Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Breath taking in its scope. An American classic.
The first time I read Ragtime I was pregnant and so my over zealous enthusiasm for this book was put down to hormonial overload by everyone who knew me. I have since given birth, regained hormonal stability and re-read the book. It's even better second time around. It's a true "can't put it down" classic, leaping from chapter to chapter, pulling you through the...
Published on 23 Jan. 2001

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Divided by a common language
Unlike most of your reviewers, I did not enjoy this book. I found the mixing of real and fictitious persons confusing and thought the characters lacked depth. The actions of Mother's Younger Brother seemed inexplicable, and Coalhouse Walker could only exist in fiction. There is no real feeling of the widespread poverty of the time, or of the pace of change.
Since...
Published on 9 April 2011 by Hugh Sedon


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Great service., 11 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ragtime (Penguin Modern Classics) (Paperback)
Exactly as described, on time and with a bookmark!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Could this book be any better?, 4 Mar. 1999
By A Customer
I have long searched for a book that could grasp me the way E.L. Doctorow's did while I indulged myself in his cleverly woven masterpiece of modern time. Yes, I am only a sophomore in High School, but I still appreciate a good book when I see one. I am responsible for creating a 40 minute oral report on this work, and beleive strongly that you won't, for one second... See a frown on my face.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ragtime- a students review, 18 Mar. 2007
Ragtime is a cleverly formed masterpeice of interwoven narrative threads that interact and weave in and away from each other with fluency and unprediction. The main authorial concerns found in the book are the numerous subtle steps that form into a leap of change found in the historical, cultural and social elements of the time. Things such as discrimination, sexual attitude and the contrast between three seemingly contradictory families and the battles they each face, paints this major idea of change within the book. Without any major signs of the authors posonal viwes, values and contexts of the time, leaves the essence of the book largely untainted and relatively unbias. An excellent read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars what a book!, 12 Feb. 2013
By 
L. J. Burns "evapor8" (bournemouth, uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ragtime (Penguin Modern Classics) (Paperback)
outstanding. if you haven't read this your in for a treat. just read it, it really is worth your attention. that is my opinion anyway im no critic
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Divided by a common language, 9 April 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ragtime (Penguin Modern Classics) (Paperback)
Unlike most of your reviewers, I did not enjoy this book. I found the mixing of real and fictitious persons confusing and thought the characters lacked depth. The actions of Mother's Younger Brother seemed inexplicable, and Coalhouse Walker could only exist in fiction. There is no real feeling of the widespread poverty of the time, or of the pace of change.
Since reading the Updike Rabbit masterpieces, I have not had much joy with American novels (The Secret History apart), having recently been disappointed with The Road, Revolutionary Road and, now, Ragtime. Perhaps, after all, we are divided by a common language.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Great American Novel!, 30 Oct. 1998
By A Customer
My uncle took me to see the musical of Ragtime in New York and I liked it so much that he then bought me the book. I finished it in 2 days and although sometimes it's very different from the musical, I would put it as Number 1 on the list of my favorite books. Buy this book and the Ragtime double-CD NOW!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Nothing Special, 15 Jun. 2010
This review is from: Ragtime (Paperback)
Despite all the factual information I didn't really learn anything about "Ragtime" America. Neither did the book make me connect with any of the characters. In all honesty this was a bit of a pointless book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 19 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Simple, 25 April 1999
By A Customer
Ragtime is a clever, well-written, easy read. It contains a wee bit of controversy, a tincture of novelty, but none of the didactic truths upon which depends the immediacy of art.
Based on this book, readers believe that E.L. Doctorow is one of America's finest living authors? Poor, poor America.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ragtime (Penguin Modern Classics)
Ragtime (Penguin Modern Classics) by E. L. Doctorow (Paperback - 2 Feb. 2006)
£6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews