Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Remarkable
Following the death of his mother, thirteen year old Joel Knox travels to Alabama to live with his estranged father in a large, remote and decaying house where also live his step mother and cousin Randolph. He has never meet his father, and it seems upon arrival that he is not likely to meet him soon either, but that is just one of the many mysteries that will trouble...
Published on 12 Aug 2011 by Benjamin

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Description said would have a few marks. Very poor condition
The book although being a first edition had some sticky black gaffer tape attached around the cover which looks impossible to remove without ruining the dust jacket. I think the description should have detailed the exact problem with the dust jackect. I am very dissappointed with this product and feel a correct listing would have been - acceptable . Had it said this I...
Published 9 months ago by K. Readman


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Remarkable, 12 Aug 2011
By 
Benjamin (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Other Voices, Other Rooms (Penguin Modern Classics) (Paperback)
Following the death of his mother, thirteen year old Joel Knox travels to Alabama to live with his estranged father in a large, remote and decaying house where also live his step mother and cousin Randolph. He has never meet his father, and it seems upon arrival that he is not likely to meet him soon either, but that is just one of the many mysteries that will trouble young Joel, who is fast beginning to think is move South is at best a disaster, and at worst a betrayal.

But he finds friends in the form of a neighbour the rough and ready young tomboy Idabel, in Zoo the black help, and a black hermit who works charms. But he is also drawn to homosexual cousin Randolph; and his somewhat girlish good looks enamour him to most of those he meets.

Other Voices, Other Rooms is a beautiful story, as much from the way it is told as its content, rich in remarkable and imaginative metaphors that create a steamy atmosphere of the hot South; subtle in its depiction of the coming Joel's awareness of homosexuality; and full of insight - it is a most moving and captivating read, all the more remarkable considering the young age of its author, his first book.

This Penguin Classics 2004 edition contains an interesting introduction by John Berendt which adds much to our understanding of the novel, not least of which is its autobiographical content.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ghosts of the Old South., 22 Dec 2008
By 
Reuben (Edinburgh, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Other Voices, Other Rooms (Penguin Modern Classics) (Paperback)
This is Capote's debut novel and tells the story of Joel Knox, a thirteen-year-old boy sent to live with his estranged father in Alabama following the death of his mother. What he discovers there is a dilapidated mansion, his prim step-mother Amy, his witty and somewhat debauched cousin Randolph, and the mysterious absence of his father. Over the course of the novel Joel's transition from boyhood to adolescence and all the self-discovery that entails is traced with a deft, subtle pen.

This is a short novel at less than two-hundred pages, but each page is brimming with richly poetic language that brilliantly evokes the Gothic splendour of the Deep South. Characters and landscapes are conjured into life with powerful immediacy. Capote's words shimmer on the page, and I soon found myself hearing what I read in a luxuriant southern American drawl. This is a novel to be savoured for its ambitious, exuberant language, and it flows over the imagination like thick rounded syrup.

Read this, and immerse yourself in the mystical world of America's Deep South...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Masterful, 19 Jun 2013
This review is from: Other Voices, Other Rooms (Penguin Modern Classics) (Paperback)
This is a beautifully crafted work. At first I thought the extensive descriptive passages might get tiresome, but you are completely immersed in the world of these people. The themes of the novel are so daring and yet presented wonderfully.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars 'as if his heart were beating all over his body, and all undefined whisperings had gathered into one yearning roar', 16 May 2012
By 
sally tarbox (aylesbury bucks uk) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Other Voices, Other Rooms (Penguin Modern Classics) (Paperback)
Exquisite descriptive writing abounds in this short novel, a coming of age tale of 13 year old Joel Knox, sent to live with the father he has never met.
This really immerses you in the world of rural Alabama:
'Deep in the hollow, dark syrup crusted the bark of vine-roped sweetgums; like pale apple leaves green witch butterflies sank and rose; a breezy lane of trumpet lilies beckoned like hands lace-gloved and ghostly.'
The boy encounters a weird household- father ill in bed, strange stepmother and Cousin Randolph (an Oscar Wilde type character.) He befriends the house servant and Idabel, a local tomboy with her own issues.
Then the latter part of the book becomes hard to follow, but we see Joel starting to come to terms with his homosexuality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Read it and learn, 3 Feb 2012
By 
Vincent Creelan "Vincebelfast" (Newtownards N Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Other Voices, Other Rooms (Penguin Modern Classics) (Paperback)
I am not a big fan of Truman Capote as a person, just as today Stephen Fry annoys the hell out of me; BUT they both can write and have a style that is interesting and holds your attention. This tale is obviously based muchly on Capotes early life, or what he might want us to believe although it wasnt until much later in his life that he addimtted this. It is intruiging, clever, full of characters all of whom are memorable and does make me want to read some of his other titles. It doesn't make me appreciate the man himself anymore, but that is a personal reflection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Simply Amazing, 23 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Other Voices, Other Rooms (Penguin Modern Classics) (Paperback)
A true modern classic and essential reading for people 13 and up or fans of too kill a mockingbird
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A haunting read, reminiscent of Tennessee Williams' plays, 9 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Other Voices, Other Rooms (Penguin Modern Classics) (Paperback)
of a bizarre time and place. It's about southern USA in the C20th but also more.Capote reveals brittle people in a dreamlike environment. Odd, maybe deviant but compelling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Description said would have a few marks. Very poor condition, 13 Mar 2014
By 
K. Readman - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The book although being a first edition had some sticky black gaffer tape attached around the cover which looks impossible to remove without ruining the dust jacket. I think the description should have detailed the exact problem with the dust jackect. I am very dissappointed with this product and feel a correct listing would have been - acceptable . Had it said this I wouldnt have ordered this copy!

A very dissappointed buyer!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Other Voices, Other Rooms (Penguin Modern Classics)
Other Voices, Other Rooms (Penguin Modern Classics) by Truman Capote (Paperback - 27 May 2004)
£8.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews