Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect Novel
As a dedicated 'Absurdist' I purchased numerous Albert Camus books. The Rebel and The Outsider (also called The Stranger) left me cold. I lost interest in the first few pages due to boredom. The Myth of Sisyphus is fascinating, although the first half is heavy going.
The Fall is outstanding. It was Camus's final work and his crowning achievement. Like Thomas Mann's...
Published on 20 July 2010 by Justice Peace

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A review of the book not the novel
The novel is excellent. Leaving that to one side - (who are we to review novels of this nature ?) I will briefly discuss the edition.

Firstly, the book itself is incredibly flimsy. The novel is short (just shy of 100pp) but that is not an excuse for an edition that looks like it came free with a Sunday newspaper. Penguin's dull editions have become a matter of...
Published 3 months ago by J. Evans


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect Novel, 20 July 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Fall (Penguin Modern Classics) (Paperback)
As a dedicated 'Absurdist' I purchased numerous Albert Camus books. The Rebel and The Outsider (also called The Stranger) left me cold. I lost interest in the first few pages due to boredom. The Myth of Sisyphus is fascinating, although the first half is heavy going.
The Fall is outstanding. It was Camus's final work and his crowning achievement. Like Thomas Mann's brilliant Death in Venice, The Fall is short novella and not a word is wasted. In fact I would suggest that no novel need exceed 100 pages. I read the entire book in a day and it was wonderful. I intend reading it many times because it is truly multi-layered and the work of a brilliant mind. On two occasions I found myself laughing out loud at Camus's observations on life's absurdity.
I am unsure if The Fall was written as a play, but it is ideal for the stage because the entire narrative is delivered by its single character, Jean-Baptiste Clamence, who describes himself as a 'Judge-pentitent'. You might notice that Jean-Baptiste is a thinly disguised nom de guerre for John the Baptist. Camus has of course chosen this name for good reason as you will discover. Indeed everything in The Fall has deep and insightful meaning - including the name of the novel.
Clamence is a post-Lapsian (or is it Lapsarian) Parisian lawyer (a fallen angel) living out his days in Amsterdam where he defends criminals in order to sustain his love of gin at his favourite watering hole, a seedy bar called Mexico City. There he meets a visitor to whom he tells his story. And what a story it is!
A central theme of The Fall is Judgement and how quick we are all to judge others, but how we hate to be judged. Camus asks who has the right to judge anyone: inside and outside the law. Religion is also a theme and Camus reminds us that the founder of Christianity was actively non-jugemental but his followers, or at least those who claim to be, have severely judged others to the point of torture and mass murder.
The Fall is packed with metaphor and our Judge-penitent prefers at all times to be physically elevated, looking down on the human 'ants'. A metaphor for the moral high ground of the preacher or courtroom magistrate.
I hope you get the picture. Please read this work of genius. I am off to read it again!
JP (Lapsus) ;)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Existentialist classic, 15 Oct 2009
By 
G. C. Brown "Neither them nor us" (Co. Down, N Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Fall (Penguin Modern Classics) (Paperback)
This powerful philosophical and psychological novel follows the story of one man's judicial dissection of his own motives and virtues revealing a shocking hypocrisy and ultimately causing a crisis of existence - a fall. As a way of finding some response to the absurdity of life and a need for confession to that which is greater than ourselves, the narrator of the story reveals his ultimate way of coping - as a judge penitent -giving up his freedom and drawing judgements of others through the confession of his own failings and accepting the meaninglessness of existence and the impossibility of truth and innocence. Not one for the "fun" section of your library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Fall, 5 April 2009
By 
Giles Ruffer - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Fall (Penguin Modern Classics) (Paperback)
"This, alas is what I am...but at the same time I hold out to my contemporaries a mirror."

You meet a man in a bar in Amsterdam and he tells you his life philosophy on slavery, freedom, religion, morality and love. Only it isn't you, but himself that he's talking to. Over five days and 100 pages, he goes over his thoughts and contemplates the guilt of seeing a girl jump into the Seine and not jump in after her.

This book is full of memorable lines and reminded me somewhat of Kierkegaard's 'Johannes Climacus' in that it's mostly just philosophical meanderings told through the thoughts of a fictional character. I once heard a Rabbi on transworld sport say "the best example is a living example." In contrast with that statement this book really doesn't stand for anything. But that's not the point.

Camus is a personal favourite and while I don't hold this work in as high a regard as The Plague or The Outsider, The Fall is still a good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Possibly my favourite Camus, 23 Jun 2009
By 
J. Green (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Fall (Penguin Modern Classics) (Paperback)
My favourite and arguably Camus's most successfull portrayal of society's absurdities is such a short read - you can finish it in one sitting - but incredibly thought provoking. Following the initially charismatic, egocentric exploits of prominent lawyer Jean Baptiste Clemance and his subsequent fall into obscurity, alcoholism and isolation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Scales Fall, 20 May 2012
This review is from: The Fall (Penguin Modern Classics) (Paperback)
It's funny how the things you can never tell your friends, you reveal to a total stranger with much philosophical aplomb. Jean-Baptiste Clamence tells the story of his self-realization to someone he meets in a bar. A story of how a well-to-do lawyer from Paris who thought he had his world by the balls discovered it was the other way round and he afterall is much like the rest of us. We play roles: showing people what we want them to see and being totally insincere. Fascinating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Nobel prize winning performance, 22 Dec 2010
By 
spiritus (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Fall (Penguin Modern Classics) (Paperback)
Camus is often remembered for Sisyphus and The Outsider but this is his finest hour. This is the book that won him the Nobel prize and was also regarded by Sartre as his best piece of fiction. It is indeed a much greater accomplishment than The Outsider which looks somewhat juvenile in comparison. I was introduced to this book by a philosophy tutor at university. He held it in very high regard. It has become one of my favorite works of fiction. What's the book about? It is about a barrister who gains a reputation as a virtuous and noble man who is always on the side of the underdog. He is feted by his peers and well known among the public at large but just at the peak of his career when he feels a sense of accomplishment with his achievements he has a sudden and shocking spiritual awakening through which he realizes that he is, in fact, an actor, a charlatan and, as he describes himself, a Pharisee. Thus by his own self-judgement he begins to fall from his position of social status because he is no longer able to believe in his formerly self-professed integrity. He has come to live in Amsterdam and is realizing his own salvation by confessing his tale to those who will listen.

This is a genuinely moving book whose motive is to explore what it means to be an authentically virtuous person. In doing so the author makes that quintessentially Christian observation that there is a wide gulf between taking care to create the impression that one is a good person and actually being a good person which takes humility and considerable effort to overcome a tendency towards egoistic self-aggrandizement. This book above all shows the deeply humane values at the heart of Camus' literary enterprise. I should add that I haven't read this particular translation but i can certainly recommend Justin O'Brien's which is still available through Amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars the Fall, 15 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent prose. I could not put it down. At one level the fate of man in mid 20th century after 2nd world war. At another level a psychological portrait of guilt and repentance. A must read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A review of the book not the novel, 3 April 2014
By 
J. Evans (Jersey, Channel Islands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Fall (Penguin Modern Classics) (Paperback)
The novel is excellent. Leaving that to one side - (who are we to review novels of this nature ?) I will briefly discuss the edition.

Firstly, the book itself is incredibly flimsy. The novel is short (just shy of 100pp) but that is not an excuse for an edition that looks like it came free with a Sunday newspaper. Penguin's dull editions have become a matter of serious irritation for me. Just because something is cheap doesn't mean it has to be ugly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Novel as Philosophy - Camus is highly original, 30 Mar 2014
By 
Christina (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
I would recommend _The Fall_, a
first person narrative of a barrister, a fellow
with an exceedingly high self-opinion. Through his actions and
thoughts, we soon discover he is flawed, and by the end of the book wonder whether he is not indeed entirely dissolute.

It is short pithy book written in beautiful, simple text, but with much food for thought.

The philosophical debate that this book
engenders relates to a famous painting from whence
the title of the novel is derived, which has
caused endless speculation about Camus' interpretation of the nature of 'integrity' and its corollary, 'corruption'
(the first person narrative is a barrister, after all).

As a highly stylised comment on hypocrisy and self-worth,
it is pure brilliance.

Highly readable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Camus' writing - however bleak and pessimistic - is often poignant and beautiful, full of aphorisms and immensely quotable., 25 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Camus was one of a number of post-war French writers who used the novel as a vehicle for their philosophy, using fiction to explore our place in the modern world. The story of 'The Fall', such as there is, unfolds not in actions or plot but in speech and the articulation of thoughts and ideas.

It consists of a monologue, spread across five days in Amsterdam and its environs, as the garrulous narrator Jean-Baptiste Clamance tells his story ("as soon as I open my mouth, the words pour out"). Clamance is a French exile who describes himself rather oddly as a "judge-penitent". Quite what he means by this will have to wait. He begins his monologue to an unnamed listener (the reader?) whom he meets in a sailor's bar he calls 'Mexico City' in the red-light district of Amsterdam and accompanies through the rain-soaked streets of the city at night. All the while he expounds his views on humanity, offering a jaded opinion of human freedom and liberty drawn from bitter experience. The monologue becomes a confessional, as though the narrator is overcome by a compulsion to speak, driven by a determination as dogged as that of the Ancient Mariner to tell his tale .

Camus wrote 'The Fall' in the mid-1950s and his setting is a Europe still recovering from the trauma of World War and preferring to forget the shocking events of that conflict. The world and mankind has descended into a Hell of its own making. The novel considers the question of how an intelligent person might formulate an intellectual response to such horrors, how to take any ethical stance in the face of absolute amorality.

'The Fall' is a short book, almost a novella, and just about sustains the narrative structure of a single character's monologue, which after a while can get somewhat wearing to read at length. In this edition, translator Robin Buss has captured the elegance of the author's pen, and Camus' writing - however bleak and pessimistic - is often poignant and beautiful, full of aphorisms and immensely quotable. The book was Camus' last finished work of fiction, published just four years before his death in a car accident in Villeblevin, northern France, on 4 January 1960.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Fall (Penguin Modern Classics)
The Fall (Penguin Modern Classics) by Albert Camus (Paperback - 6 July 2006)
5.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews