashioned opinions - well, of course he is and that is why his diaries are such a success - he was writing about his own kind - but with a humourist twist. Can't wait to finish reading all the other diaries. Lovely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining, 27 Feb 2011
This review is from: Some Country Houses and their Owners (English Journeys) (Paperback)
Written in short paragraph style, the author relates the discussions and behind the scenes activities relating to houses endowed to the National Trust and those that weren't (for various reasons). The author's air of superiority pervades his writing which I found amusing but others may find irritating. Interesting to understand the problems behind endowments to the National Trust and the eccentricities of the landed gentry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Abridged J. L-M, 13 Jun 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Some Country Houses and their Owners (English Journeys) (Paperback)
This small paperback is best considered as a knap-sack filler for light additional reading for those about to visit the houses mentioned therein. Those who have already bought the diaries will find it superfluous.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Entertainingly snobbish, 9 Feb 2010
By 
Donald Hollins (Gloucestershire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Some Country Houses and their Owners (English Journeys) (Paperback)
James Lees-Milne comes across in his numerous volumes of diaries as a thoroughly snobbish, upper crust personage who would have been happier living in the England of 150 years ago. Yet it has to be said that all his diaries - clearly written with publication in mind- are thoroughly entertaining and often funny.

His early adult years were spent visiting stately homes that might be suitable for the National Trust to take over. Frequently he would visit a venerable pile in which the elderly owners were living in conditions of penury, perhaps just occupying a room or two with minimum heating in midwinter. Such owners seldom had enough money to endow their properties and without this the National Trust seldom accepted a house.

This short paperback is a pleasant, often humorous read that will be of particular interest to members of the NT.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A bit of fun, and quite humourous at points, 24 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Some Country Houses and their Owners (English Journeys) (Paperback)
A bit of fun, and quite humourous at points. The descriptions of the fittings of country-houses got a bit boring but the book was rather short so I didn't give up on it. And if you're excited by upholstery you'll be begging for more. If like me you are more interested in characters then there is also plenty on offer here. I only wish he would have gone into more detail, and not held back so much as is evident at several points. Anyway, worth a read I'd say.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Country Houses, 20 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Some Country Houses and their Owners (English Journeys) (Paperback)
A very good book really enjoyed it.Deserves a place on anyones book shelf. I passed it on to my sister who nalso enjoyed it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Early days of the National Trust, 17 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Some Country Houses and their Owners (English Journeys) (Paperback)
James Lees Milne's reviews of some early houses acquired by the Trust and their owners are pithy and give unique insights. It has made us (1) make a list of the NT houses we want to see as a result of this book and (2) order copies of J LM's diaries to read them in longer form, plus others
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amusing, 12 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Some Country Houses and their Owners (English Journeys) (Paperback)
Written in short snippets and a v.small book which makes it good for popping in a pocket and reading when there are 2 mins spare.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of my desert island books, 28 April 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Some Country Houses and their Owners (English Journeys) (Paperback)
Short though this book is, it would be one of the eight books I would take to my desert island. At least as fascinating as the houses JLM visits during his many years with the National Trust are the characters who own them. He writes with affection and has a gift for description. You feel you've met them all - or if you haven't, you want to. This is a rare trip back to an age of social change and the end of an era. A classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Some Country Houses and their Owners (English Journeys)
Some Country Houses and their Owners (English Journeys) by James Lees-Milne (Paperback - 2 April 2009)
£5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews