Customer Reviews


36 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Facinating Reading
Intoxicating account of Mr Brenan's arrival and adventures in the Alpujarra, Andalucia in the 1920's. After all these years, his observations and humour still strike a chord. Even if you are visiting the Costa Del Sol on for the sun or golf, read this for an insight to the "real" Spain and its history - just few miles inland.
Published on 16 Jan 2003 by Ken Murray

versus
40 of 48 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars South From Granada
If you're looking for a travel guide of the Sierra Nevada, then this book isn't it. It's Gerald Brenan's account of his experiences of village life in the Alpujarra (near Granada) just after the 1st World War.

It's well written, and his descriptions of people, village life and intrigue are excellent. What he wrote about local food and customs is interesting,...
Published on 19 Jan 2003 by DicKip


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Facinating Reading, 16 Jan 2003
By 
Ken Murray (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Intoxicating account of Mr Brenan's arrival and adventures in the Alpujarra, Andalucia in the 1920's. After all these years, his observations and humour still strike a chord. Even if you are visiting the Costa Del Sol on for the sun or golf, read this for an insight to the "real" Spain and its history - just few miles inland.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


40 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SOUTH FROM GRANADA BY GERALD BRENAN, 23 Sep 2002
By 
Mr J K Mallabone "Mallie" (Gloucester, Gloucestershire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This book has to be a must for anyone living or travelling in the southern most parts of Spain. It clearly paints a picture of the life and times of a nation and its people, who in a short period of time have moved from a society living in part, a medievial life style, through to civil war, and the threshold of the modern state Spain has become today.
Brenan tells a tale of village life,and of the people who lived there, and records their folk-lores, customs and history; and also of the visitors to his home, Virginia Wolf, Dora Carrington, Lytton Strachey and Augustus John, and of their connections within the Bloomsbury group.
The places are real, they are still there, and through this book a modern day visitor can travel back in time and with just a little imagination, recreate those the scenes and passions of 80 years ago; of Yeger, the village for severn years his home, and of the cities of Granada and Almeria and the mountains of the Sierra Nevada.
It is a delightful book full of colour and once started you may find very difficult to put down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A true taste of old Spain., 25 Jun 2007
By 
C. Lamb (Edinburgh) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is a true classic from Gerald Brenan. After WW1 the author was close to breakdown, desperate to experience poetry and literature and the recipient of a small war pension. His solution was to travel to a remote village in the South of Spain, take 2000 books and soak in the atmosphere and learn how to love once again. His journey is understated, educated, intelligent and human.

It is no picture book. It is a true snapshot taken through the eyes of a would-be Bloomsbury boy who had experienced the Empire, the Somme and physical illness and who then decided to actually pay attention to the world sarrounding him.

Brenans description of the personalities, geography, love affairs and society he encounters are glorious to me. There is no vanity or laziness in the writing. As his lifestyle is stripped to necessities so is his writing. Yet it is free and beautiful and evocative in many places. So many modern travel writers try to recreate life as a gaudy, filter-enhanced, postcard picture of the places they are subsidised to visit. Gerald Brenan captures a clear, gentle, colour snap of his life spent in Yegen during a period of time when black and white was all the camera could capture. Perhaps that is the reason it seems to have been so important for him to record it faithfully.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars south from Granada, 14 Jan 2011
This review is from: South From Granada (Penguin Modern Classics) (Paperback)
I bought this book after being recomended it while on Holiday in the Alpujarra. It is a very enjoyable book to read, never hard work to understand, and I can happily pick it up and enjoy a few pages when I have the time. The book gives a very interesting account of the Alpujarra region in the early 1920's, how Gerald managed the traveling with very few roads, where he stayed and detailed pictures of daily life for the local people. I would recomed it to anyone who loves this region of Spain and has an interest in History.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars South from Granada by Gerald Brenan, 5 Feb 2009
This review is from: South From Granada (Penguin Modern Classics) (Paperback)
I bought this as a present for a friend. I read it a few years ago. Excellent account of living in Alpajarras area of Andalucia in 1920s Spain.
Highly recommended for those interested in social history and as a well written personal experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Muy muy agradable, 4 July 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: South From Granada (Penguin Modern Classics) (Paperback)
I enjoyed this book so much that I had to ration myself, just reading a chapter at a time while I had another book on the go. Of course I may be a little prejudiced as a Spanophile, but I do not remember doing that with any other book. Brenan's writing style and his intimate knowledge of the Alpurra and their people paint a vivid picture of a life style that had existed for millenia but has now largely disappeared. It should delight you whether you know the area or not.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Social History, 17 Aug 2010
By 
Robert J. D. Innis (Spain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Being an Expat myself - I loved this book - so interesting to read about Expat life 90 years ago. How simple life was then but they still seemed happy and satisfied. A marvellous piece of social history. Cannot understand why Hemingway and Orwell are more popular. (I read the original version)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars South from Grenada, 22 Nov 2009
This review is from: South From Granada (Penguin Modern Classics) (Paperback)
An absolutely superb read. Would not hesitate to recommend this to anyone who is living in Andalucia - a must read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Visceral travel literature, 15 Feb 2006
By 
Mr. D. M. Swanson (Highbury Corner, London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I read this book before spending three weeks in Granada with the weekends in the Alpujarras. I have never been better prepared by a piece of fiction for a holiday. The prose is superb, and the stories are enticing. Naturally, excessive tourism has changed the areas that Brenan discusses, but the spirit of the book can still be seen. This book can bring some of the magic of the area to armchair readers, or is the perfect complement to an Andalucian break. Beats the Lonely Planet Guide any day of the week!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


40 of 48 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars South From Granada, 19 Jan 2003
By 
DicKip (London, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
If you're looking for a travel guide of the Sierra Nevada, then this book isn't it. It's Gerald Brenan's account of his experiences of village life in the Alpujarra (near Granada) just after the 1st World War.

It's well written, and his descriptions of people, village life and intrigue are excellent. What he wrote about local food and customs is interesting, but I found less compelling.

If you're visiting the area, then you should read this book to capture some of the atmosphere, which may still be found today, although perhaps not now quite as primitive as described by Brenan.

He also captures glimpses of the Spanish character, which he describes well and which are very useful to anyone new to the area.

A rewarding read, which was enough to make us hire a car from Granada and go and see for ourselves - we were not disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

South From Granada (Penguin Modern Classics)
South From Granada (Penguin Modern Classics) by Gerald Brenan (Paperback - 29 May 2008)
6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews