Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Prime Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars31
4.7 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 26 March 2006
I am not in the medical profession, however, do struggle with my own and other family members' mental health problems. Until now, I had never read a description or analysis of the process of schizophrenia which seemed to be true of what I have personally witnessed. Laing has utmost regard for patients and a real interest in trying to understand them. Unlike most of the psychiatric world which is now hung up on diagnosis and categorisations above all else and at the cost of the individual's needs. I feel better equipped and more able to understand what mental processes the concept of schizophrenia is founded upon, and as such, less resistant to psychiatry in general.
33 comments|49 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 October 2001
There is little specific to say about this book beyond what has already been noted in the previous excellent and lengthy review. All I can do is re-itterate that Laing provides the most powerful, moving and utterly convincing account of the causes and development of mental illness.
The most important contribution of Laing is that he has shown mental illness to be an extreme outcome of our UNIVERSAL anxiety about 'being in the world' and of inter-acting with others. As such, he gives the mentally ill a dignity, humanity and sense of 'normalcy' denied them by both medical psychiatry and traditional Freudian and neo-Freudian psychotherapy. This is a book which did and continues to change minds and lives. It simply must be read by anyone interested in psychology, social science and the human condition.
For those persuaded by its thesis I would also strongly recommend the work of Ernest Becker who draws on many of the insights of Laing and other writers in the existential-psychotherapy tradition. In particular search out his 'Revolution in Psychiatry' and 'The Denial Of Death'.
0Comment|62 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 June 2001
The Divided Self - by R. D. Laing
This book constitutes the definitive attempt to provide an existential account of madness. The traditional approach to understanding madness sees it as a clinical entity, largely divorced from any relevance to the personal or social aspects of the suffering person's life
This book is probably the most intelligent and in depth attack on such a position. Laing argues that madness is not due to chemical imbalances in the brain or any organic disease, and any attempt to understand madness as a pathological process is doomed to failure because it inevitably treats the patient as an object. The book is a logically developed and sustained argument that madness can only be comprehended as the desperate attempts of the individual to integrate their own fragmenting psychological structure. Although the failure to do so is the almost inevitable result, leading ultimately to madness. seen from an existential perspective the process is understandable.
Laing himself puts it "...its basic purpose is to make madness, and the process of going mad comprehensible". Laing achieves this purpose brilliantly through the use of case studies. The greatest achievement of the book, I think, is the way in which Laing explains to the reader how, gradually and systematically, a suffering individual "progresses" from a schizoid, but sane state of mind to a schizophrenic, insane state of mind.
Laing's description of this process is both poignant and tragic. The reader is left with a profound insight into the world of madness, the nature of which I have not come across anywhere else. As a consequence of Laing's existential analysis, an explanation of delusions becomes possible, which is consistent, relevant and faithful to the suffering individual's experience. Therein lies Laing's further contribution, that of providing dignity and humanity to individuals who have been, and still are, deprived the status of being human.
Clearly then, is an attack on traditional psychiatry. The first two or three chapters set out Laing's theoretical objections to this traditional approach. Laing also sets out here his justifications for the use of the existential approach. Subsequent chapters develop Laing's ideas on ontological insecurity, the false-self system and self-consciousness into a cogent existential account of madness. Indeed the book could be read as a study in applied existentialism; although Laing makes clear it is not a direct application of any established existential philosophy.
The book is at times repetitive, and the existential and psychoanalytic jargon are sometimes stumbling blocks to understanding. The book is also not an easy read.
A classic of psychological and psychiatric literature this book still retains it relevance with the way in which it reminds us that the mad are still human. One can learn more about schizophrenia from this book than from a whole shelf of psychiatric text books. This may be Laing's vindication and greatest accolade.
B Price
11 comment|78 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
A book that has stood the test of time extremely well, as Laing operated in the dark ages and beamed a light forward, sometimes it roared as a brazier but often shone with the flicker of a match.

Searing all preconceptions, he took away the certainties of madness to replace it with vagaries. No longer a fixed problem, madness now became subjective, something negotiated between doctor patient and the outside world.

Laing believed that people were psychotic and schizophrenic, it's just he did not believe there was an illness as such, but a condition, a reaction to the world. When the ontological security becomes shattered by an extreme event, outside the norm then the uncertainties of the universe rush in, showing how reality taken for granted and upheld as a norm is inherently fragile.

As it shatters externally so it fragments internally, into small silent pieces. Madness is a retreat into the inner citadel to cope with the fragmentation.

Other issues he touches upon is being born without being loved and the struggle that ensues to try and find meaning and the problems that result when this is no longer present, the person wears a mask and pretends.

Incorporates a devastating critique of science as a belief system along with various cse studies. Laing takes apart commonly held believes, holds them up for inspection and then places them back. The world is never the same again.

He exhibits a ferocious intelligence building on Fromm Reichmann, Sartre, Jaspers, Nietzsche, Kierkegaard, Janet, Kafka to create a tour de force. The concepts may appear alien depending on the brute ideologies inculcated beforehand, but once understood, Laing offers a pair of X Ray eyes to see the world as it is, not how it wants to appear.

Therefore only for those who want to break on through to the other side
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 28 August 2004
I write this review as a psychiatric social worker. I have been doing this job for about 5 or 6 years and have discovered that the psychiatric system in this country basically reacts to people with schizophrenia as if all their remarks - which certainly often sound pretty strange - are unintelligible and without significant meaning. The more weird stuff a patient comes out with the more important it is to give them medication to block out the thoughts they are having.
In the training I had Laing was briefly discussed but no real attempt was made to convey the sense of his teaching. He suggests, as other reviewers have explained, that mental illness is intelligible, even logical, and by implication at least to some extent treatable with a genuinely therapeutic approach.
By the late 1970s Laing's work was being confidently dismissed by the psychiatric establishment but recently a lot of work has been done picking up the themes expressed in Laing. People might want to look at the work of Mary Boyle, Lucy Johnstone, and Romme and Escher. However no-one explains the process of going mad more convincingly than Laing in my view and to read him now is amazing because it seems to me in the profession now so few people even think of actually trying to understand schizophrenia.
Some of Doris Lessing's novels are also very good on the nature of madness - try 'The Four-Gated City'.
0Comment|36 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 March 2010
This is the most interesting and fascinating book on psychology I have read. I first came across it a long time ago and no other book on human behaviour has had the same impact.

This book gives the most thorough and precise explanation ever, of how and why, a person may become insane, and to read it is a quite incredible experience.

There are insights here not just on why people labelled schizophrenic behave the way they do, but on the sorts of anxieties and fears that all humans are plagued with, and more importantly, how the transition from 'normal' to 'mad' can occur in anyone's life.

'The Divided Self' is R D Laing's best book. His other works are really just additions to this. Even his later, far more radical works - which made him such a famous, iconic figure - do not possess the same power and depth of analysis as this, his first book.

'The Divided Self' was written 50 years ago, and even though some of its ideas will inevitably have been supplanted by modern medical science, much of it is still very valuable and relevant today.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 February 2010
Published in 1960, R.D. Laing's `The Divided Self' was a key text for the 1960's counterculture. It offers a new approach to the understanding of schizoid and schizophrenic personalities, based on the notion that they are the result of the divided self: the creation of a false self to present to the outside world, prompted by insecurity as to one's own identity, which insecurity is itself the result of social factors, especially family ones, in Laing's view. Schizoid personalities are characterized by self-consciousness, feelings of unreality, and a sense of alienation from self. Schizophrenia involves these characteristics taken to pathological levels. Many of Laing's case studies seem to have been unusually `good' children; that is, pliant and uncomplaining. Such pliancy involves a reliance on others (usually the parents) to guide and validate one's actions, and a consequent absence of sense of self. This can lead to schizophrenia in adolescence and adulthood.

Laing's approach was revolutionary in seeing schizophrenia as a response to social pressures, and taking a human and empathetic view of schizophrenia and other psychotic states, rather than trying to fit each case into a preconceived mould. Schizophrenics are people who have reacted in a certain way to their social experiences, as opposed to having some medical condition alien to the rest of us. His idea of the divided self is as relevant now as it was in 1960, if not more so. For what sensitive and intelligent person in contemporary western society is not aware of having to create something of a divided self to carry on one's interactions with the outside world? `A face to meet the faces that you meet', as Mr. Eliot put it. I, for one, and this is not intended as an admission of mental illness on my part, found myself able to empathise with many of the patients Laing describes. Overall, I found this a very interesting and sensitively-written book, although the first two chapters are quite theoretical and abstract, and the most difficult of the book. After that, though, it becomes quite compelling.
11 comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 September 2010
Incredibly insightful book, totally given me a new insight into life, people, relationships. Could not recommend it enough, one of the best books I have ever read, and I only came across it by chance (was actually displayed in a museum exhibit).

I think this book can really help people, I'd say to anybody interested in this topic, just buy it immediately, I actually think it could change your life, for the better.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 May 2008
... only for those with schizotypal personality disorder the mask ceases to be a defence, it corrodes the fragile self of the sufferer, turns against its wearer and can ultimately lead to full schizophrenic psychoses.

I get the impression on reading this book that RD Laing was responsible for injecting some much needed humanity into mental health treatment back in the sixties. As a support worker in mental health today I find much of Laing's emphasis on the subjective experience of the sufferer as relevant and important, yes, but at the same time quite obvious. Anyone reading Thomas Paine's Rights of Man will have much the same reaction, that after so long and so much change much of the book's radical feel has been lost. But skip back to four or five decades before the term person-centred-care was thought up, back to a time when anything ostensibly incoherent from a patient was written off as merely the `symptom of a disease', then we can begin to feel thankful that at least someone in fifties Glasgow was paying attention to what Heidegger and Sartre were up to.

The book is split into three parts. The first defines the idea of ontological insecurity (the dread of implosion, engulfment or petrifaction a person's identity) and ways of approaching the patient as a person and not as clinical material. The second explores Laing's version of the false-self system, a fatal defence mechanism whereby a person will remove themselves to the bell jar in order to protect but ultimately starve what they consider their inner `true' selves; we find here examples of people who, though clearly disturbed, have not as yet lost their capacity for coherent action in the world. The third part attempts to reveal what it means when that coherency does break down.

Laing's position, that objectivity in this field is not only pointless but impossible, and his insistence on a therapeutic engagement with distressed people on their own terms, allows him to provide a persuasive narrative for the descent into schizophrenia. He shows that people do not simply `go mad', but that each patient contains a history detailing their own slow and involuntary self-destruction. The book reads as a descent by-proxy from the relatively minor condition of a man who can only enjoy imagining having sex with his wife (just to be clear, yes, he is getting some), to the final condition of the `dilapidated hebephrenic', in her own words "born under a black sun", who must be found out between her other fragment selves after nine years of abandoned consignment to the agitation wards of a psychiatric hospital. Laing has written as much a tragedy here as a psychology book, as much worth reading for its emotional impact as for the clarity of his theory. Definitely recommend it.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2015
As a mental health professional this is the one book I would always recommend to my students. Its one of the oldest yet most profound works on a condition that I have found is very hard to fully understand or 'feel'. Laing's descriptions of what the schizophrenic battles with especially in interpersonal communications and relationships has in my opinion not been bettered. He speaks as though having been inside a mind that is afraid to feel, love , or share life and these are the most important elements from the perspective of those who are carers and loved ones of those with this mystifying illness. Pharmacy and the medical model, health services web sites, even more enlightened psychiatrists add to the many trying to understand and help but often fall short. This book draws the veil back and gives us a glimpse as to why. I urge anyone who works with . tries to treat, care for, and or loves anyone whose in the cave of schizophrenia to read it. Eternal respect and thanks to the great RD Laing who wrote this at a very tender age yet shows the insight of one who has lived a lifetime. Thank You
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)