Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Old Ladies, the Apocalypse(?), and Death by Chocolate!!!
The Hearing Trumpet is deliciously funny and irreverent; Surrealist painter/author Leonora Carrington's apocalyptic tale is filled with gems such as "Darling, don't be philosophical, it doesn't suit you, it makes your nose red." Filtered through the eyes and ears of Marian Leatherby, a 92 year-old inmate of a Spanish old folk's home (run by the cultlike Well of...
Published on 2 May 1998

versus
6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Worth reading, brilliant at times but ultimately flawed
This is a rather wonderful little book, which my 3 stars rating may give the impression of not being. It starts fantastically - although one has to have a taste for the wildly imaginative and surreal to enjoy it. In a few places it made me giggle out loud. So why three stars? Really for the ending - about 80% of the way through the book I do get the impression the author...
Published on 26 Oct 2010 by R. Newton


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Old Ladies, the Apocalypse(?), and Death by Chocolate!!!, 2 May 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: The Hearing Trumpet (Paperback)
The Hearing Trumpet is deliciously funny and irreverent; Surrealist painter/author Leonora Carrington's apocalyptic tale is filled with gems such as "Darling, don't be philosophical, it doesn't suit you, it makes your nose red." Filtered through the eyes and ears of Marian Leatherby, a 92 year-old inmate of a Spanish old folk's home (run by the cultlike Well of Light Brotherhood), the tongue-in-cheek tone and hilarious chracters make this book a refreshing surprise. Every copy I've ever owned has been stolen! From the first paragraph, the reader will see that Marian Leatherby and her friends are NOT LOL's (Little Old Ladies), and Leonora Carrington is not your average author. (She's truly hilarious, for one!) Read this book for its wacky imagery (a trompe l'oeil "furnished" tower, a pair of murdering religious quacks, termite engineering, wigs, marijuana-stuffed needlepoint pillows, and a 92 year-old lady swarming down ten stories of rope, for starters), then hide your copy from your well-read friends...or buy them their own!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Carrington's work is both dreamlike and socially relevant., 31 Oct 1997
By A Customer
This review is from: The Hearing Trumpet (Paperback)
Leonora Carrington's dream like tale of Marian, a plucky ninety-five year old, straddles the boundary between mad fantasy and insightful social commentary. Far from being a dry philosophical tome, it is a quick and thoroughly pleasurable read, yet it addresses issues of female identity with imagery that has become part of a sort of neofeminist canon. The image of the wolf sister and particularly the discovery of the Queen Bee will resonate with anyone who is interested in women's spirituality or related studies. The best thing about this book, however, is that it is so fantastically engaging that people of many ages and backgrounds will enjoy it thoroughly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Hearing Trumpet - Leonora Carrington, 12 Nov 2008
By 
RachelWalker "RachelW" (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Hearing Trumpet (Penguin Classics) (Paperback)
Wonderful. A fantastical, surreal fable that begins when a 92 year old lady is given a hearing trumpet by a friend and then overhears her family planning to dump her in an old people's home. Off she goes to a home where a collection of old women live variously in shoes, mushrooms and towers, and they are at the will of Dr Gambit, a man who preaches that they must discover inner Christianity during their stay. This, and what follows, is a hilarious, surreal, illuminating and quietly philosophical tale, the most obvious (and possibly least important) themes of which are age and perception. It's heart-warming, eccentric, and makes you glad to be alive. It turns into a stranger tale than I was expecting it to, but I would wholeheartedly recommend this: a unique and piercing little piece of fiction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Crazy Old Ladies in a Crazy Old Tale, 27 Sep 2010
By 
Simon Savidge Reads "Simon" (Manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Hearing Trumpet (Penguin Classics) (Paperback)
Marian Leatherby is given a hearing trumpet from her best friend (and the absolutely wonderful) Carmella. At ninety-two years of age Marian is living with her son and his family who really don't want her there and on the first evening she hides away to listen to them all she hears that she is soon to be sent off to a home for elderly women. Marian is aware that she might not be everyone's ideal house guest but this is her family and it's a rejection and an upheaval all in one. Though this book does deal with the pitfalls of old age it is by no means a morose tale, in fact its both giggle inducing and laugh out loud funny on several occasions.

She is soon made to pack her bags and is carted off to one of the strangest institutions that there could be. A place where the houses that these old ladies live in are made in the shape of giant shoes, igloo's, birthday cakes and mushrooms and where their inhabitants are almost as barmy. Marian becomes rather subconsciously obsessed with a painting of a winking Nun, Dona Rosalinda Alvarez Cruz della Cueva, who she soon learns was the founder of the institution with quite a bizarre and sordid past. Throw in a murder and a surreal almost apocalypse and you have one of the most bizarre yet brilliantly funny and original tale.

Discovering that Leonora Carrington was a surrealist painter made a huge amount of sense when I read Ali Smith's (who I like a lot) introduction to the novel. Carrington paints a setting which is completely cuckoo and yet also vivid and so you can easily picture these ladies heading to their toad-stools and the like after dinner in the grand hall. I will admit towards the end I did get a little bit lost and it took me a little while to realise I was reading a story within a story at another point, yet you do go with it no matter how doolally it gets.

As well as just how surreal it can be Carrington's characters and humour make this a real pleasure to read in parts. Most of the ladies at the institute be they evil, delightful or a bit racy were really enjoyable to read and spend time with. For me personally Carmella stole every scene she was in and had me in hysterics often for example as she thinks of ways of which to rescue Marian from dressing up as a nun to buying a helicopter, though she would have to win the lottery or marry a millionaire first, and rescuing her from above - in fact everything Carmella thinks and does has to go to the most unexpected of extremes. Marian of course as the narrator was also a joy and her darker wit really appealed to me.

It's not a perfect book and you might get lost here and there but if you want a highly original book that will have you laughing a lot and you can spend an afternoon with, as its only 144 pages, then I would highly recommend this be a read for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure Genius, 14 July 2011
By 
M. Dowden (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Hearing Trumpet (Penguin Classics) (Paperback)
With this short novel Leonora Carington has truly produced something that is pure genius, and the tale itself is timeless. When ninety two year old Marian is sent to a cheap old people's home by her family she finds herself entering a different world. From the weird housing to the residents and owners (with their religious views) this is certainly a world apart. Marian's friend, Carmella, is fixed in her opinion that the home is some kind of concentration camp and wants to help Marian escape.

With its take on religion, and how old people can be packed off by their children, along with fantasy and some sci-fi, with the world altering its axis, and the Knight Templars, this really pokes fun at the Catholic Church as well as other religions, and makes us think about that as well as how we treat the planet. On top of that, with murder in mind, a hunger strike, and the Old Religion myths, as well as 'buried treasure' there is so much to take in here. At times laugh out loud funny this book is more than just plain surrealism, it is full of satire, humour that is both dark and light, a fairytale, and in some ways a parable. There are also some illustrations by the author, a good introduction by Ali Smith as well, but be warned, one section is in small print that some may find difficult to read. All in all though, this is well worth reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One reality of older persons care, 30 Jun 2007
This review is from: The Hearing Trumpet (Penguin Classics) (Paperback)
I came to this book with some knowledge of care homes and some knowledge of the surrealist movement and so I was interested in the subject matter from two angles. I did not expect much, but was surprised to find I was reading a mini-masterpiece. Quirky and eccentric, it is true, but at the same time it strangely touches the reality of care. It also tears apart the phenomenon of the modern guru, and the characters have that life of their own that draws one into another world long after the book is finished. If you like drama, excitement or "realism", then avoid this book. If you are open about these things and are prepared to read it as you would a fairy tale (and indeed this is the way it must be read), then give it a go.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Hearing Trumpet, 20 Feb 2006
By 
Ruby Adams (Hertfordshire) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Hearing Trumpet (Penguin Classics) (Paperback)
Marian Leatherby, a 92 year old, not quite antiquated woman. Is given a gift of a hearing trumpet, only to uncover her scheming family have every intention of committing her to an institution for elderly ladies. It takes a considerable amount of coercion but Marian packs her bags and leaves her beloved cats with a close friend. Nevertheless the institution is no coventional one, by any means. The buildings are shaped like lighthouses and birthday cakes, the portrait of a winking abbess has a strange and secretive connection to the institution and the women who live there, and who is the woman in the tower? Read this book and be taken on copious amusing, mystical and extremely surreal adventures. Encounter the king of the wolves, the queen bee and many more fantastical creatures. It really is a truely wonderful book, I urge you to read this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bonkers, 9 Jan 2013
This review is from: The Hearing Trumpet (Penguin Classics) (Paperback)
I have been a fan of Leonora Carrington's cabalistic artwork for some time. At last I have managed to read what is considered her finest literary endeavour and I have so much admiration for this beautiful, bonkers book. The 92 year old narrator, Marian Leatherby, is an ingenious creation and the conversations she shares with her best friend Carmella are hilarious, brimming with drama, paranoia and affection. Marian is abandoned by her family in an unorthodox retirement home where the most hypocritical are religious zealots and each inhabitant lives in an unusually shaped villa (a boot, an igloo, a toadstool, etc). There is a book within the book, the story of a leering, levitating abbess who was the original occupier of the home, back in the days when it was full of orgiastic nuns.

The novel is full of the things that interested Carrington- arcane mythologies of the world and their accompanying symbolism, animalistic humans and humanistic animals, cataclysmic world events told with a surrealism that is somehow understated. But the most powerful thing for me is the fact that to many people a 92-year old woman is fit for nothing and deserves her incarceration. Carrington makes the woman her hero- a forgetful heroine, yes, one who is a little slower to understand, but a heroine none the less.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Hearing Trumpet, 7 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hearing Trumpet (Penguin Classics) (Paperback)
My only complaint about this book is that it was too short! A delightful story of pure fantasy, actually Alice in Wonderland kept coming to mind whilst I was reading it. The characters all come to life, I could actually see myself in a couple of them, which was rather amusing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars like a wild fairy tale, 15 July 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: The Hearing Trumpet (Paperback)
Leonora Carrington is awsome as an author - she doesn't let her imagination be chained by convention or by anything. What a vivid, strange world these characters live in. Marian (the main character) is awsome herself; full of character and spirit. Everyone I've lent this book to has enjoyed it. If it has a fault, it's that it ends too soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Hearing Trumpet (Penguin Classics)
The Hearing Trumpet (Penguin Classics) by Leonora Carrington (Paperback - 29 Sep 2005)
6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews